We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up, Up, Up, Up, and away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Save Saved
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Willingboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Up, Up, Up, Up, and away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

For our wedding, we decided to take a trip to Costa Rica. The (now) Mrs looked everywhere for a place that had JUST that view and feel that she wanted, and settled on Villa Caletas. Boy, was she right. Villa Caletas is AMAZING. First, when you turn onto their drive, prepare for an ascent into the heavens. Caletas is built, LITERALLY, on the top of a mountain. Their "driveway" is a mile long, if its an inch, almost straight up. Its scary because there is really nothing keeping you from tumbling down the side of mountain, except for some flower pots, and the view down is arresting. I've jumped out of a plane, but looking out and down on the world from Villa Caletas's driveway, even made me pause for a second to collect myself. Upon arriving at reception, the impressiveness continued. Caletas is carved right out of the rainforest; a swath of small villas intertwined with the jungle. There are only about 30 rooms at Villa Caletas, so it has a much more remote and intimate feel to it than, say, the Marriott. In short, I never felt like I was at a "hotel." Our reservation was for a junior suite, and after being given the KEYS, (like, actual, proper KEYS) to our gated walkway, front door and safe, we were off to our room. The room was small, but still somehow spacious, with a main room, separate bedroom, and bathroom. The crowning jewel was a totally private balcony overlooking the ocean, complete with table, hammock and jacuzzi. Beautiful. We dropped our bags and went to check out where the wedding would take place, and Villa Caletas has the rare distinction of being one of those places that looks EXACTLY like the pictures. Again, the view was amazing. (Its important to note that Villa Caletas is actually the lower tier of a dual resort. Their other location, Zephyr Palace is apparently WORLD CLASS.) Since this review is about the hotel, and not the wedding, I won't go too deep, but I'll just say that for anyone looking for a place to get married, you can't do much better than Villa Caletas. I can't really find the words to do the positives of Villa Caletas justice. There are passion fruit trees, raining fruit down as you walk the winding trails through the compound. The ground in front of you comes alive with each step, as geckos and brightly colored frogs scurry to avoid your step. Toucans and hawks dive in and out of view, darting from tree to tree. It is a visual masterpiece. The staff are frustratingly awesome. The waiters remembered our names. The maid saw (was not told or asked) that we had chargers plugged in, and some waiting to be plugged in, so she brought an extension cord on her next visit. When it rained, bellman walked around handing out umbrellas. The pool man, already weighted down with hoses and tubes and pool skimmers and bags of chemicals offered to carry my bags when he saw me walking with it. It was insane. We didn't have a single problem that the staff couldn't or didn't resolve QUICKLY and correctly.

Its not ALL gilded lillies though. Villa Caletas IS expensive. We had a Groupon, so that was the only way we could afford it. The meals at the restaurants on site were pricey (not TERRIBLY so) and the price for the wedding itself was astronomical. There are also many stairs, and a good deal of distance between most of the rooms. My brother stayed at the opposite end of Villa Caletas from us, and it WAS quite a trek to get to his room and back. I'm in excellent shape, but even I was out of breath by the time I got there. (full disclosure, you won't really mind the walk though, since the view through the forest is just so awesome.) If you ask me or the wife though, we'd tell you it was worth it. Both of us remarked, "but I don't want to leave Caletas!," when it came time to move down the street to the Marriott. If and when we make it back to Costa Rica, I'm definitely looking into Villa Caletas again.

Room Tip: I recommend the Junior Suites. Wifi in room, private balcony with hammock and jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to give the best to all our guests are we feel great that you had such a great time with us. We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy once again Villa Caletas and beautiful Costa Rica. Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    123
    51
    44
    19
See reviews for
79
413
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband surprised me with a trip for my birthday, and we stayed at the Villa Caletas for 4 nights. It was amazing. We went in June, which is the rainy season. It would rain sometimes at night, and maybe half an hour in the daytime. The weather didn't hold us up at all. The staff was great! So friendly and accommodating. We loved them. Since we went during their off season only one of the restaurants was open, but the food was pretty good too, and of course the coffee was amazing. There weren't a lot of people staying at the resort so it seemed very private, and our hotel room seemed very secluded. We had a view of the ocean and the rain forest with a Jacuzzi on the balcony. It was perfect and romantic. There are a lot of stairs, but we didn't mind. It wasn't a fault or set back. The infinity pool overlooking the ocean was just perfect. The spa was amazing. Seriously, we had one of the best massages ever. You will not be sorry. The only down side of the spa is that the walls seem pretty thin, so we can hear the children screaming and people talking outside. People did bring their children. although I don't know why. It really is a resort that is perfect for couples. It is relaxing and romantic. There weren't any onsite activities for the kids, so they basically seemed bored. All in all my husband and I absolutly loved this place and will not hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm review. Unwind in a Romantic place with dedicated staff is what we love our guests to feel. All our staff is happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you will visit us again soon. Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Villa Caletas for 2 nights. When researching this hotel I read many reviews about how many stairs there were to go from one area to another. My wife are in good shape so no problem. (so I thought) I hurt my leg while volunteer dog walking at a local dog shelter right before vacation. Upon checking in we were given room #205, 106 stairs each way to and from the room. (I counted them) This room was one of the farthest rooms out. I went to reception and asked if they had a room with less stairs. A short while later the manager of the hotel, Mr. Rodrigo Dias told me he had another room for us with no stairs. (#34) This room was a free upgrade and it had to be about 5 times the size of the original room. I can't even imagine how much this new room would have cost. It had a jacuzzi and a hot tub on the balcony. The room was up high with a view of the world! Thank you Mr. Diaz! Sometime during the first night our rental car was hit in the parking area. A broken tail light and scratched bumper, not to bad, but I had visions of being at the mercy of the rental car company. I told the hotel office staff and they told me not to worry they had non-stop video and would find out who did it. They spent a lot of time and energy reviewing the video and they gave me the man's name, plate #, and the tourism company he worked for. I thought it would end there, but no they got on the phone and talked with the rental car company. Next the contacted Jaco police for us. EVERYBODY in the office seemed genuinely concerned for us and spent a lot of time to do what they could to help us. They went above and beyond what we ever expected. Thank you! If you're going to stay here with a car, parking is tight, but we discovered there is another parking area just down the hill from the reception area. We stayed in 4 beautiful hotels during our 12 days in Cost Rica and this was the only one where breakfast was not included. I looked at the breakfast menu and it would have cost about $30.00 plus tax and tip for two people. So $35.00 + for breakfast? Maybe I'm a funny guy, but I'd rather give the money away to people who need it before I'd spent that much on breakfast for myself. This was my only negative with this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your comments. We all are glad to know that you had a great time with us and that our staff was able to assist you in solving these "pesky " moments that can happen during vacations. We look forward for your next visit to Costa Rica !!. Best regards. manager@villa caletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Me and my wife stayed in a Villa for 5 nights that we booked through Groupon. The interior of our room was not our favorite but we did not mind since it had a beautiful view of the ocean and we were always busy with activities anyway. The weather was excellent during our trip and we saw many great sunsets from the restaurant, pool, and the gym (it became our favorite spot during the evening to watch for toucans and macaws). The food and drinks were all delicious and the Caletas Breakfast was probably our favorite. Most of the time the hotel felt very private and we rarely saw any other people except for our last day or two. The swimming pool and private beach were so relaxing and we took one of our trips to the beach using the steep trail, which was quite an adventure. The wife was also happy with her spa experience and the concierge and all of the staff were very friendly. We definitely wouldn't mind coming back.

Room Tip: Our room (#28) was one of the further rooms from the main area and had a lot of steps. We only got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. Toucans and Macaws will be waiting for your next visit !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay in this quaint little hotel just 5 km away from Jaco Beach. We rented a car which I recommend to get to town and back. We had a junior suite with a personal jacuzzi overlooking a phenomenal view of the town and ocean. Great food, friendly service, and beautiful room. The concierge also got us hooked up with two amazing adventures where we were picked up and returned right to the reception. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone needing a perfect get away for two.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, Front Office Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your very nice comments, We strive to give the best service and make each and every stay magical. We hope you will visit us again soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My friend and I visited Villa Caletas with a Groupon. I do hope the Villa offers this again via Groupon. I would love to return. It is a wonderfully unique older establishment with 5 star service. We wanted a quiet place with scenery, good food and drink. We received so much more. We rented a car in San Jose which I would recommend; the drive is beautiful and having transportation gives you some flexibility to see the closest town, enjoy the local shopping, local restaurants and beach. The Zip Line tour was so much fun and quite reasonable! I would caution you not to take the Horseback Ride to the Falls unless you are in tip top shape. Thank goodness my guide, Jose, saved me with minimum effort! This truly is a quiet, serene, beautiful break away from the working world.

Room Tip: The rooms are scattered so if you have walking issues, please specify when booking! Rooms 35 and 36...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm review !! We love to be unique ! and will always try to give the best to each and every of our guests. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward for your next trip to Costa RIca !!. Pura Vida. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had sunset drinks and dinner at Caletas. I can't speak to this place as a hotel as we didn't stay there overnight but if you are in the Herradura/Jaco area I'd make sunset here a must do. The view is spectacular. I will note that if you are a nervous driver the ride up to the hotel is steep and winding.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your very nice words over our restaurant Anfiteatro !!. we are glad to know that you had a great time with us and hope that you will visit us again soon ans discover the Hotel as a whole resort !! Best resgards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.