We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive that fits your needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All Inclusive that fits your needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I Spent 5 nights at the Best Western Jaco Beach the end of April.I have stayed there several times and they have made a lot of improvements over the last few years.They have returned to all inclusive and the food is really good and the drinks and snacks also.They have new lounge chairs for the pool and umbrellas for the beach.They were working on the internet while I was there but they let you use the internet in the office area.They should have the updated system by now.Myra and Johan at the front desk are real helpful also.The price is not that bad for all inclusive and I would recommend this hotel for family's,couple's or individuals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Marcus27106, thank you for your comments, we really appreciate that you took your time to write them and are very happy that your stay here was so pleasant.
As you mentioned before, we are undergoing major renovations to improve the accommodations and provide our guests with a great service experience.
We offer an all you can eat buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner with assorted choices of dishes, including typical dishes and desserts so our guests can taste our national culinary delights. Also, for those guests staying more than two nights, we offer our dinner a la carte right in front of the beach making it an unforgettable experience.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    96
    69
    46
    27
See reviews for
67
94
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was leary about booking here after reading all the reviews I could. We knew we wanted to go to Costa Rica, a friend of my husband suggested Jaco. There were 4 of us that went. My husband, his mother, his step-dad, & I.
We left Pensacola,FL, changed planes in Atlanta, and flew into San Jose. We took a taxi-$100.00 to Jaco, 1 hour and 25 mins. away. The check in was easy- the front desk efficient. Card door keys & pool towel cards are given at check in.
The room was just like the pictures. One queen bed, and one twin. Plastic chairs and a dresser. The in-laws had a microwave & small fridge in their room-we did not.
You have to rent the in-room wall safe for $3.00/day extra.
It was 95 degrees and very hot when we were there- My mother in law suffered heat stroke. Nausea,dizzy,hot, faint. Sylvia at the front desk-who speaks english well, sent them to her doctor's clinic. We were later told that the locals do not venture out from 11 Am-4 PM, only the tourist. The sun is just too intense.
Food was plentiful and very good- We were pleasantly surprised. The alcohol was also good and plentiful, but the only beer available is Imperial draft-very good. White or dry red wine only. Rum,vodka,gin,& scotch-all generic brand only. No premium liquors or any blended or bourbon whisky.
We paid $55.00-for a small bottle of Jack Daniels the guys had to have at a drug store in town. So- pack your own choice liquor-up to 5 liters in your checked bag- or shop at the airports duty free store first.
Pack a small solar calculator to convert their Colones to dollars. Very confusing 490 colones= $1.00. They do not sell them in any of their stores. I was surprised how expensive the stores and restaurants are.
We went to both casinos- they are very small and do not stay open 24 hours. The prostitutes are rampant in the casino & bars in town after 7 PM. The drinking age is 18 and prostitution is legal at age 18. They will approach you. I felt awkward being in a tavern- I was the ONLY married woman there.
The beds are very firm and so are the pillows- So not much good sleep for me. My husband slept well though. The airconditioner blows hard & cold. Nice balcony. We were on the 4th floor away from the pool and only heard loud music 1 night.
The town has really bad sidewalks, so watch your step-especially after dark. We never felt unsafe in town or on the hotel complex. There are many security guards.
There are many iguanas, stray dogs, and even a horse ran out in traffic one day. Do not rent a car or drive- The locals are crazy drivers ! Taxi in town is very cheap- or walk if in good health.
The staff works hard and they are very polite. The bartenders and front desk staff are the best with english. Security and maids not so much.
They ration room towels,3 a day- so use wisely. There is no coffee machine in the rooms- but coffee is available down stairs.
TV was upsetting for my husband and in-laws. Only 3 English speaking channels-all news. Sports is mainly soccer. Wifi worked most times. Phone calls to US are free but you have to dial 9 then 001 then area code and number. The check in card gave the wrong info. After my husband called the front desk 3 times- we finally got the right combo. Our phone and the inlaws clock had to be replaced- they were not working.
No flies, or mosquitos ! Maybe it was too hot for them. We took a rainforest tour with Adventure on a covered truck-Nice trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Lisa A,

We are glad to hear that you had an overall good stay and that you enjoyed our food. Sorry to hear about your mother in-law's heat stroke. We trust that it was temporary and that she recovered quickly.

About town, Jacó's growth has brought some "city problems" like the ones you mentioned; yet, the development has also brought a good selection of restaurants and shops that make it more exciting.

We hope you had a save return home and that you get a chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is beach front and all inclusive. This alone is a bonus and worthy of 5 stars. However, Best Western is not synonymous w/ luxury. The rooms here are bare bones w/ simple beds & baths & quite small. This is not a bad thing depending upon your expectations in Jaco. The rate was $90/pp a night which was the cheapest of our trip. $180 a night for 2 souls is a steal since the 3 meals per diem and drinks daily are spot on. But, the rooms leave much to be desired so your money is really directed towards the phenomenal buffet meals. There are numerous Ticos/locals that frequent this locale so this shows you how reasonable this spot is. :)

The grounds, location, pool & service are all top notch. Although, you won't get any exemplary service here if you're expecting 5 star service. The all inclusive meals will offest your otherwise expected adventures.

Jaco is a fun, yet suspect city among many adjacent locales. Drugs are evident here and prostitution is totally legal. Day and night, you'll see the hookers. The ladies are aggressive so if you bring the family and/or kids.....beware. This doesn't detract from the beautiful town of Jaco, but nights here near the Beatle Bar are all about prostitution. The expats are abound so keep this in mind while frequenting Jaco. The ladies outnumber the men 8 to 1. Yeah, it's that crazy in Jaco and rare except for the famous joint in San Jose.

Overall, great hotel in North Jaco that caters to Ticos and tourists alike. 5 star amenities, 3 star rooms, 4 star staff, 5 star location on the beach & 3 star location in Jaco (this town has prostitution & tourism written all over it, so plan accordingly.) :) You'll have fun at the Best Western regardless of your intentions in Jaco...sun, beach, pools, drinks, locals, hookers...take ur pick! It's all good stuff!

Room Tip: It matters not. You're on the beach and in Jaco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mazzahs, thank you very much for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy to hear that the Best Western Jacó Beach offered you a good value proposition and that you enjoyed our food, location, service, and grounds.

As you mentioned, our town has a few social issues; however, we are proud to share that we have a family-orientation and that, eventhough it is legal in Costa Rica, our hotel does not allow any form of prostitution.

We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Worse hotel ever, really.
The food is horrible: the dinner was really bad. We even didn't attend other meals.
The room: the bath is unclean with spots, the room smells of stale air..
Loud music until 1am at least staff was nice.
Don't come near this hotel ever. Look for better choices no matter what.
I would expect more from Best Western hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
German K, we are really sorry to hear that our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your satisfaction is a priority to us and guests' comments help us understand your needs and improve our offering everyday. We thank you very much for writing about your experience and apologize once again for not been able to deliver you the fun-filled vacation you deserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

When we first arrived I was pretty disappointed. I began thinking we would be booking somewhere for part of our stay, but the hotel grew on me. The staff is excellent. Hardworking, friendly, and helpful. I bumped into the manager and told him our bed was very uncomfortable. Unfortunately, his response was to agree and we all had a great laugh. They are all like that. He said maybe he can do something. I believe they replaced the bed with another one, but we're not sure.

Beach is nice. Strong waves, not a lot of people. It's not white sand, but that doesn't matter much. It would have been nice if they have put some umbrellas out for shade.

Food was decent. Much better than anything I've had in multiple trips to Cuba. When all else fails at lunch, they have hotdogs, burgers, fries, nachos, and wings by the pool bar. I never felt like food and drinks where unavailable.

Location is good. A short walk into the busy part of the strip, but far enough where you don't have excess noise.

The staff really was excellent, but with the beds the way they were, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Owner at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your message zjc2000! It is always good to hear that guests feel welcomed at our hotel. This motivates us and pushes us to do better everyday.
We are happy to tell you that we've recently bought new beach umbrellas which are located in front of the beach. They are inside the hotel grounds given that the local government doesn't allow us to place any furniture on the actual beach. Yet, from where they are you can get good shade, ocean breeze, and drinks from the bar to stay hydrated.
About our beds, we truly appreciate the comment. We'll make sure to evaluate the investment during our next budget season.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Costa Rica. Thanks again for choosing to stay at the Best Western Jacó Beach All Inclusive Resort and for sending us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is very clean though the rooms and grounds are definitely dated. I didn't eat there as the only option was the all inclusive, but there are a variety of restaurants nearby. Nothing to really complain about and nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for posting about your experience at our hotel, Donna S. We are glad to hear that our property's cleaning standards pleased you. We are aware that our property has its years and are happy to let you know that we've been planning a renovation that should be starting soon. We hope to have you back with us in the near future and that you enjoyed your time in Jacó Beach and Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I found everything okay at the resort, the only down side I found was with the kind of heat they have, one would think they would have umbrella,s around the pool area, of which there were none. The food was fine and it was easy to get around the resort. Near bye stores and restaurants, banks etc, outside the resort grounds, were all just a ten minute walk. Parts of the resort was a bit dated, but I didn,t find that to be a problem.

Room Tip: rooms 507, 509 and 511 give best views of the pool and beach area,s
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica, peter I! Thank you very much for spending your vacation with us and for letting us know about your time at the Best Western Jacó Beach All Inclusive Resort. We are happy to tell you that, in the following weeks, we should receive an order of beach umbrellas and pool chairs placed at the request of past guests like yourself. We plan to place most of the umbrellas near the beach so that you can enjoy the ocean, but there will also be some at the tables around the pool area.

We are pleased to hear that you found our food offerings adequate and that you got a chance to experience the town of Jacó. Finally, we are also happy to tell you that the hotel will be starting a renovation process shortly. Hopefully, we'll have you back with us soon, so that you can enjoy them. Once again, thank you for choosing us during your stay in Jacó, Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.