We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R&R” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“R&R”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

So my stay at this hotel was the 2nd phase of my trip to Costa Rica "the relaxing and reflecting stage" and I was able to do just that. The views are nothing like I've in a long time, the environment serene, and just an overall calm feeling in this place. I went for an 80 min deep tissue massage from a gentleman named Hugo and I must say it was one of the best massages I have ever had. The overall service is great, there is a gym, and a beach (which I hiked down to on the trail ask the front desk), I also went back up much harder :), the Infiniti pool is awesome, sunsets are amazing , but that's about it in this place and those are the PRO's.

The cons: there is only one restaurant you can order from and it comes out pretty pricey every time you order and if your looking for anything else to do on the premises there's not much happening.

Thank you

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    135
    54
    46
    20
See reviews for
91
469
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DeLand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a gorgeous hotel perched on top of a hill with a million dollar view of the ocean and mountains. An infinity pool that takes your breath away. We were upgraded to a villa with a hit tub on the veranda. A shuttle tasks you to the private beach complete with hammocks and lounge chairs. A wonderful place to relax and be pampered

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was fantastic. The best is the infinity swimmingpool with views to the ocean (we stayed there 3 days and it was always quite empty which made it even better). It's great to see the sunset from the amphitheatre or the small balcony in between the spa and the pool.
The private beach is not amazing but it's nice to visit it and there's a free shuttle service that takes you there.
The villas are very nice and also with great views.
You can have some cocktails and food by the swimmingpool, the service is great although a little bit slow. The people are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on our way to Manuel Antonio and wished that we could have stayed several more days. The whole place was wonderful the room was gorgeous with a perfect view and we loved the beach area.

We had dinner at the restaurant the night we arrived as it's maybe a 10 minute drive into Jaco to eat somewhere else. The food was average but again the view was spectacular. BE SURE TO CHECK EVERY ITEM ON YOUR BILL BEFORE YOU SIGN IT! When my boyfriend signed the check the night we had dinner he failed to notice the bottle of wine they charged us for that we didn't actually have so our $60 dinner turned out to be $140! The bill is in Centavos so it's harder to discern what the final charge is until you go to check out. When I questioned the bottle of wine the lady at the front desk whipped out the bill and basically said..well you signed it....I don't think this is the first time that this has happened. When I questioned her about it she went over the four items we actually had for dinner and didn't even mention the Malbec that had been tacked onto the bottom. Her only response was you signed the bill.

Of course we had to pay it because what recourse did we have. I just hate that this happened to totally sour this place for me as it was totally magical in every other way.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I can't stop day dreaming about my recent stay Villa Caletas. This hotel is absolute perfection. The Chateau Marmont in Hollywood used to be my favorite hotel, but now Villa Caletas is. It's stunning. Located on a cliff just north of Jaco, the property has a beautiful infinity pool that will afford you the best sunset views you may ever see.

The pool-side bartender was excellent. My fresh-squeezed margarita was a real treat after the artificial, bright green ones I had received elsewhere in CR. The staff is extraordinary. They are warm and professional and cheerfully attend to requests you may have. The bell boy who briefly assisted with our luggage during check-in greeted me by name the following morning.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and feel like a tropical paradise. On our visit, Scarlet Macaws flew over head and geckos darted around my delighted son's feet. We even saw a tarantula outside! (A grounds keeper quickly removed it.) This hotel feels exclusive and luxurious without feeling snobby or stuffy. It is elegantly designed in a French/Spanish style and has candle-lit lanterns in the rooms and at the doors.

You will feel pampered and relaxed at Villa Caletas.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place, enjoyed the place very much.
Highly recommended, private beach, good service.
The food is not great, but the view is spectacular.

the rooms are good, the infinity pool is very nice, and the fact that it is pretty isolated just added to the fun

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is less than 90 minutes from San Jose and less than 20 minutes from Jaco and less than 15 minutes from the beach and less than 15 minutes from a rain forest. And that's just the location.

The hotel itself is luxurious on the top of a mountain overlooking the countryside, rainforest and ocean. The rooms are very nice, the service is great, the good is great, the pool is great, etc.

Very peaceful and relaxing. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For couples looking to spend a little extra, please stay in one of the new Superior Junior Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.