We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sites and attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocal & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cocal & Casino
Save
You added Hotel Cocal & Casino to your Saves list
Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing sites and attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great place for the GUYS to unwind and get away from it all! Attractions where very easy to get to with help from the lovely Melva, (concierge) who gave us great direction and was very honest. Prices are negotiable, just compare on the street then come back to Melva. ATV rentals, Zip Line, Fishing and more.
Never had a bad meal anywhere on the strip in Jaco. Best Fish Tacos were found at Bubbas, one block away made with grilled Mahi and lots of toppings. The Wok was another favorite for catanese fusion of foods and much more. For all your shopping needs such as beer, liquor, and snack make sure you find the local Market Store. The convenient stores charge double and then some...

We stayed at the Vista Mar in a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom Condo overlooking the Hotel Cocal. We received all the amenities of the Hotel with daily room cleaning and Breakfast. Don't worry about the nightlife, as it is always found at the Hotel Bar and pool.

I could go on and on but the only disappointment was when we arrived at the airport to leave and nowhere did anyone or anything I read on the internet mention the $29.00 Tax to leave the Country of Costa Rica.
No big deal but would of liked to have been notified in advance. Some tourist were forced to beg for money because their Credit Cards were not accepted. Visa,Mastercard or Cash only!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
7
9
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Cocal is THE busiest hotel in Jaco right now and is definitely party central for the early evening. There is a good variety of room selections, as well as the attached condominium tower that is handled (mostly) by the hotel. It is not cheap to eat or drink at the hotel, but there are plenty of other places nearby, and the Cocal bar is a fun place to be even if it is a bit expensive.

I DO NOT recommend this hotel for families with children, and even guests traveling without children should be aware... Cocal is ground zero for the prostitution scene in Jaco. It is generally quiet and not "in your face" during the day, but after the sun goes down until the bar closes around 11pm or midnight, you will often see 50, 75, or even more "working girls" in the bar and pool area. There is usually a DJ with some fairly loud music during this time.

Cocal is not a particularly good value for the money spent, but the 3.5 star rooms are very nice. The poolside rooms in particular are awesome, and have a huge picture window facing the pool area, which is just 3 or 4 steps from the rooms at ground level.

If you do decide to visit with Tico and/or Tica friends (natives of Costa Rica), be aware that they will be treated with suspicion by security and the front desk. You will need to make it clear up front with reception and security that they are your guests, and are not at the hotel trying to conduct any prostitution business, scams, etc. I find it annoying that the hotel treats my friends who were born in Costa Rica this way, but the hotel's viewpoint is that they are trying to protect their customers, the vast majority of which are, admittedly, foreign tourists. The hotel has a legitimate point, so I strongly recommend getting this straight with reception up front, getting all of the names in your party on the check-in card, and letting your Tico/Tica friend hold a room key, so he/she can show the key and say, "I'm a paying guest of the hotel."

Cocal is right in the center of the action in Jaco, and pretty much anything you want to do is 3 or fewer blocks away.

Room Tip: Pool-view rooms are awesome, but the noise from the pool/bar area at night is very noticeable. Ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Comfortable beds, cleanliness and modern bathroom with a spacious stand-up shower make this a comfortable place to relax but the gaps in the door frame allow light and critters in as well as noise. The food is excellent on the terrace or in the room. We opted to stay here because of the location in the middle of the strip, food and casino but ended up walking out of the casino because of an overbearing pit-boss.

Room Tip: The Poolside is noisy until midnight on weekdays and 2 am on weekends. The courtyard is facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The property and rooms were gorgeous. TravDevine is right about the pools. They are strange but they also appeared to be discolored, perhaps it was due to the color of the tile. The staff was attentive and plentiful.
I would NOT advise families to stay there. There are "ladies of the night" and it appears the owner's/management allow such to take place on the premise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I just returned from Jaco and was very pleased to find the restaurant at hotel Cocal as great as it was two years ago. The location is the best, right on the beach, and the food is outstanding. The waitstaff is great and very attentive. My favorite place to eat in Jaco and I have been everywhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in junior suite which gave each of us our own room. I had the one with the balcony and a nice view of the ocean. The bar and pool area is nice however after 6PM the place is crawling with men seeking "working women". If nothing else it's entertaining!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a great hotel - for the single person but due to it's pool bar being 'Party Central' in Jaco, I wouldn't recommend it for families. Nice but strange pool - 2 skinny but long twin pools and a nice bar. The restaurant downstairs is adequate but for a little extra money the Dinner house upstairs is well worth visiting. Best part is the beachfront ocean view.

Room Tip: the cheaper rooms in the parking lot area are a lot quieter than the poolside rooms which are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cocal & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocal & Casino

Address: Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Cocal and Casino, we know the importance of understanding the needs of our guests and we make every effort to insure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cocal And Casino
Hotel Cocal Jaco
Hotel El Cocal
El Cocal Hotel
Hotel Cocal & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocal & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.