We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcon del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Balcon del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bohio Street, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 39 hotels in Jaco
SW Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here in nov 2012, paid $113 per nt for 3rd floor room with king bed, room was comfortable, great little deck in room for smoking and sunsets, small but nice pool area, close to everything but quiet enough to get rest. Well secured and safe, you can hear the waves/ocean at night, restaurant was very good. excellent, very kindly service in front desk, restaurant, maintenance from to to bottom. Bathroom was a little small but had hot water and was sufficient. Hotel does not allow chicas so no hookers and old men looming around. Jaco is a nice place, yes there are hookers and drug dealers but if you ignore them it's not a problem. Jaco is not really for families and definitely not for honeymooners or couples. I would stay at hotel balcon de mar again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    13
    13
    16
See reviews for
15
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here with a student group and was plesantly surprised witth the motel and location. The room we had was roomy, clean and had a beautiful view. The other rooms my students were staying were nice and roomy as well. We were not able to get wifi in our room, so we had to go to the lobby. It was about a 3 block walk to the downtown area, which had lots of touristy shops the kids enjoyed. The beach is NOT for swimming, the tide is rough and the beach is rocky. This is a nice place to stay if you are not planning on any serious beach time.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. It's located right by the beach and really close to the main strip.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. My room had a balcony facing the pacific and the a/c and hot water worked well. I had a little trouble with the wi-fi in my room, but in the pool/restaurant/bar area, the connection was good.
Food is available either buffet style or à la carte, and it was tasty.
My room was on the second floor, so i had no issue, but there was no elevator and it is also not safe to go into the water on this section of the beach due to rip tides.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during an educational tour with our daughters school. We did not choose the hotel but we were pleasantly surprised. After a long trip of very poor lodgings this hotel came as a treat. At this point our standards had been lowered in terms of what to expect at each new location but we were happy and comfortable here. The pool area was great, the food and variations were terrific, the poolside bar was great and service was super. The rooms were comfortable with A/C, safes, small balconies to courtyard area and nice views. The hotel is right across from the beach which is nice and as an earlier reviewer mentioned, the number of macaw we saw every day was a super treat. I'd recommend this location.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Pros: On the beach, good pool area with a nice bar and restaurant area, an almond tree nearby that had the most macaws I have ever seen in one place, a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants, a nice balcony, a comfortable bed, and working A/C. Cons: no elevator, rip tides in this section of the beach, and some seedy stuff nearby as teenagers were propositioned by hookers and drug dealers during the AFTERNOON.

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairwell (206, 207, 306, 307) have balconies with nice view of pool and beach. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Myself along with seven of my close friends stayed at this hotel for four nights. The hotel was across the street from the beach. Parking was easy due to a employee stationed outside of the hotel waiting to assist guests. The staff definitely made this hotel. Each employee was professional, yet friendly, and extremely helpfull. The hotel was clean but, the rooms were slightly run down. Nothing major, they could just use a little TLC. The continental breakfast was really good. We ate dinner one night at the hotel and it was very good although a little pricer then if we had eaten in town. There were two pools that were cleaned every morning. There were quite a few families with children of all ages so, the pool was pretty busy and loud during the day. During the nights we were able to hangout in the bar area and enjoy drinks, playing cards, or just chating. All in all I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is in the heart of Jaco, one of the most active beach towns in the country. It is located on the Pacific side, around 90 minutes from San Jose the capital via the new Caldera “highway“.
This is a small hotel. It is a building in the shape of a horseshoe, it has 4 or 5 floors. The rooms are ok, they have a small balcony.
Food is good, however, they have a really small menu.
One thing that is really important to know is that this place has only 6 parking spaces,not in a closed parking lot. Since it is located on the beach, you can leave your car under a palm tree on the beach, but this is a high crime zone, and if you leave something valuable in your car, you might not found it, or your car in the morning.
It has a medium size pool, however, you can see the street and the beach from the pool, and all the people on the street and the beach can see you also, you can't have privacy.
Summarizing, this is a cheap hotel (most of the times), but you should not stay here for a long period of time. There are a lot of other, more private options in Jaco or nearby beaches.
Also, one more thing, Jaco is a famous beach for surfing. However, it is NOT a beautiful beach, it has a high index of fecal contamination, and as i told before, has a very high crime rate.

Room Tip: If you would like an ocean view, choose a room in a high floor, in the center of the building. And p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Balcon del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Mar

Also Known As:
Balcon Del Mar Jaco
Balcon Del Mar
Balcon Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Balcon Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Bohio Street, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Mar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcon del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.