We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club del Mar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Club del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Club del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 hotels in Jaco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Club del Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Club del Mar several times and I love the place. The owner is truly dedicated to his guest and ensures that all is well with their stay. The condos are great especially Unit 5, a 2 bedroom 2 bath full size condo with all the amenities including cable TV. The town is a nice walk along the beach--about twenty minutes taking your time. Surfing is king in Jaco but there is plenty to do for those who do not surf. Overall I have found the restaurants to be excellent. While in town, it is safe but be aware of your surroundings.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    54
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
56
66
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went to Jaco with no reservations in busy season... not too smart but with four guys that think they can make anything happen stuff like that happens. We went from hotel to hotel for almost 3 hours before finding this place at the very end of the strip. The place was awesome, the condos were very spacious and well made. The location was a low 4 dollar cab ride to center of town and quiet enough to get away when desired. The pool is nice, great beach for Jaco, anyway. The food was really good, I mean, I don't go to central America for great steaks but man, this place does a filet mignon like nobodies business! it was perfect rare. I don't like gravy or things on my steaks ever but this changed my mind with their "Tico" style bacon, onion, mushroom gravy... Mmmmm. Went somewhere else and was disappointed big time. Jaco beach is great fun but we're 30 somethings and felt like manuel Anotonio was more our style. Lot of older folks in Jaco. The selection of women however is quite diverse... if that's your thing.

Room Tip: get the condos for anything over two people, better value this way
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned in Costa Rica last May and stayed 3 nights in Hotel Club Del Mar. This was our first stop on our honeymoon and we were impressed.The hotel was very clean and all of the staff were gracious and accomodating. The consierge at the front desk was very helpful in assisting us with restraunts, things to do, taxis, and the best ways to get here and there around Jaco. Some great recommendations. The hotel was very convenient to Jaco, but was far enough away to have a quiet peaceful environment. We took a short taxi ride when we went into Jaco, but I believe it wasn't too far by beach to walk.Very laid-back atmosphere.

Our room overlooked the pool and we could also see and hear the ocean on the other side of the pool. We loved the open shower with the option to open the window for more open air and kept our balcony doors open most of the time as well. The food at the bar was great and the service was spectacular. We also participated in surfing, yoga, and stand-up paddling. Would HIGHLY recommend all of those. The surfing and yoga was there at the hotel, and our SUP lesson was a couple of miles away. Our SUP instructor picked us up in a really neat Land Rover Defender and drove us to a nearby bay to SUP.

GREAT quality place, great people, and great experience. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After 8 days of running around to visit Costa Rica we were agreeably pleased to arrive at this Hotel. We had what they call a Junior Bedroom Suite (Room 204 - with two double beds) overlooking the pool and the beach. Nothing fancy, bedspreads should be replaced, but in general was quite ok. We enjoyed the pool, the view, the wifi (available at the restaurant and near the reception area). At night from our balcony we could see great sunsets. We thought were very well located at the end of the Beach since there it was quiet and not busy at all on the beach. Easy enough to walk to the Center of Jaco by the Beach. At night we took a taxi ($8). Club del Mar was a relaxing place with very pleasant staff. We also met the owner, Phil. We had breakfast included (small but enough to start the day: a nice selection of fresh fruits, toasts, butter, jam and good Costa Rican coffee). We chose to eat lunch once and dinner twice. We thought the food was very good and the prices reasonable. I hope to go back there in a near futre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

took a long weekend trip to Costa Rica. day one and two were in the central valley experiencing city life. Day three and four were at Manuel Antonio Park where we stopped to stay at hotel club del mar.
Hotel was very easy to find..staff was great.. Food was unbelievably good.
Sunset amazing.. beach was the highlight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is my second review of this hotel, so that must speak for itself. The first visit wowed me, and the second was just as wonderful. I can't decide which is best....the environment or the staff. Both are spectacular. The plants and fauna add to the charm. The staff is attentive, friendly, and diligent. Most impressive was the owner. He lovingly and meticulously cares for his guests and the property. Being at the end of the beach, it is secluded but close enough to town that you can easily take a stroll there or take a quick taxi. Also, its proximity makes it easy to enjoy the sites and adventures nearby. This place is what you come to Costa Rica for!!!

Room Tip: The noise from the trucks on the highway could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great location with stunning sunsets at the south end of Jaco beach. Beautifully kept grounds with iguanas and tropical plants, helpful friendly staff, nice pool and a really fun beach for playing and boogie boarding. The highway is close so there is some street noise. To go to downtown Jaco you'll need a cab, but the desk staff will happily order it up and it's not expensive. The wifi works better in the public spaces than the rooms, but try your balcony... it worked for us. The condo unit we had was a little dark, but it's nice to have a small kitchen to be self sufficient when you like. The food at the restaurant was fresh and delicious... a little relaxed. Wine selection is decent for a tropical locale and the caipirinhas are fabulous. I think our favorite thing about this place is it has all the amenities you want, but it's not fancy and doesn't feel like a resorty resort. There aren't a lot of rules (pool is open whenever, sure they'll serve food on that patio). It feels comfortable, like home away from home.

Room Tip: upper level condo... in case there is torrential rain plus, we like having a balcony for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Jaco Beach | 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.