We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Jaco, so far...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Club del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Best in Jaco, so far...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have visited Jaco many times and have stayed in several different hotels and a private house. This was our first time at Hotel Club del Mar and this place rose quickly to the top of our list. The location, at the extreme southern end of the Jaco beach, is removed from the noise and commotion of the Jaco parties, though the trucks on the highway occasionally rumble past.

The owner, Phillip, greeted us and conversed at length in passable Spanish with our group. He is from England and has run this place for the past 20 years. He was a gracious host and a good neighbor. He opened up his lawns to a school-sponsored surfing contest while we were there and his staff kept the kids under control. As hotel guests, we were not bothered except for the loud music which is all over Jaco anyway. And the next morning, there was no sign that 100 kids had been there 16 hours earlier. The place was spotless.

We had a condo unit plus a hotel room. Both rooms showed some age, but were clean and functional. The staff was attentive and friendly. The pool was nice, but the water was very warm, not refreshing at all, though the evaporation effect was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    64
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
77
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Va, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 4 days and 3 nights at Club Del Mar in Jaco. We had condo unit #1 which was away from the others with a nice view of the ocean through the trees. The unit was very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The basic kitchen utensils were available in the kitchen so not much else was needed to make your own meals. Club del Mar is located a way out of town but $5 got you a taxi into town to check out the strip and buy food. There is a great fish market as you enter town where fresh fish can be bought at very reasonable prices. We did not eat in the hotel on this trip but the food I saw looked fabulous. The staff was courteous and helpful and the pool is great for the small ones. Our 6 year old learned to swim while we were there. The waves are perfect for surfers and the ocean around the hotel was great. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay Center, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Our 2 bedroom condo was literally steps from the beach. Each morning we were greeted with a vast array of wildlife ranging from iguanas, toucans, macaws, hummingbirds, as well as others. The staff are very attentive to your every need. There are many area attractions nearby. The sunsets are amazing and the best pictures we took still don't do them justice. The nice thing about Club del Mar is it's southern most location from Jaco. We are already planning our trip there again after having been back home for 1 day. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay Center, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Club del Mar during spring break. The views were breath-taking! We were right on the beach and woke to the sound of the waves crashing every morning. The staff was VERY nice and helpful at suggesting attractions. The open air lobby and restaurant was beautiful! We felt very safe there and want to go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. It was very spacious. Every room has their own A/C unit. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay and visit the Jaco beach area. Awesome staff and extremely value driven from room prices to the gift shop.
The activities surrounding the property include daily surf lessons, zip lines, croc river tours, hikes and fishing. This is an awesome find.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great location - The hotel is located on the prettiest end of Jaco Beach - away from the town's center but within easy walking distance (about a 20 minute stroll by beach to get to the shops and bars).
Rooms - The rooms are very clean and comfortable, beautifully decorated with a tropical vibe. The daily cleaning service does an excellent, thorough job. I would have felt more secure with electronic key card swipe locks (rather then the old fashioned key locks), but the hotel grounds in general feel very safe and secure.
Pool - The pool is one of the nicest hotel pools I've seen at a hotel - the majority of the pool is four feet or deeper, perfect for adults. It is kept at a warm temperature and well maintained. It was never crowded and always peaceful.
Grounds/Landscaping - The hotel area is kept very nice - not overly manicured, but still green and lush with plenty of colorful flowers.
Restaurant/Bar - Everything we ate at the hotel was delicious - the kitchen does a great job of preparing tasty dishes. The service is also worth mentioning - very attentive and quick to help and serve you.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a gorgeous, peaceful place to stay on Jaco Beach. My only advice is to triple check all of your reservations with the hotel (room reservations, transportation, excursions, etc.) My husband and I stayed at this hotel with our family and friends when we got married in February. We had wedding guests stay in six other rooms. Though the hotel did a great job accommodating everybody else, we were disappointed that del Mar had lost OUR reservation, which had been made and confirmed nine months previously. After printing out my correspondence with the front desk and my reservation form, the hotel put us in the penthouse (at a reduced rate) and then moved us to another room for the remaining eight nights. Days away from my wedding and stressed from traveling, this incident had made me extremely anxious about how our other wedding guests reservations would be handled. Fortunately, only one other guests' reservations were mismanaged and the hotel made up for the inconvenience and unnecessary stress that it had caused. The issue with the reservations aside, I am glad we chose to stay here with our friends and family - it is on a gorgeous beach and is a very well kept hotel. Be sure to confirm your reservations and make sure that all communications with the front desk are clear and understood.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are a bit noisy due to large trucks rumbling down the road bordering the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Club del Mar several times and I love the place. The owner is truly dedicated to his guest and ensures that all is well with their stay. The condos are great especially Unit 5, a 2 bedroom 2 bath full size condo with all the amenities including cable TV. The town is a nice walk along the beach--about twenty minutes taking your time. Surfing is king in Jaco but there is plenty to do for those who do not surf. Overall I have found the restaurants to be excellent. While in town, it is safe but be aware of your surroundings.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Address: Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.