We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for Improvment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocal & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cocal & Casino
Save
You added Hotel Cocal & Casino to your Saves list
Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Room for Improvment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Comfortable beds, cleanliness and modern bathroom with a spacious stand-up shower make this a comfortable place to relax but the gaps in the door frame allow light and critters in as well as noise. The food is excellent on the terrace or in the room. We opted to stay here because of the location in the middle of the strip, food and casino but ended up walking out of the casino because of an overbearing pit-boss.

Room Tip: The Poolside is noisy until midnight on weekdays and 2 am on weekends. The courtyard is facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    21
    13
    16
See reviews for
9
13
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The property and rooms were gorgeous. TravDevine is right about the pools. They are strange but they also appeared to be discolored, perhaps it was due to the color of the tile. The staff was attentive and plentiful.
I would NOT advise families to stay there. There are "ladies of the night" and it appears the owner's/management allow such to take place on the premise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I just returned from Jaco and was very pleased to find the restaurant at hotel Cocal as great as it was two years ago. The location is the best, right on the beach, and the food is outstanding. The waitstaff is great and very attentive. My favorite place to eat in Jaco and I have been everywhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in junior suite which gave each of us our own room. I had the one with the balcony and a nice view of the ocean. The bar and pool area is nice however after 6PM the place is crawling with men seeking "working women". If nothing else it's entertaining!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a great hotel - for the single person but due to it's pool bar being 'Party Central' in Jaco, I wouldn't recommend it for families. Nice but strange pool - 2 skinny but long twin pools and a nice bar. The restaurant downstairs is adequate but for a little extra money the Dinner house upstairs is well worth visiting. Best part is the beachfront ocean view.

Room Tip: the cheaper rooms in the parking lot area are a lot quieter than the poolside rooms which are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Over the last year, I have taken many of men and even some couples to this establishment through my tour company. I got the pleasure and opportunity the other day to stay there for a night. I know what goes on there but wanted to experience the hotel for myself. The Cocal does a good job overall. The rooms are clean and modern. It has everything you need. The staff is friendly and courteous. It's a great value. Just keep in mind that this place is not a family hotel. It is filled with predominately male travelers, if you catch my drift. Best nights by far are Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. Free breakfast. It is mandatory that you check this place out if you are the male traveler and are going to Jaco.

Room Tip: If you want to get away from the noise, get a Jr. Suite. If you have 2+3 guys, Check out the condos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Cocal is actually a beautiful property with nice rooms and an amazing view right on the Pacific Ocean. I had an ocean front room which was amazing. Although the pool area is loud until about midnight if you are away from the pool that is not an issue really. What I found amazing was the lack of decent service and the total lack of any leadership at all. Even when I asked for a manager I was told there isn't one.

On our first day we got some food at the restaurant, which was very good, however they let the dirty dishes sit on the table outside for a full day even though several of the staff were standing nearby all day. Nobody had the initiative to clean. The staff arrived every day at 6am. I know what time they arrived because they would stand over at the restaurant area drinking coffee and talking loudly enough to wake us up every day.

On Thursday I was the only one at the bar in the casino. There was soccer on one TV and the PGA first round on another. The sound was on for soccer. I asked one of the 2 girls working there to pelase switch the sound to the golf. I was just told no. I asked to change the channel of the TV with sound to the golf and was again told no. Also, if I wanted t a Coke I was told to go outside to that bar for one.

When I went to the front desk to see if I could get my floor swept in the room they just handed me a broom. I swept the room however one of the 4 people standing there could have offered to clean. I was the guest after all.

There is absolutely no smoking anywhere on their property, even if I was the only one outside I couldn't have a cigar out there and was directed to a smoking area which was a small paved spot about 3 feet by 10 feet just off property. If you like to have a good cigar and watch the sunset I would recommend a different place to stay.

The food at the restaurant was excellent and the view breathtaking. Getting somebody to wait on you at the restaurant was the only challenge. Once again hard to understand since we were the only ones eating there at the time.

It was clear to see what impact the complete lack of leadership, training or accountability has on that operation. With just a little bit of friendly service this place would be a jewel of a location for vacation. As it is I will be more careful next time I go to find someplace that is not just cigar friendly but just plain friendly and polite. This is such a waste of a great hotel and location. A manager or leader who cared would make all the difference in the world here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, Owner at Hotel Cocal & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Our sincere apologies for your bad experience at our hotel. While we try, sometimes our staff becomes overwhelmed due to the volume of clients we have at our hotel. Especially our bar and restaurant areas. Should you have any further issues or concerns, please don't hesitate to email them to info@hotelcocal.com. Again, we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
1.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#25 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#11 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocal & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocal & Casino

Address: Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Cocal and Casino, we know the importance of understanding the needs of our guests and we make every effort to insure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cocal Jaco
Hotel Cocal And Casino
Hotel El Cocal
El Cocal Hotel
Hotel Cocal & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocal & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.