We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People at VC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
New York, USA
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great People at VC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I could go on and on about the beauty of Villa Caletas, and all the wonderful amenities, but just assume those are all excellent, because they are. My favorite part of staying here, by far, was the incredible staff of Villa Caletas! Every single employee here was GENUINELY friendly and helpful, and I found it extremely refreshing. Unlike most Americans, I hate to obsequious service by hotel personnel or by anyone actually, but the staff at Villa Caletas immediately felt like friends, and I loved it. That's the main reason I'll go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your very warm words. Yours comments sound like silk to our ears !! We all feel very proud thanks to you and we all look forward to your next visit with us.
Have a wonderful day .. Pura Vida !!.. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    127
    52
    45
    19
See reviews for
84
436
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights, NJ
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at Villa Caletas at the recommendation of our travel planner at Costa Rica Expeditions. The hotel and property are so beautiful and our stay exceeded our expectations. We had a junior suite with a jacuzzi on the balcony, and a gorgeous view of the rainforest and the ocean beyond. The views from the restaurant, the beach and the infinity pool were beautiful as well. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. We're looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your very nice review. We all are glad to know that you had such a great time with us and will be looking forward to your next visit to the hotel. Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I decided to spend a little extra with this place since our other hotels were cheap. Let me start by saying it was absolutely beautiful!!!! The infinity pool has a view which is just amazing. We actually walked around the entire place. The drive in is beautiful, you're surrounded by plants and trees and statues. The food there is really good. We must've ate ceviche there two times a day. The rooms were nice, I love that everyone has a balcony even if you don't get it with a view they have plants and we actually saw this animal called a white nosed coati (look it up, but don't try to touch them. They're not afraid of humans. They won't bother you but you don't want to bother it). We had two single beds, the rooms were small but still very nice. The room service was great, they're always eager to help and there's always someone there. The only two cons I have is that there was no hot water the time we stayed. We only stayed three days which was towards the end of our trip bc we drove everywhere in Costa Rica. The second con is that it's kinda far from Jaco so the dab will cost you $20 one way which I thought was a little pricy. Other than that I can't remember anything else negative. We even saw a poisonous crab that roams around the halls lol

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. we are glad to know that you had such a great time with us !!. We look forward to your next trip to Costa Rica and to the Hotel. Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I went to the Zephyr palace in August 2013 and we still cannot stop talking about our magnificent experience!!! What a an absolutely beautiful and amazing place!! Gorgeous! The staff is by far the most genuine, caring and helpful group I have come across anywhere. The zephyr palace is a must! You have your own quiet , relaxing hot tub/sun deck, 7 room shared pool, magnificent staff and the VIEW! Everyone from the manager to the room keepers were so accommodating. We are planning a trip back to this gem soon, but this time we are bringing our children and family. We are excited to introduce them to our friends at Villa Caletas/Zephyr Palace!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your wonderful review !!. Even though this review belong to our sister hotel Zephyr Palace that share the same grounds as Villa Caletas, i will keep it here so some other travelers can find out all what Zephyr Palace - Villa Caletas has to offer. We are waiting for your and your friends back soon and enjoy beautiful Costa Rica and the hotel. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was fantasitc. The views are breath taking. We stayed in room 4. It was nice to be close to the pool, resturants, and spa. The room was large with a great balconey overlooking the ocean/bay. Highly recommend seeing the sunset from the ampatheather (or even the infinity pool). The private beach is good for just getting away and relaxing. Take a good book and relax with the sound of the ocean. They also have a hot tub down by the beach. The grounds are well kept and clean. The food was awesome. Recommend the huevos rancheros - awesome!.

Room Tip: They have rooms all over the mountain. Some do have a lot of stairs to get to them. They are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear friends, thank you so much for your very nice words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to took advantage of all the hotel as to offer, from the infinity pool to the magical sunsets. Have a great day, Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We just returned from a family wedding at Villa Caletas. I cannot begin to tell you how beautiful it was. The staff was especially warm and friendly and did everything they could to help make our stay memorable. We will definitely be back. The rooms are unique and offer breathtaking views of the Pacific. We enjoyed coffee each morning on our terrace listening to the sounds of the rain forest. We cannot say enough about this beautiful place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review. We take great pride, and especially our wedding coordinator, to be able to organize such great moments where all family and guests have the best time of a life time !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous resort! Attention to every detail! From arrival to departure the staff was very attentive. We visited the spa for one of the most luxurious massages. We wandered the beautiful property enjoying the toucans, hummingbirds and the stunning views. We made the best choice staying here for our 30th anniversary!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review !! Your title is the feeling we want each and every guests of the hotel to experiment once being at Villa Caletas. We look forward to your next trip to Costa Rica and Villa Caletas. Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.