We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Club del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We came by here for a day and were impressed by all of the staff. We came in around 1pm and talked to Ray at the front desk. We had wanted to take a surf lesson, but were told that most of the surf lessons happen in the morning. However, she saw how much we wanted to do it and pulled a few strings for us. At 2pm we were meeting with our instructor and on our way to the beach. Our instructor was Anderson and he was fantastic! It was our very first time surfing, so we were very nervous. He did a great job of teaching us the basics and making sure that we were safe. We were surprised at how much fun we had, and we would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

The hotel itself is very cute. They have a pool and a restaurant with very friendly staff. William and Philippe made sure that we were taken care of. I recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay at a relaxing place near the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    66
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
70
79
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed one night at Club del Mar as a stopover between Arenal and Manuel Antonio.We had chosen this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. It was reasonably priced and we had a great time there (despite the massive storm that came through). The rooms are clean and nice. It seemed to me to be a 1980s ish hotel that has been kept up to date with more modern amenities and furnishings. The staff are all nice and very helpful. Due to the rain we decided to have dinner at the hotel and it was a great meal. Philip, the owner, came by and introduced himself. He was very friendly and kind.

The next day, before checking out, we swam at the beach (in the pouring rain - but it was fantastic because the rain and water were so warm!) and in their lovely pool. They have boogie boards to use and the beach is quite nice - on the calmer end of Jaco beach. My oldest son took a surf lesson from Juan Carlos. He was excellent! Very patient and encouraging. My son loved it AND was successful in getting up on the board multiple times. We loved that this hotel is not on the "strip" in downtown Jaco. It's on the quieter end but with a beautiful location and still within walking distance of downtown (which we found to be similar to Venice Beach in CA to some degree - lots of surfers and filled with Americans). We had a great breakfast at The Coffee Shop (amazing sticky buns!) and a delicious lunch at Caliches Wishbone (with some of the best fish tacos I have ever had!).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Club Del Mar in May with my husband and we had a great time in and around Jaco. The location of the property was ideal for us, as we wanted to be near Jaco but not in the midst of the town. The hotel is about a 10 minute to drive into Jaco, which was convenient since we went there for meals daily.The hotel is about one hour away from Manuel Antonio Park, which is easy to navigate if you have your own vehicle. Overall the location was fantastic!

The beach direclty outside the propert was pristine and beautiful and not heavily traveled, so it made sunbathing a stress free experience. We never actually swam in the pool so I don't have specific comments about it other than it was small but seemed like it would do the trick.

Our room was on the second floor of the main building. Though the view was only average, the room itself was quite impressive and certainly more than I had anticipated. It had a separate sitting room with a tv, couch and chair that led out to a balcony. The sleeping area, though small, was very comfortable since that room was equipped with an air conditioner. There were reading lights on the headboard which was nice if we wanted to read before bed. The bathroom was very large and had a huge shower with a normal shower head and hot and cold dials. This seemed like a luxury since the other hotels we stayed in in Costa Rica only had the suicide showers. The other hotels also did not have hot water at the sink, where this one did, let alone a large sink and countertop area.

Our rate included breakfast and because we departed early for a tour one morning we asked if it was possible to get breakfast to go. The hotel very kindly provided two fruit trays for us, which was not only much appreciated but very delicious. We're glad we could take advantage of the breakfast option even though we weren't at the hotel to eat. The day in which we did eat breakfast at the hotel the food was very good.

The front desk staff was helpful and courteous right up until we checked out. First, the positive. They were greatly helpful when telling us how to get tickets to the Paul McCartney concert. We didn't know where to go to purchase the tickets and they not only figured out where to go but gave us directions to get there. We were very impressed with this particular service. We found they needed some improvment during our check-out, however.

Upon check-out, the price we were charged varied from the rate quoted on Booking.com where we booked the reservation. Booking.com quoted a USD rate we could expect to pay, though it noted we would pay in local currency. Consistent with Booking.com we were charged in Colones, however, when translated to USD it was not consistent whatsoever with the rated quoted on booking.com. The staff tried to tell us the difference was the impact of the exchange rate and taxes, but the rate in question was the base room rate, not the all-in rate including taxes and fees. The specific question I repeatedly asked was what was the agreed upon rate,

1)the quoted USD rate or
2) the equivalent amount of Colones at the time of booking (an amount which was not disclosed anywhere on our reservation)

They could not answer me this question which makes it very difficult to agree on how much we should pay. After we tried to explain that we were seeking to clarify the benchmark nightly rate (and understood exchange rate fluctuations and that we had to pay taxes) they got a little bit condescending and said we didn't understand. They even said to each other in Spanish "they don't understand," when in reality we absolutely understood the issue and furthermore understand Spanish and didn't appreciate the comment.

After going around in circles, they finally agreed to decrease the nightly room rate so it was consistent with the booking.com rate. We appreciated the resolution. The receptionist then told us they've had many problems with booking.com and that it's advisable to call the hotel itself to negotiate the rate and to book the room instead of going through booking.com. It seems like a pretty simple solution exists here; either the receptionsist need to know which rate and in which currency the reservation was made or the hotel should not use Booking.com.

Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay, the location of hotel Del Mar, and the value the hotel represented. If we were in Costa Rica again we would definitely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before. We stay here because it is off the beaten path for a busy place like Jaco. It is a 15 to 25 minute walk via the beach to the main part of town for restaurants and such. The restaurant on site is average but not great, in my opinion, and it can be expensive for the quality of food. The service in the restaurant and bar, however, is very good. The pool is great and you can see the ocean from your room or the pool. This is pretty good value for money in my opinion and the staff are usually really great, with a few exceptions. Unlike many hotels in CR, breakfast is not included unless you book a special deal through a website or travel agent, so know that in advance. Rooms have fans and AC and are comfortable. Some people said the beds weren't comfortable, but we found them to be fine. Lots of room, usually relaxing if there aren't big tours staying there. One downside is that there is a surf school on site... On some days of our stay there would be five to ten people hanging out pretty much in front of our room and it was noisy and it made it hard to sit back and relax with all those people just sitting around out there. The rooms have safes and there is security on site. I've stayed elsewhere in Jaco and this has been the best to date. It really is a nice beach and a lovely view. Our room did not have wifi, butt hats not the end of the world for us...we just used it in the bar area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel itself is nothing special, except that you get great breakfast and have large rooms. But it is very well located in Jaco at the end of the beach where there is pure dark sand and no stones at the beach...we saw Ara's and other nice animals too...good place to stay for a night or two but not more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in room #1, the view and spacious room were awesome. The bed was not very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and refreshing.

Room Tip: Room 1 as first choice, 2 as second. Best view from these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during the low season. The hotel is located in southern Jaco and is right on the beach. Comfortable king sized bed, ocean view room, clean, air conditioning (room only, not in the bathroom which was hot as a sauna), sizable balcony, and a mini fridge. Oh, and free wifi! Like I mentioned earlier, it was the low season so the pool tiki bar was closed (bummer) and the hotel felt deserted. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and booked our day tours for us. Do have dinner at the hotel restaurantant, Sandales. I had a mixed seafood dish for dinner on our last night there and it was quite delicious! I probably wouldn't stay here for a honeymoon if you are looking for a four star + boutique hotel, but it was fine for a quick stay in Jaco.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Address: Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.