We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is steps from the beach. Amazing food and great service. Hotel is very clean also. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Perfect for families and couples. Definitely surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jes289, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you found the services and accommodations we provide were beyond your expectations. It is our goal to provide all our costumers with the highest quality of service in order to make their stay an unforgettable experience.
It is very rewarding for our staff to know how all our efforts were appreciated and that we made a difference in making your stay with us the best.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    99
    74
    46
    29
See reviews for
74
100
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Jaco Beach Resort, July 22-28. I always want to start with the positives, the negatives are too easy
Staff is friendly and helpful, and had a good sense of humor
Cleaning staff is always cleaning
The beach cannot get any closer to the resort-very convenient
Security is there on the premises, I felt safe, (important as I traveled alone)
As it relates to the food items, the fresh fruit and desserts were fab-u-lous
Room is comfortable, yes a bit dated
I loved the music, which was played throughout the day

Negatives
Not enough English speaking staff, considering that 40% of Costa Rica income comes from tourist. There should be at least one English speaking staff at front desk, the restaurant, the bar, security, housekeepers etc.
I was very disappointed with the minimal food choices. A very HIGH carb menu, lunch and dinner seems to consist of pasta and rice (of some sort) EVERY DAY! Not a huge selection of foods, and I was fearful of eating the "so called" meat. It all appeared to look the same whether it was chicken, pork fish etc.
There is no Gym or Golf course as posted on website.
No beach umbrellas (at least I didn't see any, and was there 1 week)
The beach, although beautiful its none like I've ever seen. It's not clean, I saw old furniture on the beach. It's full of pebbles, so it hard to walk on parts of the beach without sandles, or other type of shoe. no white sand, it's brown). Interestingly enough (outside of surfers) you don't see that many people on the beach. Not sure why, unless their reasons for not being out there are similar to mine. Anyway, that's all for now. My overall satisfaction is three stars.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear sharonorPenny, we really appreciate that you took your time to write this review about your stay with us. We take the comments from our guests very seriously because it is from their feedback where we evaluate our performance in providing them with the highest quality of service.
We are very happy that you found our accommodations and facilities of your liking. It also makes us feel very proud when guests such as yourself, appreciate the work and services that our staff provides.
We are very sorry that our lunch and dinner menus were not up to your expectations. Your comments have already been shared with our brand standard team and they will promptly get to work on that.
Regarding the beach, it is cleaned every single morning. What happens is, that since here in Costa Rica this is the rainy season, and eventhough the debris is cleaned every day, in the afternoon, when it rains, more debris is washed ashore from the ocean.
We take the comfort and satisfaction of our guests very seriously, and any problems we are made aware of are always dealt with as soon as possible.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our two adjoining rooms were nice. The maid kept them very clean. Would have liked tissues and other usual supplies in the bathroom. The food in the buffet restaurant was mediocre. Was surprised the fruit and dessert quality was poor. The policy of making reservations at the restaurant only from 7-9 in the morning did not make sense. Some days we remembered this after 9 and were not able to make a reservation. The times we did get to eat there we enjoyed it, but noticed very few tables were in use. If we had known the buffet food was not that good, we wouldn't have paid for it for our entire stay. We did like that the resort was a short walking distance from the downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Samuel B, we really appreciate your comments, thank you for sharing them. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your accommodations comfortable: also that you did really appreciate our staffs´efforts in providing you the the best experience possible.
We are very sorry that you found that the quality of our buffets did not meet your expectations. Since our goal is to provide our guests with the best experience possible, we will gladly forward your review to our Food and Beverages Staff so they can take it into account in order to improve the quality of service to achieve our guests´ expectations.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you stay with us the next time you visit Costa Rica.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

me and my boyfriend just got back from our vacation to costa on saturday we stayed for 11 days 10 nights at the best western jaco beach, overall it was a pretty nice stay but with some failures.

FOOD- okay the breakfast now this is the biggest meal i usually eat so those of you who have a big appetite in the morning they have a pretty good selection what i was surprised about was that they had pancakes every morning which i had to eat everyday they had some weird things like they had beans and rice for the am/lunch/pm but i guess that costa rican style. Now lunch and dinner were pretty much the same thing just a few changes were made but still a pretty good selection but if your a picky eater beware.

HOTEL APPEARANCE- the hotel is pretty dated, they do need to update the place a little bit especially the ROOMS. For the price you pay it isnt that bad but they need an update no matter what... first of all there is tile floor in the whole room and its a beach hotel so i understand its easier for them to clean but its way to slippery and that could be dangerous for kids or older people, and i mean everything in the room is old nothing looks "new" in them but like i said for the price its decent. The hotel itself seems to have a little updating into it but can still use a scrub down on the walls.

POOL- now the pool was probably the worst part, we stayed for 11 days and only like 2 out of the 10 was there pool chairs available its pretty limited and most people just lay there towels down on the chairs while there in the pool for hours..its also FULL of kids...were in our early 20s and to us it just seemed gross. We did see them clean the pool every morning though so at least that kept us from thinking it was trashed and dirty everyday.

EMPLOYEES- were awesome... the front desk people were helpful and solved our problems if we had any or answered our questions when we needed help or advice. The restaurant staff were also nice theres always one cook cooking either your eggs in the morning or your beat in the afternoon and night they did an excellent job. The bar staff were hilarious they were very friendly and we liked hanging out there. KEEP IN MIND me and my bf are ONLY english speakers... thats the only downfall i have about the employees, although they were helpful and friendly we probably only found about 3 that could understand and speak somewhat english back and 1 young employee that could understand and speak english pretty well, now i know im in costa rica but i mean they should have more employees that speak english WELL ENOUGH to make the americans feel welcomed and not awkward.

So overall the hotel was decent enough for me and my bf's liking. We had a blast and enjoyed are stay in costa rica and at the best western.



some tips for best western jaco beach:
On your property you have a huge lot that you don't use for anything and connected to that is a little volleyball court that i didn't see one person use while we stayed the 11 days. about my comment about the pool situation i think it might be a good idea for you to consider building an "ADULT ONLY" pool for people 18+. That would give the adult guests more relaxation without having the kids around.

Room Tip: Higher the floor better the view Get a room away from the beach bar the music at night might bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Morganfl, thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. It is our endeavor to provide our guests with the highest quality of services and accommodations and the best way to achieve this is to learn from their reviews what they really want and expect.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much; we are happy to inform you that hotel is currently undergoing some major renovations which will give the building and rooms a modern make-over. Also all the rooms´ appliances and furniture are going to be change when the renovations are completed.
Here in Costa Rica, is a costum to eat gallo pinto (rice mixed with beans) everyday for breakfast, so our national guests staying with us expect us to serve it daily. For guests who are not use to or don´t like the gallo pinto, we offer an assortment of dishes to choose from such as hash browns, different types of breakfast sausages, bacon, eggs prepared the way that you choose, pancakes, french toasts, ect. We also offer different kinds of seasonal fruits, assorted cereals, yogurts, cheeses, cold cuts, different kinds of breads and muffins, toasts, ect.
We kindly inform you that the pool is cleaned every morning each day of the week, so you can be sure that it is always clean. The reason there were so many children during your stay is that you came during the country´s schools half year vacation and most families take their children to the beach.
It is a great source of motivation for all the staff when guests leave feeling so satisfied with the services that we provide. We are very happy that our efforts were appreciated.
You can be sure that your comments are very valuable to us and that they are going to be taken into consideration since we are always working to excel in every service that we provide.
Thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The Best Western was a surprisingly good value. We really enjoyed our stay. The service was great and the rooms were basic but VERY clean. The food was also very impressive for an all inclusive buffet. The only downside was if you're not traveling with kids it may not be the right place for you. The pool is overrun with family's with kids so just beware.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Tspivey85, we appreciate your comments and are very happy that you enjoyed our services and accommodations so much.
It is our goal to provide all our guests with everything they expect from our hotel and staff. We are also very glad that you found our all inclusive buffet of your liking since we strive in catering dishes to all tastes available.
Thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Costa Rica-Jun-2013
Hotel Jaco Beach Club review!
The good!
• Reasonably priced. The rooms were old, but well maintained, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms nice and apparently remodeled. The A/C worked well, but was a little noisy.
• All Inclusive, $40 per day, per person, which includes buffet Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. It also includes all you can drink from 10am to midnight. All the tropical drinks, beer and wine you can drink. The best part being you can choose the days to include. This means when you go on tour all day, you don’t have to purchase that days meal and drink plan.
• The grounds were very well maintained, and beautifully landscaped. The pool was clean, warm and refreshing. The beach was only a short walk away, all of 100 yards. There were plenty of lounge chairs, and we relaxed out on the lawn, under a pleasant umbrella and shade tree. Overlooking the ocean.
• Loved the fact they put out coffee at 5am for us early risers. Costa Rican coffee is to die for.
• The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
• Food advisors say that a good sign for a restaurant’s quality is their ability to prepare soups. I enjoyed a number of great soups and this was special to me. The wife and I were well impressed with the breakfast. Homemade omelets, plenty of fruit, bacon, sausage, ham, home fried potatoes, the country favorite, black beans and rice, plus other good stuff.
The bad, well it was not that bad?
• Extremely loud music on Friday and Saturday nights, disco? Not pleased with this event. I know the youth love to party, but why so loud, for so long? They offer a weekend special and the place loads up with people. We old people need our rest? Insulate the windows and turn down the power?
• No Kleenex in the room, why?
• Although tasty, both lunch and dinner buffets blend together. The beef was soft and mushy, the various fish dishes, all tasted the same, the pasta with meat sauce, had no meat sauce? They need to add Ranch dressing for their salads. We felt we ate the same lunch and dinner day after day and certainly grew tired of it? Fortunately with the choose your day plan, we avoided total loss of interest by not buying the plan on the days we toured and were gone most of the day.
• WiFi, how great, we connected, yet it was down almost as often as it was up? The local computer station was down the whole week we stayed there. Come on people, it’s a WiFi world; get your internet action together? Add some working computers!

Room Tip: Certain rooms have views others don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Tunaslam, thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.com. They are very valuable to us since they provide us with feedback that helps us improve the product and service that we offer. Our main goal is to achieve our guests´ total satisfaction of our services and accommodations .
First of all, we are very happy to inform you that the Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort is undergoing some major renovations to update its infrastructure so our guests can expect some big and beautiful changes coming soon.
Regarding the music during the weekend, we will certainly take into account your comments so that that kind of inconvenience can be avoided in the future. We will definitely take into account your comments regarding our buffets and will gladly forward them to our Food and Beverages Staff so that we can continue to improve our services everyday.
Thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward to welcoming youu back soon. Making our clients happy and comfortable is what we are all about.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here!!! The resort is clean and simple; everything works as you expect. The staff is friendly, good humored and efficient to solve problems. Good food that suits all tastes. Tropical fruits and juices: absolutely delightful. The only flaw was the weather; it rained every day. If you´re planning a trip to Costa Rica avoid May. You won´t regret booking at the Best Western Jaco Resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Alicia L, thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We feel very proud every time our guests leave our premises feeling so satisfied because it shows that we have accomplish our main goal which is to provide each and every guest with a great service experience.
As you mentioned before, our buffets ( breakfast, lunch and dinner), a la carte dinners, snacks and drinks caters to every possible taste, even letting our guests experiment with regional dishes and fruits so they can acquire more knowledge of our Costa Rican culinary customs.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we expect you back soon.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.