We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location in Jaco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Club del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best location in Jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel itself is nothing special, except that you get great breakfast and have large rooms. But it is very well located in Jaco at the end of the beach where there is pure dark sand and no stones at the beach...we saw Ara's and other nice animals too...good place to stay for a night or two but not more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    66
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
70
79
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Treasure Island, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in room #1, the view and spacious room were awesome. The bed was not very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and refreshing.

Room Tip: Room 1 as first choice, 2 as second. Best view from these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during the low season. The hotel is located in southern Jaco and is right on the beach. Comfortable king sized bed, ocean view room, clean, air conditioning (room only, not in the bathroom which was hot as a sauna), sizable balcony, and a mini fridge. Oh, and free wifi! Like I mentioned earlier, it was the low season so the pool tiki bar was closed (bummer) and the hotel felt deserted. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and booked our day tours for us. Do have dinner at the hotel restaurantant, Sandales. I had a mixed seafood dish for dinner on our last night there and it was quite delicious! I probably wouldn't stay here for a honeymoon if you are looking for a four star + boutique hotel, but it was fine for a quick stay in Jaco.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights with my wife and our 18-months-old daughter.
At the same time, there were other families with small children and all of us had a wonderful time.
Getting into details:
1. The hotel is quite old and it is noticeable in its arquitecture and the structures seem to need some paint and a little care, but despite these minor details, the rooms have everything you need: comfortable beds, nice shower, a little refrigerator, nice quiet A/C and a superb balcony facing the ocean.
2. The hotel location is marvelous, right by the beach, but far enough from Jaco downtown to avoid all the noise and the partying that goes around the town almost every night. The beach is nice and it was a nice surprise for me as a costarican who hasn't been to Jacó for more than 20 years to find out it is still clean and full of life (crabs, clams, small fishes by the shore, etc.)
3. The restaurant is very nice, the food is excellent and the service couldn't be better.
4. The pool is very clean and safe for children, with enough space for kids to play around without disturbing other people not related to them.
5. The staff deserves a whole review all to themselves: every single person which we had to talk, even for the smallest thing, were helpful, with a smile in their faces and a great attitude; even the owner, a very nice gringo called Phillip: visiting every table at dinner to say hi and check on customers' satisfaction.

Overall, a great place to stay, which could be a little renovated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Im writingn this review a little late, but better late than never I suppose! I was married here in June 2012. Although I did not stay here, much of my family did. They had a wonderful experience with the staff and rooms. We had the rehearsal dinner here as well and with 65 of us, we got a little rowdy and had a blast! We were never told to be quit (we weren't disturbing, just having fun) and partied into the night. The wedding night was the exact same. They catered the dinner the wedding night, which was incredible and thanks to Victor, ensured I was taken of the day before and day of my wedding. He listened to what I wanted and it magically all came together for us. I cannot thank him enough for making this the best (and easiest) wedding day ever! The view was beautful ,pretty much right on the beach and the lush grass was great to sit and take in the ocean if you didn't want to sit in the sand. The rooms were a little pricey for me, however the rest was great!!! Thanks again Victor and the chefs at the Del Mar for all their work in ensuring we had a great experience!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Sleep comfortable while have everything at your fingertips. Club Del Mar is a smaller quaint beautiful place with all the amenities of a large hotel and affordable. Club Del Mar has great personalized service, you will think of "Cheers" where everyone knows your name. By far the Very Best Live Jazz Music right between the pool and the Beach and the most beautiful sunsets, take the quiet time to enjoy one of natures gifts to us. . The jazz music performed by the Owner "Phillip's" very good friend from Great Brittan, thank you Phillip for making our vacation over the top, with all of our expectation exceeded by the friendliness, the service with great food and cocktails and for making us feel safe on our travels.

Room Tip: Check this out!! All the rooms at Club Del Mar have the Master Headboard always facing the ocean, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarcoles, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Talk about a gorgeous tropical setting! This hotel is owned by a very astute and gracious British host, with attention to detail all around. The outside bar is beautiful and very welcoming, and wonderful tropical drinks. Though we didn't stay in the rooms, people that we met there said they were very nice, clean and a great value. We loved our evening there at the hotel....it is right on the southern edge of Jaco with chairs right on the beach and somewhat secluded. We loved that it wasn't in the main part of Jaco and was much more private.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room closest to the beach, the hwy can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Address: Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.