We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Club del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed 6 days/7 nights at Hotel Club Del Mar. We really loved it! It is a small, quiet, rustic hotel with a pool, bar, restaurant and spa. The rooms were super clean - no bugs but one gecko who loved to appear on the ceiling at night (harmless!). We had a room overlooking the pool and ocean (most rooms do) with a cute balcony. The restaurant/spa prices are comparable to mid-range Canadian/American. Ex: $15 - $20 for entree and $135 for couples massage. The staff at front desk were helpful for the most part and helped us set up our tours. Yes, the hotel is a close to a road and you can hear a truck rumble by every now and then but it isn't bothersome (especially if you are used to the noise of the city!). The heart of Jaco is a 15 minute walk by beach. There is no gym. If you are looking for a quiet, rustic place to stay - this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    64
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
77
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A true value for your money! We stayed at condo #6: spacious, clean, ocean view, 'new', excellent beds....if you go to Jaco, stay here! CDM is located outside the noisy centre, 100m further of the gas station. You will love the relaxed atmosphere and friendly service. The little paths towards the condos are not so well lighted at night.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at a condo you can cook yourself. Kitchen is fully equipped, there even is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have visited Jaco many times and have stayed in several different hotels and a private house. This was our first time at Hotel Club del Mar and this place rose quickly to the top of our list. The location, at the extreme southern end of the Jaco beach, is removed from the noise and commotion of the Jaco parties, though the trucks on the highway occasionally rumble past.

The owner, Phillip, greeted us and conversed at length in passable Spanish with our group. He is from England and has run this place for the past 20 years. He was a gracious host and a good neighbor. He opened up his lawns to a school-sponsored surfing contest while we were there and his staff kept the kids under control. As hotel guests, we were not bothered except for the loud music which is all over Jaco anyway. And the next morning, there was no sign that 100 kids had been there 16 hours earlier. The place was spotless.

We had a condo unit plus a hotel room. Both rooms showed some age, but were clean and functional. The staff was attentive and friendly. The pool was nice, but the water was very warm, not refreshing at all, though the evaporation effect was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Va, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 4 days and 3 nights at Club Del Mar in Jaco. We had condo unit #1 which was away from the others with a nice view of the ocean through the trees. The unit was very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The basic kitchen utensils were available in the kitchen so not much else was needed to make your own meals. Club del Mar is located a way out of town but $5 got you a taxi into town to check out the strip and buy food. There is a great fish market as you enter town where fresh fish can be bought at very reasonable prices. We did not eat in the hotel on this trip but the food I saw looked fabulous. The staff was courteous and helpful and the pool is great for the small ones. Our 6 year old learned to swim while we were there. The waves are perfect for surfers and the ocean around the hotel was great. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay Center, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Our 2 bedroom condo was literally steps from the beach. Each morning we were greeted with a vast array of wildlife ranging from iguanas, toucans, macaws, hummingbirds, as well as others. The staff are very attentive to your every need. There are many area attractions nearby. The sunsets are amazing and the best pictures we took still don't do them justice. The nice thing about Club del Mar is it's southern most location from Jaco. We are already planning our trip there again after having been back home for 1 day. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay Center, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Club del Mar during spring break. The views were breath-taking! We were right on the beach and woke to the sound of the waves crashing every morning. The staff was VERY nice and helpful at suggesting attractions. The open air lobby and restaurant was beautiful! We felt very safe there and want to go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. It was very spacious. Every room has their own A/C unit. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay and visit the Jaco beach area. Awesome staff and extremely value driven from room prices to the gift shop.
The activities surrounding the property include daily surf lessons, zip lines, croc river tours, hikes and fishing. This is an awesome find.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Address: Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.