We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here!!! The resort is clean and simple; everything works as you expect. The staff is friendly, good humored and efficient to solve problems. Good food that suits all tastes. Tropical fruits and juices: absolutely delightful. The only flaw was the weather; it rained every day. If you´re planning a trip to Costa Rica avoid May. You won´t regret booking at the Best Western Jaco Resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Alicia L, thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We feel very proud every time our guests leave our premises feeling so satisfied because it shows that we have accomplish our main goal which is to provide each and every guest with a great service experience.
As you mentioned before, our buffets ( breakfast, lunch and dinner), a la carte dinners, snacks and drinks caters to every possible taste, even letting our guests experiment with regional dishes and fruits so they can acquire more knowledge of our Costa Rican culinary customs.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we expect you back soon.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    96
    68
    46
    27
See reviews for
66
94
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If we would not stayed 5 nights this would've been a 1 out of 5 rating. When we arrived it was exactly what I expected. A Beach Hotel We had a good rate for an all-inclusive for being on the beach. I knew we would not eat all the meals there. What started out really bad, did turn good so read through if interested in staying. The first night we were unable to get anything to drink without waiting 30-40 minutes in a long line. They had a local group of 400 people and I believe they decided to close the restaurant bar because they did not want everybody to drink all day. I just cannot believe it, all the people were nice, but to stand in line at a snack bar that had no snacks for a beer for 30 (maybe longer) minutes was a little bit much. Local soccer game was on so we figured out a way to get to a bar that had a TV and a faster service that we paid for without problem. I also had asked the front desk for a coffee pot or a hot pot as the room had none or a refrigerator in it. I just wanted my coffee faster than I was getting my beer? They said no way. I knew some of the rooms have refrigerators and coffeepots. So needless to say go back all the GOOD stuff after 2 nights they opened the beautiful outside bar past 5 PM. We enjoyed great service with the sounds of the beach and sunset. The meals where good. Buffet style with many selections to order meats pasta and salad. The staff when not under pressure, had a great attitude for a vacation lifestyle. We were on the top fifth floor and had a beautiful balcony. Just going back to my other issue he could not drink cup of coffee or have a cold beverage to enjoy with the view. The AC worked great. The bed was short for tall people but livable. One Double and one Singe bed. The shower pressure was great. The cleaning staff where all nice. I believe the only other thing sorry to be negative is the fact that 50% of the rooms were under construction after the 400 people checked out. I was not even bothered by that because everything was so much better after THEY opened the view with the snack bar, beverage bar on the beach. (in all fairness it was open until 5PM the first day. we arrived at 5:30)

Room Tip: A bet the renovated ones will be nice when finished and one with a Refrigerator and coffee pot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear casakey, we appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.
We strive to please please our guests with all of their expectations so we regret to learn that you had to wait for more than 30 minutes to get your drinks due that the hotel accommodations were at their full capacity at that time. Our staff is fully commited in trying to accommodate all of our guests requests the best possible way and as soon as possible so we apologize for the inconvenience.
We kindly remind you that the snack-bar located on the beach, opens on weekdays from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. and they serve drinks and snacks all the time while they are open. On the weekends, it opens from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and when it closes, the bar in the kiosk near the swimming pool stays open, the only thing is that that bar only serves drinks not snacks.
Regarding the coffee pot, we apologize and we will like you to know that what happened has been taken into considaration since our main concern is to satisfy all of our guests´needs. Rest assure that it wil never happen again.
We are always working on improving our services so your comments have benn very valuable. This enables us to target those problems and take actions accordingly.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We came here on one of our bonus weeks with our time-share company. We got two rooms, one regular and the other with the tiny kitchen. All rooms have two beds; a twin and a double. The beds are hard but not as hard as some I have been on in Central America in much fancier places. The rooms are very clean but very basic! The bathrooms are '60's (blue tub and sink) with formica table and dresser (plastic chairs). We are on the 4th floor side, partial ocean view away from the pool and it is very quiet. All rooms have a balcony and a great AC. There is a small keyed safe for $3.50 per day, hair dryer, toilet paper a soap dispenser with soap and shampoo, towels and that is pretty much it. The price for the week was excellent! Therefore we have nothing to complain about. The people and service has been excellent. We got no hassle at check-in to opt out of the all-inclusive part. We are pretty experienced foreign travelers and therefore knew to check everything before we unpacked. Sure enough there was a power issue and the appliances were not working in our first room. They gladly changed us to another room and graciously helped us move and check the new room.We have a small refrigerator, sink, coffee pot, toaster, and microwave as well as the bare bones of dishes and utensils. All in all, if you get a great price this is a great place to stay! The security is excellent. They have security at all entrances and walking all around the resort. We felt very safe. The beach is not soft white sand but it is clean and very nice. The resort has uncomfortable loungers and umbrellas facing the ocean on grass complete with palm trees. Beautiful! The pool is small, but so is the place and the loungers are nice (no umbrellas--maybe one--I took my own and it worked). We are completely enjoying our stay! It is also within walking distance of the town of Jaco, restaurants, bars, stores etc. We did a lot of walking during the day and it was completely safe. We never left at night. I would have given it a 3 or 4 star if the rooms were updated with a few amenities you expect from a 3 or 4 star. Of course, we didn't pay for a 3 or 4 star--but would have!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool and as high as you can get--toward the ocean. They do have some loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear nmadventurers, we appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are happy to inform you that the Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort is undergoing major renovations in order to provide our guests with the best quality of product. The rooms are being remodel with modern appliances and furniture in order to comply with our guests´ comfort. Also all the lobby and common areas are being remodel too in order to provide a greater and more beautiful space.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you return soon so you can experience firsthand all of our improvements.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is one of my favourite spots when visiting Jaco. It is perfectly located to walk to all the nice shops of the town, and far enough to not get any noise. Food is very good, nothing fancy but well prepared, no cross contamination (my kids are allergic) wonderful pool, and the beach front location makes it very well located.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear gabsalca, thank you for your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
As you mentioned before, Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort is not only beachfront but it is also a 2 minutes walk from the town, so you get the best location possible. When you get tire of surfing and swimming, you only have to put on some shorts and trainers or flip flops and head to town to window shop and get some ice cream.
Thank you again for visiting us and we hope that you come back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubac, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here April 2 and about a week later. Food was very good, staff very friendly, and place felt secure. Hard to beat at all inclusive price. Room about average. Good spot to stop on way from Osa to San Jose airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear patzhow423, we appreciate your review and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are a beachfront all inclusive resort that thrives in providing our guest with the best service possible. Everytime or guests leave so satisfied, it shows us that we have reach our main goal.
Thank you for choosing us and we will look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I Spent 5 nights at the Best Western Jaco Beach the end of April.I have stayed there several times and they have made a lot of improvements over the last few years.They have returned to all inclusive and the food is really good and the drinks and snacks also.They have new lounge chairs for the pool and umbrellas for the beach.They were working on the internet while I was there but they let you use the internet in the office area.They should have the updated system by now.Myra and Johan at the front desk are real helpful also.The price is not that bad for all inclusive and I would recommend this hotel for family's,couple's or individuals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Marcus27106, thank you for your comments, we really appreciate that you took your time to write them and are very happy that your stay here was so pleasant.
As you mentioned before, we are undergoing major renovations to improve the accommodations and provide our guests with a great service experience.
We offer an all you can eat buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner with assorted choices of dishes, including typical dishes and desserts so our guests can taste our national culinary delights. Also, for those guests staying more than two nights, we offer our dinner a la carte right in front of the beach making it an unforgettable experience.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was leary about booking here after reading all the reviews I could. We knew we wanted to go to Costa Rica, a friend of my husband suggested Jaco. There were 4 of us that went. My husband, his mother, his step-dad, & I.
We left Pensacola,FL, changed planes in Atlanta, and flew into San Jose. We took a taxi-$100.00 to Jaco, 1 hour and 25 mins. away. The check in was easy- the front desk efficient. Card door keys & pool towel cards are given at check in.
The room was just like the pictures. One queen bed, and one twin. Plastic chairs and a dresser. The in-laws had a microwave & small fridge in their room-we did not.
You have to rent the in-room wall safe for $3.00/day extra.
It was 95 degrees and very hot when we were there- My mother in law suffered heat stroke. Nausea,dizzy,hot, faint. Sylvia at the front desk-who speaks english well, sent them to her doctor's clinic. We were later told that the locals do not venture out from 11 Am-4 PM, only the tourist. The sun is just too intense.
Food was plentiful and very good- We were pleasantly surprised. The alcohol was also good and plentiful, but the only beer available is Imperial draft-very good. White or dry red wine only. Rum,vodka,gin,& scotch-all generic brand only. No premium liquors or any blended or bourbon whisky.
We paid $55.00-for a small bottle of Jack Daniels the guys had to have at a drug store in town. So- pack your own choice liquor-up to 5 liters in your checked bag- or shop at the airports duty free store first.
Pack a small solar calculator to convert their Colones to dollars. Very confusing 490 colones= $1.00. They do not sell them in any of their stores. I was surprised how expensive the stores and restaurants are.
We went to both casinos- they are very small and do not stay open 24 hours. The prostitutes are rampant in the casino & bars in town after 7 PM. The drinking age is 18 and prostitution is legal at age 18. They will approach you. I felt awkward being in a tavern- I was the ONLY married woman there.
The beds are very firm and so are the pillows- So not much good sleep for me. My husband slept well though. The airconditioner blows hard & cold. Nice balcony. We were on the 4th floor away from the pool and only heard loud music 1 night.
The town has really bad sidewalks, so watch your step-especially after dark. We never felt unsafe in town or on the hotel complex. There are many security guards.
There are many iguanas, stray dogs, and even a horse ran out in traffic one day. Do not rent a car or drive- The locals are crazy drivers ! Taxi in town is very cheap- or walk if in good health.
The staff works hard and they are very polite. The bartenders and front desk staff are the best with english. Security and maids not so much.
They ration room towels,3 a day- so use wisely. There is no coffee machine in the rooms- but coffee is available down stairs.
TV was upsetting for my husband and in-laws. Only 3 English speaking channels-all news. Sports is mainly soccer. Wifi worked most times. Phone calls to US are free but you have to dial 9 then 001 then area code and number. The check in card gave the wrong info. After my husband called the front desk 3 times- we finally got the right combo. Our phone and the inlaws clock had to be replaced- they were not working.
No flies, or mosquitos ! Maybe it was too hot for them. We took a rainforest tour with Adventure on a covered truck-Nice trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Lisa A,

We are glad to hear that you had an overall good stay and that you enjoyed our food. Sorry to hear about your mother in-law's heat stroke. We trust that it was temporary and that she recovered quickly.

About town, Jacó's growth has brought some "city problems" like the ones you mentioned; yet, the development has also brought a good selection of restaurants and shops that make it more exciting.

We hope you had a save return home and that you get a chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.