We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent laid back hotel/condo units quietly tucked in the south end of Jaco Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Club del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
1 review
“excellent laid back hotel/condo units quietly tucked in the south end of Jaco Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

This was the hands down best vacation I have spent outside the USA. I am a Seasoned traveler and I have expiernced many of different accomodations. From The hustliung Busting large coorperation Hotels to the mom an pop stands . Club Del Mar was the most relaxing trip I have had in years. The hotel itself ( I rented a condo for 6 ) was clean, the staff incredibly friendly and the rates phenomanal. I did travel on the off season so i did recieve that seasons Lower rate....Staying during Peak season is still beyond affordable!!!!!I also enjoyed the fact that the hotel is located at the south end of Jaco beach, essentially in a cove of its own. The town is a two minute walk...for me, i just prefer to be out of town..on this type of Vacation....and downtown Jaco can be a late night party town, for those interested.!

Stayed November 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    66
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
70
79
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed in a one bedroom condo here from January 23 to 30, 2010. Excellent resort. Spacious room with full kitchen amenities - coffee maker, toaster, blender, fridge, etc. Staff excellent. Food in the restaurant unbelievable - tasty and very reasonable. Room service as well. Right on the water and has a nice smaller-size pool. I also enjoyed a hot stone massage at the Spa.
We stayed here as part of WaveHunters and surfed everyday in front of the hotel. Great surfing and wonderful beach. Black sand becomes very hot though.
The town of Jaco is only 2 kilometres away by taxi and can walk to it from the beach. We enjoyed many meals at various restaurants in Jaco. Very reasonable.
Only one drawback of the whole vacation - the traffic was a little noisy at night, but we brough earplugs with us which helped.
I would recommend this resort for couples or with children. I felt very safe and had a family atmosphere. It is indicated that they prefer quiet time after 11:00 p.m., so not for the people who want to party all night. We are planning to return next year with our 2 children.
Would highly recommend this resort for anyone interested in a quiet, family atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Stayed in 2 bedroom ocean front condo. New appliances and beautiful interior design. Staff extremely friendly. Recommend it highly and we've stayed many places in CR and world. One tip - Don't rent surfboards from WOW Surfboards in Jaco. Our family was ripped off when upon return of boards with some damage we were willing to pay for, owner insisted on charging us nearly-new surfboard prices for these older rentals plus 20% to cover credit card fees and taxes. Because you typically sign blank slip when renting (common practice) in case of damage, theft or non return, you are left vulnerable were something to happen. One of the boards, we had dinged, had previously had it's nose broken off and repaired (as another local surf shop noticed when we showed them). Instead of being willing to either accept a repair charge or a decent price for the board given its condition, we were charged $420 for that one board. The other board had broken in half and we knew we would owe a replacement cost, but not $575!!!! We learned.. negotiate price for value of boards up front. Rent in Jaco from one of the other places owned by locals. We did later and they were much nicer to deal with, more reasonable in rental price, and did not charge us additional prices when using credit card.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We had a good experience here. I don't think I would have stayed anywhere else in Jaco. However it was kind of an average place but it did have a good price. Our first room had a weird smell but they let us change to a condo which was much better. Perfect for beach/pool in a small town but it was slighly more average than the reviews.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We loved Club del Mar. If you're staying in Jaco or in the surrounding area, this is the place to go. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful with our plans in the area. The condos are wonderful and air conditioned. The spa is excellent. Best massage I've ever had! My wife ended up getting another before we left. It's a great place for families AND singles! I've read comments about the highway noise. It really wasn't bad and certainly wasn't a big deal. That's like going to Heaven and saying that it's too bright.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 15 nights for our honeymoon. What can I say, it was the most relaxing, romantic and exotic place I have ever stayed. The hotel it situated in luch tropical gardens where you can spot humming birds, macals and lots of iguanas, with a back drop of rain forests where you can walk through and spot monkeys and tookons if you get up early enough. We stayed in a condominion, we were very pleased with the accomodation. It was decorated very ornately and was comfortable and very large, there were also 2 balconies with loverly ocean veiws. The hotel is very service driven and the staff are extremly freindy and helpful. We ate at the hotel about 5 times, the meals were of a high standard and very reasonably priced. the hotel staff can organise trips and for you if you wish, we went on a couple (zip line and a vist to a rain forrest) they were about the same prices as the tour agencies in town. We booked one tour in Joco but they let us down so I would advise to book with the hotel. I would recomend staying at the hotel to anyone, it has the reputation of the best hotel in Joco and is right at the end of the beach so you also have the advantage of a bit of relaxation and privercy. It will take you about 20 minutes to walk into Jaco along the beach or a taxi costs about $2, the hotel staff will book a taxi which use to arrive in a couple of minutes. What was also great about this hotel is if you ordered food or drinks to your room there was no extra charge for room service. All in all it was a great holiday and a perfect romantic honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mettawa,il.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Just got back. What a wonderful hotel this is. It's right on the beach. We had a 2 bedroom condo. It was in great condition. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced. 25 minute walk on the beach to town or a $2 cab ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Address: Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.