We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaco Beach Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jaco Beach Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An all-Inclusive resort at the north end of Jaco... Far enough away from the noisy night life in town and yet within easy walking distance to any part of Jaco. Very clean and comfortable accommodations... A picturesque property on the beach... Way Cool! The staff are all friendly, helpful and extremely courteous. If your looking for an all-inclusive, this a good choice. There are many dinning locations in Jaco and some are quite exceptional. This would be my choice for future visits to Jaco area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    99
    74
    46
    29
See reviews for
74
100
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This place is a little different than the all-inclusives you might be used to if you've been to Cancun et al... They have 3 buffets a day in the same area so food is intermittently available until 10pmish, the only bar was open in the afternoon until late... the breakfast is not bad, lunch and dinner were mediocre. The service staff is very friendly. The rooms are dated. The grounds were nice and there is direct beach access. After considering the pros and cons, this place just wasn't worth it for me.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear 27Mathieu, we really appreciate our guests´ comments about our hotel and the services we offer because they provide us with the best way to learn about their opinion and what we can do to improve in a daily basis.

We are a hotel whose main concern is to be able to proivde our guests with very comfortable accommodations, very convenient services, a staff whose outmost desire is to comply with our guests´ requests and be as attentive and friendly as they can, and to provide them with all the fun and relaxation they expect. It makes us very happy to learn how much you liked our premises and the attentive service of our staff because we really do thrive on our guests´ comfort and satisfaction with everything we have to offer.

We regret to learn that our lunch and dinner buffets were not up to your expectations, we do our best to include a wide variety of dishes, both from international cuisine and from regional and typical dishes so we can please all of our guests´ different palates and tastes. We are going to share your comments about the food with our Food and Beverages Staff so they can take it into account because there is nothing we want more than to please each and every one of our guests. Our hotel is actually undergoing renovations and remodelations, but since the hotel is so big and has two different buildings with guestrooms, plus the lobby and rest of the premises, they are done by parts; maybe the room you were in was not one that has already been remodeled and we really do apologize for it. We can assure you that when all the work is completed, all the rooms are going to be totally furnished in the most comfortable and modern manner.

It was a pleasure being able to be at your service. Thank you so much for staying with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Customer service so bad I couldn't even stay 1 night not even an hour. So long story short.

My friend & I checked into the hotel early(1pm). Went walking around for an hour half due to the we wasnt able to eat, so we returned to the hotel to eat which was about 2:40pm. And to my surprise they wouldn't allow to enjoy my all inclusive package (eat) unless I pay an extra $25. I was informed that anytime before 3pm you won't be able to enjoy your all inclusive package on check in day. Mind to tell you, we had on 20mins to go and even when I asked to speak to the manager which was only 10mins to 3pm then she still stated I had to pay $25.

I found that ridiculous, I told everyone at the Best Western I have been traveling for over 16hours and all I wanted to do was EAT & relax. The staff didn't have no compassion nor understanding to a person who has been traveling for as long as I have, because of them not trying to work with me nor understand where Im coming from. I felt my money shouldn't be spent their as well.

I do warn everyone please be mindful that the staff at this best western is non understanding, compassionate, and reasonable.

All beware!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Max O, our guests´ comments and reviews are very important for us since they are a very important tool that lets us see our guests´ feedback about the hotel and its services and at the same time it lets us know what our guests really want in order for us to improve every day.

We are a very professional hotel whose outmost desire is to provide our guests with all the comfort they need and expect and at the same time to provide them with all the fun they expect from an all inclusive hotel. We are very sorry to learn how unhappy you were with our hotel´s check in policy but as the professional well known hotel that we are, there are strict guidelines which we have to follow and eventhough we do empathize with your argument about you being so tired and hungry from such a long trip, there was nothing we could do. It was either pay the $25 or wait the 10 minutes remaining for the check in. We always inform our guests in as many ways we can (by our website, our call center ect.) that our check in time is 3:00 p.m. Costarican time and the check out is at 1:00 p.m. also Costarican time and if any guest wants to check in early and enjoy everything the all inclusive offers, then they have to pay the $25 fee.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to comply with you, but as employees, our personnel has to follow the rules which the hotel abides. It was a pleasure being at your service, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Being an all inclusive hotel I was afraid of the experience, this due to former bad experiences I have had with other all inclusive hotels. The truth is that it was surprisingly good. Beachfront, easy to get to, all inclusive. Nothing to worry about, they even get you food and drinks to where ever you are. Rooms need improvement, but it was an overall experience. I think that for you are paying for you get the best value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Diego S, thank you so much for writing and sharing such delightful comments about your experience in our hotel.

It makes us very happy to learn that we really did surprise you in a good way, and it is also very rewarding to know that we were able to deliver much more of what you were expecting from us as a all inclusive hotel.

It is very important for us to make each and every one of our guests feel totally satisfied and happy about staying with us, that is why we offer such great services, have a staff that is always one step ahead in making our guests feel welcome and making sure that they have and get everything they need and request so they can have the most pleasant and fun stay, and last but not least, we have are lucky enough to have an enviable location that enables us to be less than an hour and a half away from the capital city, to be within walking distance from the town of Jaco and best of all, to be a beachfront hotel.

We are very happy to inform you that the hotel is actually undergoing total renovations so we can assure you that if you are able to visit us after they are finished, you will definitely will be able to see the improvements not only of the rooms, but of the entire hotel.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we hope that you can come back soon and see for yourself how the renovations are then. Thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here from August 3 - August 6. We tried to get early check in but was told we had to pay $25.00 per person in order to do that. We were not about to pay an extra $50.00. We arrived early as we had to leave according to the transportation shuttle schedule and sat in the lobby for about 2 hours. At no time in the those two hours did anyone inquire as to what we were waiting for and offered us any refreshments.
We eventually checked in and were shown to a room on the 2nd floor even though we had specifically stated we wanted a high floor. Front desk personnel stated that was all they they had available. Upon entering this room, the smell of mold was strongly evident... I had difficulty breathing. We went to the front desk and requested a new room. Front desk personnel seemed annoyed and bothered that we wanted to change our room. My husband explained that I could not breathe in the room assigned. He then asked the bell boy over the walkie talkie to show us a room on the 3rd floor. There was no smell of mold in this room. Why did they not put us this room to begin with? Wasn't this the highest floor within this building? I was told by front desk that the other building with 5 floors was out of commission. Needless to say this situation could have been avoided if we were initially placed on the 3rd floor.
As for the room, we found a hair in our bed, the bed was hard as rock in comparison to all the other hotels we had stayed up to this time . Also, the drain in the bathroom sink was had hair which was disturbing. The ice bucket was dirty.
This is an all inclusive resort but the Buffett food left much to be desired. I would categorize it as cafeteria food. For the price of the resort, the quality needs to be of a higher caliber. The salads were being spritzed out of a plastic spray bottle by the food staff. While there was a sign indicating the water was purified, it was a definite turn off in consuming the food. We ate only the covered hot food and very minimal amounts. It just did not sit well after consumption.
The noise level was insane. Music till 1:00 am in the morning on our check in night and construction in the other building starts at 6:00am every day our stay.
The only bright spot and why I gave the 1 star was because of the service of Johan. He was pleasant and friendly unlike the person we had upon check in. He helped us in many ways.
My advise is to stay at this resort with caution!

Room Tip: Don't go into room 213. ... Moldy musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear S L, we really do thank you for posting your comments because they provide us with plenty of feedback and insight on how our guests feel about our hotel, its services and the way our personnel tends and behave towards them, and it also lets us see what we can do to continue improving everyday for our guests' complete satisfaction. there is nothing we want more than to be able to provide our guests with all the comforts they need and expect to have a very relaxing and fun stay.

By being an all inclusive resort, we do try to provide for them the most delicious and diverse drinks, snacks and foods we can, combining regional typical dishes with more traditional dishes such as fish, beef and chicken done in several ways, different types of salads ect. so we can cater to our guests' diverse palates and tastes. We are very sorry that you found that the food we offer was not up to your expectations, we are going to share your comments with our Food and Beverages Staff so they can take them into account so we can continue improving every day. As you were able to see, the hotel is actually undergoing total renovations so our 5 storied building is not done yet, that is why they sent you to the other building; we really do apologize that the front desk personnel did not gave you the room at the top floor immediately (since you had asked for it before), we are going to see why was the reason for it and we are going to see to it that situations like this do not happen again in the future, it is extremely important for us to maintain the highest standards of service so please accept or apologies for putting you through that situation.

Regarding the mishap you experienced in the first room, we are very sorry to learn about it and once again we beg you to accept our most sincere apologies, we will address this issue with the housekeeping personnel to discover how it happened and to make sure it does not happen again. Since we take the comfort of our guests most seriously, we are going to share immediately your comments about the noise you experienced so that our Brand Standard team will take it into account because any problems and discomforts we are made aware of are always dealt with as qickly as possible.

We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the fee for checking in early, it is a hotel policy and it is offered because then, the guests can have access to start enjoying immediately everything the all inclusive has to offer.

It was a pleasure being able to serve you, please accept our most sincere apologies and we thank you for staying with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Everything about my stay here was perfect. The staff is super nice, food is good with many choices and drinks are included. The hotel was clean and had plenty of security. The hotel might not be new, but it is a great value considering that food is very expensive in Costa Rica.
The hotel is beach front far away enough from the main town, but close enough to walk to the town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Tania S, thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review.

It makes us very proud to learn how much you enjoyed your stay here with us and how you found all of our services, accommodations and staff just perfect. We really did accomplished our main goal which is to make our guests have all the fun and comfort possible so their vacation can be totally unforgettable. We want our guests to have everything they need, not only for their comfort, but also for their enjoyment, that way they can always say what you wrote, that everything about your stay was nothing less than perfect.

We are very happy and proud to have a staff that is always looking for ways to please our guests, wether it is by making great drinks, by complying with anything that they need or just by recommending a tour or answering a question, all this done in a very friendly and attentive way so our guests can feel and know that they can depend on us for their complete satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We, 6 couples, stayed in the Best Western two weeks ago and found it to be a very nice place. Yes, they do not help you with the luggage unless you ask them, but other than that, all of us found the staff to be very attentive and helpful. The location is great, the pool was clean and well maintained so were the grounds and the rooms. The drinks were better than we found them to be in other all inclusive hotels. The food was good and plentiful.
We will definitively go back.

Room Tip: Across the street is a Mexican restaurant going on all night with very loud music, get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Ingo K, thank you so much for sharing such a nice review.

We are very very happy to learn how much you, your wife and your friends enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are also thrilled that you found our hotel and its premises very comfortable and well maintain. Our outmost desire is to be able to provide our guests with everything they need and request so they can have a wonderful experience, full of fun and very comfortable and satisfying. The only dilemmas our guests are going to have are which wonderful tours to take, what types drinks and snacks they are going to choose during the day, and wether they are going to have a dinner at the restaurant with the buffet or if they are going to have them at the little restaurant right infront of the beach.

Our staff is aways one step ahead trying to comply with our guests and making them feel very welcome, surrouunded by a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are going to share your review with our Food and Beverage personnel because we are sure that they are going to be delighted to find how much you liked and appreciated the drinks and food they prepare.

It was a pleasure having all of you stay with us. The entire team will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.