We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Honeymoon hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Save Saved
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic Honeymoon hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Recently my daughter and son-in-law spent the end of their honeymoon in Costa Rica at Villa Caletas. They had made the arrangements in advance for their room and as a surprise to them my husband & I along with our other daughter decided to upgrade their room to the Master Suite and add some romantic touches as well. Everything was handled over the internet and the staff at Villa Caletas was most accomodating! Every email was answered quickly and all of our requests were met exactly. When the couple arrived they were escorted to what we were told a spectacular villa with a private infinity pool. Rose petals had been placed everywhere thoughout the villa (heart shape on bed, bath, floor)along with candles and tuxedo strawberries. A couples massage had also been arranged & reports from the newlyweds on that experience were over the top! We were thoroughly impressed and pleased with how everything turned out and having visited Villa Caletas ourselves would highly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone looking for a romantic, relaxing setting with a view to die for as an unforgettable destination. We all will be booking a stay with Villa Caletas in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 26, 2010
We are happy to know that you daughter and son- in- law had a wonderful experience, we have a great team of people used to working these details and we are glad our job is appreciated. Thats what is all about, to bring back home good memories from your trip so that you will want to come back again and again to this little piece of paradise.
Thank you for letting us know,
All the best for you!!!

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    120
    49
    44
    19
See reviews for
77
406
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed at Villa Caletas for 4 nights during our trip to Costa Rica and it was amazing. Our room was private and spaceous with the most amazing terrace with our own pool and incredible views. The food and service were excellent! This hotel doen't have as many "convenience" features but if you are looking for a romantic get away it is perfect!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Dear friends,

Greetings from Villa Caletas!!

We thank you for your kind words, definitely Villa Caletas is a private, romantic hotel that in no way compares to an all-inclusive resort. Villa Caletas is all about privacy, secludedness, and isolation in the good sense of the word, and its 100% a romantic getaway, with its own private beach visited only by hotel guests. In the right season, you even see humpback whales jumping out of the water right from our Caletas beach, where white sandy beaches are within walking distance from our Sanck Bar , where you can have a delicious lunch or just drink an ice cold beverage!
Warm greetings and hope to see you back in Villa Caletas!!

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Summary: horrible and crappy room, uber expensive food/drinks, isolated location, dangerous Jaco town, 2 miles to stony "beach"...in short not recommended vs many other hotels in Manuel Antonio

This review is based on stay in one of the rooms (#1), and not a separate villa at this hotel

Service: 4 stars. Service was impeccable. Everyone from concierge to restaurant to reception were so helpful and nice. But then I noticed that every single person me and my girlfriend came across during our 8 day trip were extremely nice, helpful, and spoke great English.

Property: 3 stars.
It's located on top of a mountain so has great views of the forest/trees and of the ocean at a distance.
One thing missing is a jacuzzi. They have a cheap plastic one that you find on the decks of houses or backyard. I would have expected better from a "boutique hotel".
Yoga: We attended yoga class one day, which was great. The instructor, Anna (??) was great, and the view/ambiance was very peaceful.
Pool: Infinity Pool is awesome for picture, not much for swimming as it is not heated. If the sun is not out as it is on many days and after sunset, the water is too cold to get in the pool. SO it's quite a waste.
Restaurant: 2 star: Super expensive, Drinks are $11 for pina colada or mojito. We paid $6 at our first hotel (Hotel Royal Corin, highly recommended). Sea Bass/Tilapia is $22. Chicken is $17-18. Food quality does not justify such high prices. Nor does the fact that other restaurants in the area charge much less for the same.
Location: 2 stars. Nestled up in the mountain, drive to Jaco town is 15mins. After dark, the town is dangerous as we were informed by the interbus driver and couple of hotel staff.

Room: 1 star. Worst part of the stay here is this. Hard beds, low water pressure in the shower, no counter space at the wash basin, old furniture, old tube 20" TV, noisy fridge (had to switch it off). We were so depressed to see this room. I let reception staff know about noisy fridge but they did not have it fixed/changed.

Not recommended. I think, others who have recommended it either stayed in separate villa and not a room in the main area (we were in room #1); or don't have benchmark of other better and equally priced properties; or "well wishers' of the French Owner..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Good morning!!!

We thank you very much for taking the time let us know what you did like and what you didnt like about your visit to Villa Caletas, we will work on your suggestions to try and improve our hotel and services. It is a shame that you didnt see any other rooms as no room is alike to each other, they are all different in size, decoration, view, location; we could have shown you another room more suitable to your needs.
We are glad to hear that you are happy with the service, we work very hard through out the year training our people constantly to give the best service possible.
The swimming pool is of the nicest things of the hotel,with its infinity edge that, sometimes during the day, becomes one with the horizon and Pacific Ocean, you cant tell which one is which. The weather here is so nice, in the 85´s + throughout the year, thus we cannot heat up the pool, you just have to jump in at once and then it will be fine, we are just 8 to 10 degrees far from the Equator, its the tropics!!!
Regarding the restaurant, our meals are prepared with the freshest ingredients available in the country, compared to smaller and simpler restaurantes in the area, as there are many in Jaco, we are a bit more expensive, yes, but the ambiance, the service, the quality, the presentation and the size of the portions is more than average. I would like to know if there was something in particular with the freshness and flavor of the food that should be changed or taken into account, as the prices compared to any other major hotels are similar and in some cases less expensive.
As per the town of Jaco, we are working together with other hotels, the local police and the Chamber of Tourism of Jaco, to make this a better place for its inhabitants as well as for the visitors. There is a great group of people working together to prevent and put to work all the people who is in social risk. The good things is that positive actions are being develop as I write this letter.
Please feel free to contact me with as many suggestions you may have, I will be happy to listen to all of them to make this little piece of heaven better for all.
Have a good day!!


manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Costa Rica for a late honeymoon. Villa Caletas was an amazing experience. The majestic views begin with your drive up the steep mountain to get to the front desk. Upon arrival, you are greeted with first class service. Our room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The view from our balcony was phenomenal. The private Jacuzzi on the balcony was the perfect touch. The view from the amphitheater is so picturesque that is seems surreal. However, I will agree with previous posts that the food at the hotel leaves a little to be desired, but it is not awful by any means. I suggest taking an early morning walk down the mountain to the private beach. It is a wonderful walk and we saw a lot of wildlife(including monkeys). Also, Caletas beach is prettier than Jaco and Herradura beach by far. In all honesty, I was not in love with the town of Jaco, but Villa Caletas was so phenomenal that it makes up for what the town lacks. All in all this trip was the honeymoon of our dreams. We truly enjoyed the Costa Rica and Villa Caletas. We hope to return in the future.

Side note***While in Jaco, Lemon Zest is a must. The food and service is great and consistent (we went twice).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear friends, greetings from sunny Villa Caletas!!

We are more than happy to know that you had a great time in Villa Caletas on your belated honmeymoon, thats what is all about!!

We are lucky to be in a mountain top with such a nice panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and the primary forest, where you can see whales, toucans, sloths, small wild cats, agoutis, coati mundis and a lot more animals. Villa Caletas is definitelly priviledged in the location, and we are happy to have developed the hotel in a way that we can share with almost anyone staying in one of our rooms.
We are always very grateful and open to any suggestions that can help us improve our service and quality of what we offer, please feel free to let us know what should we improve in our restauran ts so that you be 100% happy, we would like to know.
Thank you for taking the time to write about us, we really appreciate your feedback.
Have a wonderful day!!!
Your friends at Villa Caletas.

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

The experience of sitting at breakfast watching a pair of Scarlet Macaws fly around in the jungle below our mountain location, is one I will always associate with the Vila Caletas.

We stayed at the hotel for four days for my nephews wedding. The hotel is located on the top of a mountain overlooking jungle and ocean. The employees provided excellent service and were very friendly.

My wife attended the free yoga lessons with Anna and thoroughly enjoyed them. The shuttle to the private beach drives down the mountain and passes the hotel nursery. The nursery is worth a visit. When we were there the plants were attracting a lot of butterflies.

We stayed in a deluxe room which had a jungle and ocean view. We enjoyed waking up in the morning to the view. The only downside was the room was a bit musty smelling. But it is the rainy season so that my explain it. Opening the windows cleared it out.

The gardens are excellent and we saw many varieties of birds and animals. From our room we observed monkeys and had a Coati visitor to our balcony. (He was scared or us and ran away if he saw us.)

All in all an excellent place to stay in Jaco, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Dear friends,

It is always so nice to hear good experiences from people who visited our hotel!!! We thank you for letting us know.

We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Villa Caletas, including the Yoga lessons with Ana, she is great at yoga, massages, reiki and all other wellness activities.
The nursery is definitely worth a visit, that is the place where we reproduce plants, germinate seeds for our friends of the forest reforestation program, and where we have a collection of orchids, bromeliads, heliconias and all kinds of tropical plants.

Regarding the wildlife that can be seen, among other animals like toucans, anteaters, sloths, monkeys, white nose coatis and raccoons, not too long ago, we were having our weekly staff meeting at the Mirador Terrace while watching 7 Humpback whales, some with calves, jumping out of the water playing just outside our private Caletas beach for about 3 hours. Needless to say, an amazing show for us and all the tourists around.

We feel lucky working in this little piece of paradise and feel glad to share it with our clients!!
Best regards,

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Just the drive up to the villas is impressive, and that is just the beginning. Our room felt so private, almost like we were on our own at the hotel. Large, private patio with a hot tub that is cleaned every day. Sweeping views of the ocean and mountains. Gorgeous sunsets. We had monkeys and other creatures swinging from the trees just off our patio. Since we had rented a 4x4, we were able to drive down to the beach very early in the morning and had it all to ourselves. Food was delicious and everything was reasonably priced. One downside is that since is it such a beautiful place, many weddings are held there (3 out of the 5 days we were there) and they will close off either the dining room or bar area to accomodate the guests.

On another note, it is an eco-friendly hotel meaning that they don't use pesticides so be prepared to find bugs and spiders outside for sure, and ocassionally in your room. We had one incident with a very large spider but that was it. We decided not to bring food into the room to reduce the risk of seeing more insects.

Anyhow, as much as I hate spiders, I loved this place and would gladly return next time I am in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Dear Friends,

We thank you very much for letting us know about your nice experience in Villa Caletas. We are are a romantic spot in the middle of the jungle and yes, people come here to get married !! We apologize if for a wedding you couldnt experience one of our restaurants.
Villa Caletas beach is beauitiful, as it is very private, we are glad you had it all to yourselves, thats the idea, feeling privacy in a beaitul environment at the beach.

Vila Caletas participates in a program called Certificate for Sustainable Tourism, which encourages the use of natural pesticides, produced by our gardeners in our nursery, from organic waste, in order to protect our envirnment from the dangerous and harmful chemicals!
Again, thank you for your visit and for taking the time to let us know about your good experience!!!

Your friends form Villa Caletas,

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

my wife and I really enjoyed our stay; found a little cute Pizote (small furry puppy like creature) outside our back glass sliding patio door, he likes almonds! staff was very attentive and helpful; very nice cafe, dining room and bar with incredible views, up high off of a cliff. Tried to extend our stay but the place was booked up for the weekend so we ended up at the Los Suenos Marriot for a preplanned wedding which was, well, just like a Marriot but right on the beach, but we wished we were back at Villa Caletas.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Good afternoon, and thank you very much for your kind comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us that we are doing things good. Please let us know if you have any suggestions to help us improve the service, and believe me, we are very sorry to have been fully booked so that you could have stayed one more night. When in Costa Rica again please visit us and we will make sure there is a room waiting for you!!
Best regards,

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.