We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best? western” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 42 hotels in Jaco
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best? western”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel service is excellent, but the hotel it self is in serious need of help! I think over all in Jaco i wasn't very lucky but this was by far my worst pick on the trip!
They have no prostitution regulations posters all over the place but there was hookers in pretty much every room, i was more then disappointed considering i picked this place because i knew the chain and i work with them a lot back in the US,but i guess things are not the same down here!

A friend of mine told me to go to tamarindo instead! and i think i should have listened!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Derek J, we appreciate you sharing your comments with us. We take our guests´ feedback very seriously because we strive to provide them with great services and accommodations so their stay with us can be a very nice experience.
We are very sorry to learn that your stay with us was not what you expected. There are no prostitution regulation posters in the hotel because the hotel´s policy absolutely prohibits the admittance of prostitutes inside the hotel´s premises. One of the reasons we have so many security guards around the hotel is to check that none of those persons are inside our premises. The guards at the hotel´s main gate are in charge of checking that only guests enter, and they are there 24 hours a day 7 days a week.
Once again, we are sorry that we didn´t achieve your expectations and we thank you for staying with us.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    69
    46
    28
See reviews for
69
95
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golfito, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This very good value hotel, nice pool, bars and restaurant. Employees are very kindly, the site is always clean as the rooms. Big variety of good meals for breakfast and dinner. Many entertaining activities are available, one day is definitively not enough. Perfect hotel to have fun with a bunch of people. I will go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear C1ndzy, thank you for sharing such a great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed so much your stay with us.
It is a great source of motivation for us when our guests leave feeling so satisfied since we do strive to provide them with the best services and accommodations to make sure they have everything they need to make their stay a complete success.
Our staff is always trying to make our guests feel right at home surrounded by warmth and friendliness, always trying to engage ithem in different fun activities or to provide them with delicious drinks and snacks.
We really do hope that you visit us again soon and we thank you for choosing us.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Best Western is an OK average hotel. Clean rooms and well maintained grounds with a friendly and polite staff. A few over zealous security guard gave us a bit of a headache and seem to forget that the people staying there are guests, but I belive they are contracted though the hotel.

We bought the all inclusive for 1 day and it’s not worth it unless you are a big drinker. Food is horrible and you can get better and cheaper price on the Jaco strip. All I could eat at dinner was fruit and rice, even that wasn’t fresh. Breakfast was a bit better and lunch was terrible. It’s a good hotel if you want to sleep and go out during the day. Pool area is nice but closes early at 7:00 PM. The front desk informed us our room phone would be fixed a few hour after checking in, but one week later, still had no tone. Had no intention of making a call, so we never pressed the issue.

If you are looking for a full resort with all the bells and whistles, I would skip Best Western, but if you just need a place to sleep, Best Western is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Brandon M, we appreciate that you took your time to write this review because we take our guests´ points of view and comments very seriously. It is the best way for us to get unbiased feedback from our clients and learn of which areas of our hotel needs improvement.
We are very glad that you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. We strive to provide all of our guests with excellent services and accommodations so they feel comfortable and welcome during their stay.
We apologize for the inconvinience with the security guards and would really appreciate if you could tell us what happened so we can see to it as soon as possible, that way, we can be able to target the problem and take the necessary actions to ensure that similar situations can be avoided.
We regret to learn that you didnt like our lunch and dinner buffets, we will share your comments with our Food and Beverages Staff so they can take them into consideration because we are always working to update and improve all of our serices in order to achieve our guests´ expectations.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Vito, Costa Rica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Safe hotel in Playa Jaco, $130 per night US $. Secure onsite parking, breakfast, oceanside with pool, bar, restaurant, gym. An easy walk around Jaco. It's all here, just a few minor things like unsafe looking fire escapes and other potential mechanical upkeep issues, as sea air is rampant to rust metal things as such.

Room Tip: Inspect fire escape options from your room, they looks unsafe everywhere. Many rooms open right ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ZancudoDrifter, thank you for posting your review. We take our guests´ feedback very seriously because they give us an unbiased perspective of the services, accommodations and location our hotel offers, that way, we can always keep on improving .
We are always working to maintain the highest quality product possible so our guests can always be certain that whenever they visit us, they are always going to get what they are expecting (and hopefully even more) and never be disappointed.
As you could see, the hotel is undergoing some major renovations, so you can be certain that the remodeling and improvements are not going to be reserved only to the rooms and the lobby, but to the entire building because as you wrote before, the sea air is always rusting things so we have to continually be changing metals and other materials to maintain the hotels standards.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you can visit us again soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was the worst hotel or "resort" as they call it, that I have ever stayed at in my life. It is 99% locals which is fine, except that they are the rudest people you could ever meet. And they open their doors to day passes so they entire place fills up with families. The adult pool is over run with children and the locals look at us "Tourists" as though we should be somewhere else. The staff was no better. In fact at dinner, the waiters would ask every local if they wanted a drink or wine or whatever, and not once did they ask us in 5 days. The buffet is disgusting and we paid for an all inclusive yet ate our meals off the resort. 95% of the staff does not speak a word of English. The omelette stations chef only speaks Spanish, so we couldn't even order a fried egg because he looked at us in confusion like we were stupid. The bar is closed from 5-10 pm on busy nights yet they leave it open all night long when its slow. Their nightly "entertainment" consists of Spanish music videos and Spanish karaoke. There is NOTHING to do during the day. My husband was playing volleyball with some other tourists and he went to the bar to ask if anyone wanted to play, and all the locals laughed in his face. Like I said, rudest people you'll ever meet. It is dirty and old and their "under construction" signs is a joke. The maid stole my husbands Lulu lemon pants. She also took our tv remote the first day she cleaned and then magically it reappeared on the night table 2 days later. Maybe one of the locals didn't have a remote so she "borrowed" ours. I have never felt so unwelcome on vacation as I did at the Best Western. Thank God we had rented a gorgeous villa for the first 10 nights and then went to the Marriott for our last night because we couldn't stand to stay at this place a second longer. It is also the most unsafe place in Costa Rica and you don't want to take your chances. My husband and I were severely drugged, I was unconscious and my husband and an American tourist who we didn't know had to carry me back to the hotel. At the security gate at the front, they are supposed to check your bracelets and find out who you are before letting you in to the resort. Well two very large men carried an unconscious woman into the resort at 1am and the security just let them go right on through. No questions asked. The American man was not staying at this resort and thus did not have a bracelet. They didn't care. Those men could of been anyone. Once inside and upstairs we didn't have a room key so the American went to the front desk to get one, and they gave him one! He wasn't a guest of this hotel and they gave him a key to our room. I fell and cracked open my head and the staff did nothing to help us. My husband asked where the hospital was and they didn't help us. We spent the entire next day in our room, where I almost died, because the staff is negligent and useless. We ended up checking out 24 hours early and received no refund, no apology no nothing. Just a horrible experience on top of a horrible resort. Do your self a favour and never stay at this resort. At this point, I will never stay at a Best Western again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Catherine T, we appreciate that you took the time to share your review. These reviews are very important to us since we use them as feedback to evaluate the hotel´s performance in both, accommodations and service so we can always continue improving.
We are very sorry about all the shortcomings that you experienced during your stay and we are going to give them a very thoroughly investigation because of their serious nature. We have to know exactly what happened, the dates of each event and the exact time. We are also going to need the names of both, you and your husband and the room number in which you stayed. We are going to send you a private message with our General Manager´s e-mail so you can send her your phone number and e-mail so she may reach you as soon as possible to start this investigation.
The personnel searched for the hotel´s reports regarding some of the experiences you had, but nobody found anything, and as I wrote to you before, we need to know exactly every single detail to start with the investigations. So we really need to communicate with you as soon as possible.
Once again, we are very sorry about the shortcomings you experienced. Thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are looking for a place in Jaco that is a good value, this is it. There is really no reason to leave the property after you check in. There are enough activities an d things to do between meals that the days go by pretty fast. There also is enough space to relax and read or do nothing. The staff was quite helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear JohnV54, we appreciate that you took your time to post this review since your feedback is extremely important to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found our staff so helpful and friendly.
We strive to provide all of our guests with the highest standards of accommodations and service, so it makes us very happy every time they leave our hotel feeling so satisfied and relaxed.
Once again, thank you for posting such a candid review and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is steps from the beach. Amazing food and great service. Hotel is very clean also. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Perfect for families and couples. Definitely surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jes289, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you found the services and accommodations we provide were beyond your expectations. It is our goal to provide all our costumers with the highest quality of service in order to make their stay an unforgettable experience.
It is very rewarding for our staff to know how all our efforts were appreciated and that we made a difference in making your stay with us the best.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.