We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice solid 3 star hotel with a warm pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice solid 3 star hotel with a warm pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed here with my two kids who are elementary school age. We had an enjoyable stay! The beach was quiet, though a few small rocks so little ones should wear swim shoes and stay close as this is surf area and it has waves. This beach has almost no sellers on it so we were not bothered and there were very few people, it was enjoyable. The pool was warm and big enough to handle groups but we saw hardly any people except on Saturday night. The breakfast was included and was just fine, eggs, pancakes, ceral, fruit and the like-just fine for us. The hotel was kept tidy and the front gate attendant was very careful who was let in. I felt secure enought here. I did get a bit of noise from some loud talking neighbors but I am sure my kids were loud at times too so the walls aren't super thick. We had an enjoyable stay and I recommend if you get a discount rate with breakfast for several night stay. We only ran into one snotty girl working here and we just avoided her. Otherwise they were mostly helpful guys and we didn't have an issue.

Room Tip: We were booked for a slightly larger room, they offered a "standard room with a view" inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    120
    86
    50
    30
See reviews for
88
116
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I travelled to Costa Rica with a school group and we stayed at this resort for 3 days. After only 3 days, the entire group was ready to hit our next location. The hotel itself was nice, and was kept clean and tidy. The pools were also well kept. The food was good, as were the bars. Overall, the hotel was worth the price. It was the beach we were disappointed in. The beach certainly wasn't one we were raving about, as it really wasn't anything special. In my personal opinion, I would not travel to Costa Rica for the beach, but rather the adventure. If you want a beach, you may want to investigate other areas. I will say that Jaco Beach is a great location for those travelling to party, with little time enjoying the beach and hotel. There was plenty of shops and bars within minutes from the hotel, so that can be considered a plus, depending on what you're looking for. Overall, it's great for a night or two, but after that I'd suggest checking into your next destination.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel itself was nice and clean and had a great location. The people running the hotel are wretched. The first night, there was no water in our room. No one so much as offered us bottled water for brushing teeth. The second morning the power went out - no AC, no water, no lights. Again no one helped us, and they laughed at us behind our backs in Spanish when i asked about a refund, because they didn't expect gringas to speak Spanish, I'm sure.

Overall, I'd never stay here again. And I'd never recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The room is a typical Best Western room. Not an extravigant room but clean, new towels and bed linen every day, ac works great, pleanty of hot water. Breakfast was simple with scrambled eggs, sausage, rice and beans, pancakes, red sauce, toast, and juice. It was all great. Great location: 5 min walk to the tourist section of Jaco. 3 min walk to Jaco Beach that is right up against the Best Western property. The Bar is nice. The staff is friendly and very fluent in English. The staff was even kind enough to cook the days catch from a local kyak fishing trip, it was good food. Luciano Segu is the tour director for the Gray Line Tour Company, he is awesome and will bend over backwards to help you in way possible.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have a much nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The property seemed clean and well kept for the 2 nights we stayed here. The rooms are very outdated, but if what you need is a good bed and a shower that works, this is a very good option for Jaco. The pool was clean. The happy hour was great! The free breakfast was not very good - perhaps I just went too late in the morning?? They had coffee, that's all I really needed to get my day going. The front desk staff seemed like they didn't want to be there, but the rest of the staff - housekeeping, bar and the young man that took our bags to the room were very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Pillows and bed EXTRA firm. Pool was nice. Beach is right there. Wifi available almost everywhere. Staff was friendly and spoke english. Breakfast buffet pretty bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We looked at numerous hotels in Jaco and found most to be very sleazy. The area has a certain amount of prostitution so be aware. We felt safest at The Best Western. The room we had though was very outdated. The key card stopped working numerous times, and had to be repaired. The property has all basic amenities. Be careful the floor is slippery and is wet most of the time with families and kids wet from the pool. Be aware on the weekend, the property is full of people from San Jose for the weekend who want to party, so there is loud music and a MC shouting into a microphone until 11.30 at night. The next morning it started at 9 or 9:30 so dont stay here if you want peace and quiet. The breakast buffet is nice, but once the MC starts yelling on the mic, it ruins any peace and quiet so have breakfast early if you want to have any peace. Overall, it was better than most hotels in Jaco but was not a peaceful place to stay, it is party central on the weekends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Ave, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.