We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My favorite place anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I went to the Zephyr palace in August 2013 and we still cannot stop talking about our magnificent experience!!! What a an absolutely beautiful and amazing place!! Gorgeous! The staff is by far the most genuine, caring and helpful group I have come across anywhere. The zephyr palace is a must! You have your own quiet , relaxing hot tub/sun deck, 7 room shared pool, magnificent staff and the VIEW! Everyone from the manager to the room keepers were so accommodating. We are planning a trip back to this gem soon, but this time we are bringing our children and family. We are excited to introduce them to our friends at Villa Caletas/Zephyr Palace!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your wonderful review !!. Even though this review belong to our sister hotel Zephyr Palace that share the same grounds as Villa Caletas, i will keep it here so some other travelers can find out all what Zephyr Palace - Villa Caletas has to offer. We are waiting for your and your friends back soon and enjoy beautiful Costa Rica and the hotel. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    123
    51
    45
    19
See reviews for
79
419
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was fantasitc. The views are breath taking. We stayed in room 4. It was nice to be close to the pool, resturants, and spa. The room was large with a great balconey overlooking the ocean/bay. Highly recommend seeing the sunset from the ampatheather (or even the infinity pool). The private beach is good for just getting away and relaxing. Take a good book and relax with the sound of the ocean. They also have a hot tub down by the beach. The grounds are well kept and clean. The food was awesome. Recommend the huevos rancheros - awesome!.

Room Tip: They have rooms all over the mountain. Some do have a lot of stairs to get to them. They are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear friends, thank you so much for your very nice words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to took advantage of all the hotel as to offer, from the infinity pool to the magical sunsets. Have a great day, Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We just returned from a family wedding at Villa Caletas. I cannot begin to tell you how beautiful it was. The staff was especially warm and friendly and did everything they could to help make our stay memorable. We will definitely be back. The rooms are unique and offer breathtaking views of the Pacific. We enjoyed coffee each morning on our terrace listening to the sounds of the rain forest. We cannot say enough about this beautiful place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review. We take great pride, and especially our wedding coordinator, to be able to organize such great moments where all family and guests have the best time of a life time !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous resort! Attention to every detail! From arrival to departure the staff was very attentive. We visited the spa for one of the most luxurious massages. We wandered the beautiful property enjoying the toucans, hummingbirds and the stunning views. We made the best choice staying here for our 30th anniversary!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review !! Your title is the feeling we want each and every guests of the hotel to experiment once being at Villa Caletas. We look forward to your next trip to Costa Rica and Villa Caletas. Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We just spent 5 nights here & absolutely adored the property + its location! Following our stay, we drove north to the Guanacaste region for 5 nights & spent the entire time wishing we could go back! Upon arrival, the rain was so thick we couldn't even see the road - so we weren't even sure where we were going which is a bit disorienting - it rained every day at some point...but, watching the lightning strikes & feeling the intense downpour after having such a drought back home in California?We absolutely loved it! Not only are you nestled at the mountaintop amidst intense, lush vegetation - you have the opportunity to experience Costa Rica for what it truly is. You can expect to see spiders, lizards, giant toads, tree frogs, geckos, coati, and even blue crabs at any given moment of the day! We were in Bungalo 12, which had a beautiful view of the bay - but anytime you wanted to leave the property or head to the restaurant- you were definitely drenched in humidity from all of the climbing up/down stairs - if you want to be closer to your vehicle - be sure to ask for a room near reception. We were told by guests that the rooms overlooking Jaco had resident Toucans they saw regularly! The staff was wonderful - the food was consistently divine & our only complaint would be that there is no way to enjoy the balcony or leave windows open to enjoy the night sounds of the jungle - we highly suggest the resort add screens to keep the bugs out + let the atmosphere in! It wasn't until our last day that we headed down to the hotel's beach area & it was absolutely delightful! Gorgeous view with sandy areas to dig in, pebbles to explore & a feeling of 'escape' - even saw a Monkey on the way! Our 6 yr old LOVED the entire experience. Jaco Beach is just about 15 mins away for tons of Tourist shopping or local eats & Manuel Antonio Park is about 2 hrs if you hit traffic. Carara National Park is 20 mins drive & a beautiful place to explore! If we ever find ourselves in Costa Rica again!? We will be booking at this Oasis in a heartbeat!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm review. I are very happy to know that you enjoyed your Villa and that your daughter had such a great time too. We are looking forward to your next trip to Costa Rica and a visit to Villa Caletas !!..Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have nothing negative to say about this place. First of all, the staff is beyond accommodating and nice! They catered to our every need. The grounds itself is so amazingly beautiful. The views are some of the nicest I've ever seen in my life. We scheduled all our adventures with the hotel once we got there and they were all wonderful. The food is impeccable and so are the rooms. I had a great massage there and the pool is breathtaking. The private rock beach was so nice. I didn't feel like their pictures did it justice. We went at low tide with our water shoes and walked all over the rocks that disappeared as soon as the tide came up. The beach has covered bed cabanas, a food bar and alcohol. look at my pictures to see the table they set up for us during lunch time. We went on the crocodile tour and the zip line tour. We loved the hotel so much, we didn't want to leave! I was skeptical to bring my 13 yo daughter because I heard it was such romantic place but she was well received and treated like a princess. I give this place a 10!

Room Tip: I think we had one of the best rooms. We had a master suite with it's own, very large, private i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your very nice review. As in your words, it is worth the ride up to the sky !!. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed 6 days in a junior suite for our honeymoon. I couldn't have asked for a better location. There's little better than relaxing in the hot tub on the balcony, while looking out on the Pacific Ocean, and listening to the sounds of nature. Upon entering the room we were greeted by a toucan in a tree. One night we saw a tree sloth in the tree off the balcony. We even experienced a thunderstorm from the hot tub on the balcony. It was amazing watching the storm roll in over the ocean, then seeing the mist rise off of the tree cover.

The sunsets from the infinity pool must be seen to be believed. Every night is a different show. The most striking was seeing a lightning storm beside the changing colors of the sun.

One thing to be prepared for is the cost of food and drinks at the otherwise excellent restaurant. We had lunch our first day there for $80 with two meals and two drinks. Expect to pay US prices. It is a resort, so you get what you pay for.

We hiked down to the private beach, which is another excellent feature of the resort. Be sure to find the waterfalls just off the path.

We loved Villa Caletas and are planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We are glad to know that we will part of these specials memories that you will keep of your honeymoon in Costa Rica !. We hope you will visit us again soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.