We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for men on "the hunt"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocal & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cocal & Casino
Save
You added Hotel Cocal & Casino to your Saves list
Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good for men on "the hunt"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My first stay here. Yes, a lot of hooker action, and loud music at night. So, be prepared, if this is not your thing. Construction was going on, not very peaceful. Should be done by now. Had a beachfront room (recommened), though very small, and behind the bar/loud music. Food at the restaurant was quite good. Also, had an on site outdoor masseuse.

Room Tip: They have JR. Suite (beachfront), that I originally booked. Was told there was construction going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    17
    10
    11
See reviews for
7
9
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I went with my husband. the rooms are modern and clean. But the heavy atmosphere. At afternoon begins to fill with hookers looking for customers. At night had 30 hookers stalking guys in pool area, it was terrible . Is a great place if guys is looking hookers...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The rooms are nice.
But. The hotel has turned into the local gathering spot for hookers and the guys that seek them. There is a central courtyard with a pool. At night the music comes out and so do the hookers. The place is filled with the ladies of the night and there followers (old guys with money) A local friend laughed when we told him where we were staying. He said, " I wouldn't take my socks off and walk across that floor if I were you!"
It comes with breakfast and is ocean front.
Great for guys who like hookers...everyone else, not so much

Room Tip: Don't stay near the pool if you want any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had a great time. Nice pool. Nice staff. Food was amazing. Very calm.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I recently visited Costa Rica with four other buddies for sportsfishing. I did not choose this hotel. After being told where we were staying, I will admit I was concerned about the other ratings. So, my expectations were low.

We had five rooms oceanfront, all in a row and next to one another. Some of the guys were smokers (they did have a smoking area right outside the oceanfront rooms). We checked in and then gathered at the extreme end of the oceanfront rooms so as to be as far away as we could from the other hotel residents. We are five guys who had not seen each other in a while so we had a lot of catching up to do. I am sure we were too loud, perhaps profane at times, drank too much, and smoked cigars and cigarettes. But, we were trying not to offend.

The hotel manager and the hotel staff recognized that we were not going to be trouble and they were terrific. They genuinely wanted us to enjoy ourselves and they overlooked some of our innocent trangressions. They added to our enjoyment of Costa Rica and the Hotel Cocal!

Yes, there was loud music in the courtyard. Yes, there were girls there also. But, there were also families there enjoying the music. There was peaceful coexistence. No aggression.

The Casino is small but entertaining. I lost exactly what I planned to lose.

The beach and the ocean were fabulous and right at the front door!

My strongest complaint is that the loud music did not stop, even during weekdays, until midnight. We were getting up at 6am for a fishing trip way off the coast. I lost out on needed sleep.

Otherwise, the price was very reasonable. I thought the hotel was clean.

So, if you will not be offended by the girls, go ahead and enjoy this perfectly located hotel in Jaco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Neck
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Cocal in years past but wouldnt want to be within 2 blocks of the place now. It is nothing but a prostitute hang out . I will miss the great food at the resturant but it aint worth hearing drunks half the night. Stayed in the condo behind Cocal recently and the noise was awful.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Maybe I'm just an old-fashioned girl but I'm ashamed that my beautiful adoptive country has places like this. We went there for a three-day bridge workshop but stayed at the smaller Mango Mar next-door, thank goodness. The Cocal pool area was filled with out-of-shape Gringo guys and surgically-enhanced local young women hanging on them looking for customers. One was in a red satin cocktail dress with rhinestones mid-afternoon. Loser guys and "working girls," period. Disgusting! On the positive side, our meeting room had a beautiful panoramic view of the beach and the open-air restaurant served generous portions of very good reasonable food.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, not here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cocal & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocal & Casino

Address: Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Cocal and Casino, we know the importance of understanding the needs of our guests and we make every effort to insure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cocal Jaco
Hotel Cocal And Casino
Hotel El Cocal
El Cocal Hotel
Hotel Cocal & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocal & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.