We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Save Saved
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My friend and I visited Villa Caletas with a Groupon. I do hope the Villa offers this again via Groupon. I would love to return. It is a wonderfully unique older establishment with 5 star service. We wanted a quiet place with scenery, good food and drink. We received so much more. We rented a car in San Jose which I would recommend; the drive is beautiful and having transportation gives you some flexibility to see the closest town, enjoy the local shopping, local restaurants and beach. The Zip Line tour was so much fun and quite reasonable! I would caution you not to take the Horseback Ride to the Falls unless you are in tip top shape. Thank goodness my guide, Jose, saved me with minimum effort! This truly is a quiet, serene, beautiful break away from the working world.

Room Tip: The rooms are scattered so if you have walking issues, please specify when booking! Rooms 35 and 36...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm review !! We love to be unique ! and will always try to give the best to each and every of our guests. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward for your next trip to Costa RIca !!. Pura Vida. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    123
    51
    45
    19
See reviews for
79
415
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had sunset drinks and dinner at Caletas. I can't speak to this place as a hotel as we didn't stay there overnight but if you are in the Herradura/Jaco area I'd make sunset here a must do. The view is spectacular. I will note that if you are a nervous driver the ride up to the hotel is steep and winding.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your very nice words over our restaurant Anfiteatro !!. we are glad to know that you had a great time with us and hope that you will visit us again soon ans discover the Hotel as a whole resort !! Best resgards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our first time to Costa Rica. We stayed in a Junior Suite at Villa Caletas for four days. We absolutely loved it. The hotel is very unique, extremely private, with amazing views of the ocean. I can't say enough about the views from our room!!
The food at the restaurant was good but a little pricy. The private beach is beautiful and if you are feeling adventurous you can hike from the hotel to the private beach. My wife and I hiked down and back up. The way down wasn't to bad but hiking back up was brutal! It was challenging but we made it!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for you very nice comments. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your first stay in Costa Rica and that Villa Caletas was part of this success. We hope you will visit our beautiful country again and stay with us on another occasion. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I visited VC in June 2014 via a Groupon Deal. The views from our room (30) were amazing! Our room/bathroom were spacious. The staff/service were excellent. The food was great. The grounds were beautiful and relaxing. I will say that if you are someone who desires nightlife, does not enjoy nature, or has a physical disability, this may not be the hotel for you. VC does not use pesticides in an effort to maintain the natural ecology of the rainforest and the hotel is basically built into the side of a mountain which necessitates lots of stairs. Overall, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review !! It is true that Villa n°30 has an amazing view where nature lover and sunset seeker usually have a great time. We hope you will visit us again soon. Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Amazing room with exceptional views of the extensive coastline and the best sunset views in the country. The service is outstanding. The one exception is the incredibly disappointing spa. We went to the spa to book appointments, but the office was empty. We spent much of a day calling the office, trying to book appointments, but either nobody answered or the line was 'busy'. We went out of our way to book appointments but were never successful. It was terribly disappointing!! Nevertheless, the food here was outstanding. Room 16 can't possibly be beat. Will certainly come again, without expectations regarding the spa.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our new Master suite n°16 that was entirely redesigned and decorated. We are paying attention to your comments over the SPA and will try to find out what went wrong with them as this service is always praised by our guests. We are looking forward to your next visit to the hotel. Bets regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had a wonderful experience. The hotel was charming and peaceful. Staff very helpful and kind. And no complaints with food or drinks. Touring the grounds of the property and trail to the beach is a must do. Saw all types of wildlife. Overall, a fantastic experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed all what Villa Caletas has to offer. We are looking forward for your next trip to Costa Rica and to the hotel. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel could not have been any better. The staff was friendly, the grounds were beautiful, and the room was very spacious. We booked this hotel based off the reviews here on tripadvisor. The hotel is about 1hr and 20min from the San Jose airport so I arranged transportation through the hotel. I emailed them our flight itinerary and they picked us up right on time. We arrived around 1030pm on a Thursday night. I had read reviews that checkout could be interesting with lost reservations, but ours was not a problem. The staff was very quick in getting us settled. We had not planned anything before showing up at the hotel but knew that we would like to take some tours. The next morning we went down to the concierge desk and they could not have been more helpful. They booked us that day for a surf lesson and set up the rest of our tours for the length of our vacation. Must do activities: Watch the sunset in the amphitheater. Reserve a room with a balcony. It is worth the extra money. Reserve a surf lesson. Things to keep in mind when booking this hotel: There are lots of stairs to walk up and down when going to and from the rooms if you have bad knees or are unable to walk long distances ask for a room close to the hotel lobby. The beds are beautiful but harder then most in the states would probably like them to be. This hotel is not on the beach. They have their own private beach but it is pebbles and not sand. To get to it you must take the truck which makes the trip on the hour down and the half hour up from the beach. It's a fun ride through the rainforest down and the beach itself has an area for you to rent paddle boards, kayaks, and get drinks. If you want to go out and eat other then at the hotel you will need to get the hotel to call a car for you. It costs $20 each way to go into the main town of Jaco. I thought this was a great hotel and would recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your comprehensive report on "Paradise" !! We all are very happy to know that you has such a great time with us. We hope to see you soon back with us. Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.