We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't come near this hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't come near this hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Worse hotel ever, really.
The food is horrible: the dinner was really bad. We even didn't attend other meals.
The room: the bath is unclean with spots, the room smells of stale air..
Loud music until 1am at least staff was nice.
Don't come near this hotel ever. Look for better choices no matter what.
I would expect more from Best Western hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
German K, we are really sorry to hear that our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your satisfaction is a priority to us and guests' comments help us understand your needs and improve our offering everyday. We thank you very much for writing about your experience and apologize once again for not been able to deliver you the fun-filled vacation you deserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    69
    46
    28
See reviews for
69
95
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

When we first arrived I was pretty disappointed. I began thinking we would be booking somewhere for part of our stay, but the hotel grew on me. The staff is excellent. Hardworking, friendly, and helpful. I bumped into the manager and told him our bed was very uncomfortable. Unfortunately, his response was to agree and we all had a great laugh. They are all like that. He said maybe he can do something. I believe they replaced the bed with another one, but we're not sure.

Beach is nice. Strong waves, not a lot of people. It's not white sand, but that doesn't matter much. It would have been nice if they have put some umbrellas out for shade.

Food was decent. Much better than anything I've had in multiple trips to Cuba. When all else fails at lunch, they have hotdogs, burgers, fries, nachos, and wings by the pool bar. I never felt like food and drinks where unavailable.

Location is good. A short walk into the busy part of the strip, but far enough where you don't have excess noise.

The staff really was excellent, but with the beds the way they were, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Owner at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your message zjc2000! It is always good to hear that guests feel welcomed at our hotel. This motivates us and pushes us to do better everyday.
We are happy to tell you that we've recently bought new beach umbrellas which are located in front of the beach. They are inside the hotel grounds given that the local government doesn't allow us to place any furniture on the actual beach. Yet, from where they are you can get good shade, ocean breeze, and drinks from the bar to stay hydrated.
About our beds, we truly appreciate the comment. We'll make sure to evaluate the investment during our next budget season.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Costa Rica. Thanks again for choosing to stay at the Best Western Jacó Beach All Inclusive Resort and for sending us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is very clean though the rooms and grounds are definitely dated. I didn't eat there as the only option was the all inclusive, but there are a variety of restaurants nearby. Nothing to really complain about and nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for posting about your experience at our hotel, Donna S. We are glad to hear that our property's cleaning standards pleased you. We are aware that our property has its years and are happy to let you know that we've been planning a renovation that should be starting soon. We hope to have you back with us in the near future and that you enjoyed your time in Jacó Beach and Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I found everything okay at the resort, the only down side I found was with the kind of heat they have, one would think they would have umbrella,s around the pool area, of which there were none. The food was fine and it was easy to get around the resort. Near bye stores and restaurants, banks etc, outside the resort grounds, were all just a ten minute walk. Parts of the resort was a bit dated, but I didn,t find that to be a problem.

Room Tip: rooms 507, 509 and 511 give best views of the pool and beach area,s
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica, peter I! Thank you very much for spending your vacation with us and for letting us know about your time at the Best Western Jacó Beach All Inclusive Resort. We are happy to tell you that, in the following weeks, we should receive an order of beach umbrellas and pool chairs placed at the request of past guests like yourself. We plan to place most of the umbrellas near the beach so that you can enjoy the ocean, but there will also be some at the tables around the pool area.

We are pleased to hear that you found our food offerings adequate and that you got a chance to experience the town of Jacó. Finally, we are also happy to tell you that the hotel will be starting a renovation process shortly. Hopefully, we'll have you back with us soon, so that you can enjoy them. Once again, thank you for choosing us during your stay in Jacó, Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had to stay in this hotel for work. It seems very old and in desperate need of a makeover. I can´t say it was dirty or that the service was bad, but the instalations are like walking into a 1970s bad movie. Flowered curtains, small and very hard beds and pillows. At dinner, the food was terrible, but breakfast was OK. Overall, I would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Karla61, we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like you to know that we should start working on our renovation plans soon. Next time you are in the area, please, stop by so that we can give you a tour of the property and try to make it up to you.

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had to be there at 13:30 to give back our rented car. very long explanations with the guy at the gate. Very long Time for checking in. Had to wait in the lobby for more than an hour. I understand that checking Time is 15:00, but We were told we had to pay 25$ just to be around while waiting. I refused, i had a paid reservation for the whole week. This was abusive! Food is basic. Only one restaurant, with depressing atmosphère, like an hospital cafeteria. No parasols in the swimming pool area or the beach. The town of Jaco is a tourist trap. The town is very very dirty. Don't go there during Costa rican school vacations. More kids than water in the swimming pool.

Clean room. Make sure to bee on the garden side if you want to sleep before 2AM. Very noisy.

Room Tip: Be sûre to be on the garden side. Swimming pool and bar area very noiisy, till 2 AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoMarta, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, Christian M. We would like to let you know that after a few reports on issues with our check in processes we've reviewed our procedures with our gate and front desk staff to try to improve and expedite it. So far, our guests have responded positively and we are really thankful for feedback like yours, which made us aware of the situation and allowed us to correct it. Since we are an all inclusive, we do have to charge an extra fee to guests who want to come in earlier, but this allows you to have lunch with us and start enjoying your unlimited food and beverage package.
In terms of our grounds, we are in the final planning stages of a renovation project that we hope will please our guests and make your stays with us a lot more enjoyable.
Once again, we regret that you had a poor experience with us and hope that you give us a second chance next time you are in the area. In the meantime, we'll be working hard so that you won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

over all I can say that this hotel was okay. it's in a good location. unfortunately, it lacks of good customer service mostly at the front desk. check in time is at 3 p.m. and they will not let you even park at the hotel before that time. however, they give you the option to park at 11 a.m. by paying 25 dollars.
this is a good hotel if you are planning to just spend time with your friends and just drink and eat like crazy. I would not recommend this place for a family vacation. that is if you do not live in Costa Rica.
the bright side of this hotel is that all alcoholic beverages are included in the price. the food is really good. the rooms are average and they will serve their purpose. however, they could use a little remodeling.
it is also located very close to bars and nightclubs but I do not recommend leaving the hotel. if you do, you do it under your on risk.
if you are a guy, single and if you are looking for company, you will find it very close but they will not let you back in with guests. even though that is bothersome, I think it's a good security policy.
in my personal opinion. I was born in Costa Rica and now I live in the USA.I would not come to this place with my wife or girlfriend. instead, I will look for 1 of the affordable condos located on the hills around the town.
I came to this hotel with my guy friends to drink and eat and worked out very well. other than that, I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.