We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation by the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 42 hotels in Jaco
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Total relaxation by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being an all inclusive hotel I was afraid of the experience, this due to former bad experiences I have had with other all inclusive hotels. The truth is that it was surprisingly good. Beachfront, easy to get to, all inclusive. Nothing to worry about, they even get you food and drinks to where ever you are. Rooms need improvement, but it was an overall experience. I think that for you are paying for you get the best value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Diego S, thank you so much for writing and sharing such delightful comments about your experience in our hotel.

It makes us very happy to learn that we really did surprise you in a good way, and it is also very rewarding to know that we were able to deliver much more of what you were expecting from us as a all inclusive hotel.

It is very important for us to make each and every one of our guests feel totally satisfied and happy about staying with us, that is why we offer such great services, have a staff that is always one step ahead in making our guests feel welcome and making sure that they have and get everything they need and request so they can have the most pleasant and fun stay, and last but not least, we have are lucky enough to have an enviable location that enables us to be less than an hour and a half away from the capital city, to be within walking distance from the town of Jaco and best of all, to be a beachfront hotel.

We are very happy to inform you that the hotel is actually undergoing total renovations so we can assure you that if you are able to visit us after they are finished, you will definitely will be able to see the improvements not only of the rooms, but of the entire hotel.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we hope that you can come back soon and see for yourself how the renovations are then. Thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    69
    46
    28
See reviews for
69
95
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here from August 3 - August 6. We tried to get early check in but was told we had to pay $25.00 per person in order to do that. We were not about to pay an extra $50.00. We arrived early as we had to leave according to the transportation shuttle schedule and sat in the lobby for about 2 hours. At no time in the those two hours did anyone inquire as to what we were waiting for and offered us any refreshments.
We eventually checked in and were shown to a room on the 2nd floor even though we had specifically stated we wanted a high floor. Front desk personnel stated that was all they they had available. Upon entering this room, the smell of mold was strongly evident... I had difficulty breathing. We went to the front desk and requested a new room. Front desk personnel seemed annoyed and bothered that we wanted to change our room. My husband explained that I could not breathe in the room assigned. He then asked the bell boy over the walkie talkie to show us a room on the 3rd floor. There was no smell of mold in this room. Why did they not put us this room to begin with? Wasn't this the highest floor within this building? I was told by front desk that the other building with 5 floors was out of commission. Needless to say this situation could have been avoided if we were initially placed on the 3rd floor.
As for the room, we found a hair in our bed, the bed was hard as rock in comparison to all the other hotels we had stayed up to this time . Also, the drain in the bathroom sink was had hair which was disturbing. The ice bucket was dirty.
This is an all inclusive resort but the Buffett food left much to be desired. I would categorize it as cafeteria food. For the price of the resort, the quality needs to be of a higher caliber. The salads were being spritzed out of a plastic spray bottle by the food staff. While there was a sign indicating the water was purified, it was a definite turn off in consuming the food. We ate only the covered hot food and very minimal amounts. It just did not sit well after consumption.
The noise level was insane. Music till 1:00 am in the morning on our check in night and construction in the other building starts at 6:00am every day our stay.
The only bright spot and why I gave the 1 star was because of the service of Johan. He was pleasant and friendly unlike the person we had upon check in. He helped us in many ways.
My advise is to stay at this resort with caution!

Room Tip: Don't go into room 213. ... Moldy musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear S L, we really do thank you for posting your comments because they provide us with plenty of feedback and insight on how our guests feel about our hotel, its services and the way our personnel tends and behave towards them, and it also lets us see what we can do to continue improving everyday for our guests' complete satisfaction. there is nothing we want more than to be able to provide our guests with all the comforts they need and expect to have a very relaxing and fun stay.

By being an all inclusive resort, we do try to provide for them the most delicious and diverse drinks, snacks and foods we can, combining regional typical dishes with more traditional dishes such as fish, beef and chicken done in several ways, different types of salads ect. so we can cater to our guests' diverse palates and tastes. We are very sorry that you found that the food we offer was not up to your expectations, we are going to share your comments with our Food and Beverages Staff so they can take them into account so we can continue improving every day. As you were able to see, the hotel is actually undergoing total renovations so our 5 storied building is not done yet, that is why they sent you to the other building; we really do apologize that the front desk personnel did not gave you the room at the top floor immediately (since you had asked for it before), we are going to see why was the reason for it and we are going to see to it that situations like this do not happen again in the future, it is extremely important for us to maintain the highest standards of service so please accept or apologies for putting you through that situation.

Regarding the mishap you experienced in the first room, we are very sorry to learn about it and once again we beg you to accept our most sincere apologies, we will address this issue with the housekeeping personnel to discover how it happened and to make sure it does not happen again. Since we take the comfort of our guests most seriously, we are going to share immediately your comments about the noise you experienced so that our Brand Standard team will take it into account because any problems and discomforts we are made aware of are always dealt with as qickly as possible.

We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the fee for checking in early, it is a hotel policy and it is offered because then, the guests can have access to start enjoying immediately everything the all inclusive has to offer.

It was a pleasure being able to serve you, please accept our most sincere apologies and we thank you for staying with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about my stay here was perfect. The staff is super nice, food is good with many choices and drinks are included. The hotel was clean and had plenty of security. The hotel might not be new, but it is a great value considering that food is very expensive in Costa Rica.
The hotel is beach front far away enough from the main town, but close enough to walk to the town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Tania S, thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review.

It makes us very proud to learn how much you enjoyed your stay here with us and how you found all of our services, accommodations and staff just perfect. We really did accomplished our main goal which is to make our guests have all the fun and comfort possible so their vacation can be totally unforgettable. We want our guests to have everything they need, not only for their comfort, but also for their enjoyment, that way they can always say what you wrote, that everything about your stay was nothing less than perfect.

We are very happy and proud to have a staff that is always looking for ways to please our guests, wether it is by making great drinks, by complying with anything that they need or just by recommending a tour or answering a question, all this done in a very friendly and attentive way so our guests can feel and know that they can depend on us for their complete satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We, 6 couples, stayed in the Best Western two weeks ago and found it to be a very nice place. Yes, they do not help you with the luggage unless you ask them, but other than that, all of us found the staff to be very attentive and helpful. The location is great, the pool was clean and well maintained so were the grounds and the rooms. The drinks were better than we found them to be in other all inclusive hotels. The food was good and plentiful.
We will definitively go back.

Room Tip: Across the street is a Mexican restaurant going on all night with very loud music, get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ingo K, thank you so much for sharing such a nice review.

We are very very happy to learn how much you, your wife and your friends enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are also thrilled that you found our hotel and its premises very comfortable and well maintain. Our outmost desire is to be able to provide our guests with everything they need and request so they can have a wonderful experience, full of fun and very comfortable and satisfying. The only dilemmas our guests are going to have are which wonderful tours to take, what types drinks and snacks they are going to choose during the day, and wether they are going to have a dinner at the restaurant with the buffet or if they are going to have them at the little restaurant right infront of the beach.

Our staff is aways one step ahead trying to comply with our guests and making them feel very welcome, surrouunded by a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are going to share your review with our Food and Beverage personnel because we are sure that they are going to be delighted to find how much you liked and appreciated the drinks and food they prepare.

It was a pleasure having all of you stay with us. The entire team will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We really liked the atmosphere in this hotel. The staff was very nice,the food extremely well prepared. All in all a great place to stay. HOWEVER. Best western 800service in the united stated was extremely substandard. They lied to us, overcharged us for the room and refused to refund us the money. I suggest that NOONE uses the 800 reservation service, but contact the hotel directly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Dbguilliams, thank you so much for taking the time to write and share such a fabulous review.

You have made us feel extremely proud of the work we do because be reading your review about your stay we are able to learn how much you liked and enjoyed staying with us. This is a hotel that always strives to provide our guests with the best we can offer, like great accommodations with all the services they might need for their conveniency and well being. We want our guests to have all the relaxation they expect, plus we also want them to have all the fun they want in order to have a perfect vacation.

Our staff is always one step ahead, looking out for any assintance our guests might need, either it is answering a question, recommending a tour our making them a delicious drink just right infront of the ocean.
It was a pleasure being able to serve you, thank you for choosing us, and we really hope that you can visit us again really soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel has it all. I loved it. The swimming pool and pool side activities were amazing. And the view from the beach was awesome. I loved the service at this hotel. Anything and everything was handled beautifully. The food was great. The drinks amazing. The grounds beautiful. And the room was perfect!!! What more could you want?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Linda R, thanks for sharing such an awesome review about your stay with us.

It always makes us feel enormously proud whenever we learn what a great time our guests had during their stay and how much they liked our premises and our services. There is nothing more important for us here at the hotel than to comply with every request you have because for us this is much more than a job, it is our pleasure to be able to make our guests stay all of what they were expecting and much more. We want them to know that they can completely count on us for making their vacation as fun and comfortable as it can be, we want them to know that their complete satisfaction is is very important and that the most important decision they have to make is what kind of drink they are going to have while relaxing by the pool or wether they are going to have dinner at the restaurant at the main building or at the bar right in front of the ocean.

It is always very gratifying to know how satisfied you were with our food and drinks, we are definitely going to share your review with our Food and Beverages personnel, they are going to be extremely happy to know how much you everything they prepared.

It was a pleasure being able to serve you, we hope that you can visit us again very soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I'd sleep on the beach before I'd stay at this dump! We pulled into Jaco, without reservations, (after leaving Nayara Hotel, a world class resort -- so I knew anything in Jaco would be a far cry from where we'd come from!) We were lulled into a false sense of security by the nice open-air marbled reception area and a friendly, bilingual guy behind the desk. After we checked-in, I became wary when an employee stood around at the curb without bothering to help with our bags. (Usually staffers like to receive a tip and weary travelers enjoy the help! The lack of concern for guests held a clue as to what was to come!) My husband parked our car and I waited at the curb with our bags until he came back and we both schlepped our luggage, on a luggage cart, to our first-floor room. The pool area seemed nice enough and the grounds were ok, but I became more apprehensive as I saw the type of 'guests' we passed on the property…. It was a clearer clue of what these types of people might consider this dump to be 'acceptable' accommodations. (There were unattended kids; tattooed guys who don't have the sense to pull-up their pants; and some pretty trashy people, etc.) Opening the door to our room, I felt like we were being 'punished' for something as we were met with saggy beds with tattered and faded bedspreads, old, smelly carpet, a dinky little wall-unit AC and furniture that should have been replaced YEARS ago. (There wasn't even a remote in the room for the TV! And while there was a safe in the closet, there was no way to LOCK it!)

We'd been driving for hours though and wanted to enjoy a drink while watching the sunset, which would occur in less than an hour, so we decided to 'just laugh it off and make the best of it,' and check-out in the morning.

But, all bets were off, when I walked into the tiny, cell-like bathroom with it's dilapidated, 4-inch cheap tiles and missing grout; threadbare towels that barely looked big enough for a 6-year old to use, mold in the tub, etc. I finally LOST IT when I flushed the toilet and water poured from the tank bottom and flooded the floor. Still needing to wash my hands, I turned on the faucet, only to find that the pipes underneath the 1970s era wall sink leaked too!!!!

Ten minutes after checking-IN, we rolled our luggage back to the reception desk and checked-OUT of this crappy dump and fled!

We ended up staying at the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, which is not too far away and caters to HUMANS, unlike the place we'd fled!

Room Tip: Tip: Run! Run as fast as you can from this dump an don't be misled by the fact that reception ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear intimagemd, we really appreciate the time you took to write and share your comments.

We take the comments of our guests very seriously because they provide us with valuable feedback of how they perceive our hotel and its services and what we can do to keep constantly improving. We are a hotel that thrives on its guests happiness and satisfaction and we do everything we can to provide them with all they need and request so they can have a very satisfying and comfortable stay, that is why we are very sorry for not reaching your expectations.

As a three star hotel, we go above and beyond to make our guests not only have a very fun and relaxing stay, but also to make them feel as welcome and comfortable as we can. We are very sorry that our guard was not able to help you with your luggage, but our guards cannot leave their posts during their shifts because their job is to look after the safety and well being of our guests, so if you had gone to the front desk and asked for a bell boy to help you and your husband, we would would have been more than happy to comply; once again, we are very sorry for this misunderstanding.

Whenever our guests are not happy with the room that they have been assigned, our front desk personnel always asks them if they would like to see other rooms that would be more of their liking because there is nothing we want more than to please each and every one of our guests , so we are very sorry that you were not interested in seeing other rooms. We are also very sorry about the bathroom mishap, so please accept our most sincere apologies, most of our rooms as well as the hotel´s infrastructure is undergoing total renovations and remodellating so perhaps it happened due to the work being done.

It was a pleasure to be of your assistance and once again we apologize for the mishap and the misunderstanding.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.