We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 year Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Smyrna, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“10 year Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed every bit of our time at Villa Caletas. The staff are super nice, accommodating, and know English very well. The views, by far, are the most spectacular and breathtaking experiences you'll have in Costa Rica. The whole resort is built into the natural surroundings so you feel submerged into the ecosystem, so to say. Our very first morning we walked out to our balcony to see toucans and macaws in the trees. It was amazing!
The food and drinks are a bit pricey, but it's a resort and you're kind of stuck there unless you rent a car to drive outside of the resort to eat. However, our excursion into Jaco was not the best and made us appreciate the cleanliness and quality of the resort.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, even families. It was a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: If you want your own private balcony terrace with a view, book a villa. The rooms/junior suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your words. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us. We love to consider ourselves as "memories inducers" and it seems that you were able to go back home with a lot of great images from Costa Rica to share with others.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    125
    51
    45
    19
See reviews for
81
428
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I took a quick vacation to Costa Rica and wanted to stay somewhere close to San Jose so that we wouldn't have to spend much time driving. We have done a lot of the adventurous activities in Costa Rica so just wanted a place where we could relax. Villas Caletas was a perfect place for that. I was happily surprised with how secluded we felt even only being an hour away from San Jose. As my husband said "If there was a nuclear war we would have no idea because we were literally in the middle of the rain forest." The view from our balcony was amazing. Toucans flying by...It was beautiful. The room itself was very clean and nicely arranged so that, even though the room wasn't huge, it felt bigger than it was. The food at the hotel was great. The service was exceptional and the pool was beautiful. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. As in your words, toucans, macaws, and relaxation are just one hour away from San Jose!!. We hope that you will visit us again soon now that you know that secret. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We are not five star hotel travelers; however, we wanted to stay at Villa Caletas intrigued by the setting and some referrals from friends who are travelers like us. We stayed at this hotel for three nights in November 2013. It was worth it! This is an expensive hotel, but so are wonderful works of art. In a world of increasingly corporate hotel offerings, it is refreshing to come upon an individual's vision of a hotel experience.
The setting has to be walked to be fully appreciated since the hotel is located on and around a mountain with views that are beyond compare. The gardens are a magnificent extension of the hotel's beauty. The staff deserves special mention. They are attentive to their guests' individual needs. They are always available, but deeply respectful of one's privacy. They represent the pride of the place which they make successful and the friendliness Costa Rica is famous for. The staff is a well trained, generous and professional one. Villa Caletas is a place my husband and I are looking forward to visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms with views, and there are many, are all unique.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your very nice review. As you said, the hotel is indeed an Individual's vision. The owner has spend a lot of time to create such an extraordinary place and still does "infuse" his magic touches each and every day so the hotel stay that way.
We hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Villa Caletas in October 2013. The duration of our stay was 4 nights. We have stayed in a great number of different types of hotels, but the experience we had in Villa Caletas has exceeded our expectations 5 times. We stayed in villa # 11. The location of the hotel is more than amazing. All the outlets of the hotel are overlooking the ocean and the rainforest. The sunset there is one of the most beautoful things we have seen in our lives. The infinity pool is something outstanding. The service of all the employees was excellent- they were very helpful, kind, and were addressing us personally by name. We got everything what we requested. Room service was extremely fast with the order. We will strongly recommend the food in the amphitheater restaurant! The cleanliness of the rooms we will rate 9 out of 10! And last but not least- if you are looking for an increadible romantic vacation, I would honestly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We are so happy to know that you had such a great time with us. It seems that you were able to embrace every part that the hotel has to offer and have the perfect romantic vacation you were looking for. We hope to see you back with us. Have a great day, Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I must say that the pictures are far better than the hotel. Yes, it is a sustainable tourism hotel. Yes, the animals and arachnids are everywhere but no, it is not as great as advertised.

The hotel grounds are a literally two restaurants, infinity pool and gym area. The hotel will be quick to point out their "friends of the forest walk". No one has been on that path in months. The grass has not been bent or are there any signs of human presence. Those who wish to go on it, must be prepared to wear jeans and hiking boots. Green poison dart frogs, red tiger snakes and a puma was noted.

There is a manual with over 20 pages of rules and regulations of the hotel and the service is tepidly slow. Thank you for bringing a working mini fridge after three days of notes and phone calls.

Note! If you have no car, you will need to either fork $20 one way for taxi or eat at the hotel. My calculation for "normal" breakfast, lunch and dinner you will spend $400 on a couple. Mojitos are $16 each. Imperial beer $8. You will be CHARGED a fee for staying at the hotel even if you do not buy anything. $13 per day regardless what you paid when you booked it.

There are Giant Golden Orb spiders on the grounds and poison dart frogs everywhere. Judging by the size of the web no spiders were removed in months (as opposed to the statements of the hotel that they are removed).

This is a hotel for those who wish to look at a sunset or lounge by the pool. It is not for those suffering from arachnophobia.

And no, there is no ice tea waiting when you get to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear friend, thank you for your review even though it is very similar to the one posted just before yours.We assume that both of you know each other very well as you speak of the same very points, come from the same country and live in the same town. I will not copy and paste my answers to the last review and let you read it as you will find the answers to your comments.
Have a great day. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was very exited to stay at this property. Unfortunately, its not was I was expecting. The hotel's policy is ridiculous. They would charge you for everything..... If you bring your own food - they will charge a penalty. If you bring you bottle wine - they will charge you a fee. Also if you are terrified of bugs - DO NOT STAY THERE. the spiders are everywhere. I calculated 18 spiders near my room. I am not scared of bugs but I didn't feel comfortable. I understand that its a green hotel and they don't spray their property. But why they don't take them off. Every time you lift you head you will see a huge spider. It was so disgusting to stay at the hotel that I had to leave the property all the time. Thankfully I only stated there couple days and I was counting down hours.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for your review. To answer your concern, i will underline that the hotel is not a "All Included" resort, therefore guests have to pay for what they eat or drink at the restaurant. If a guests want to bring his own wine to our restaurant he is very welcome but will have (like in any restaurant around the world) to pay a small corkage fee. Guests are free to eat and drink what ever they want in their room. I may be wrong but i believe that is kind of a world standard.
Concerning the hotel and the jungle around us, we strive to be green as much as we can and as proof of that dedication we just received our fourth leaf (out of five possible) from the Costa Rican Governmental "CST" organization for sustainable tourism.
We do not believe that saving our planet is"Disgusting" but Mandatory !!.
Have a great day. Best regards. manager@villacaletas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a truly romantic hotel. The view from our villa was wonderful - we woke up to scarlet macaws having breakfast every morning. In fact, the best animals we saw on our visit to Costa Rica were on the hotel grounds: macaws, toucans, and even a monkey. At night, some of the frogs would hang out on our bedroom window. We rented a car to get into Jaco and do some other nearby sightseeing and that gave us the best of both worlds: the romance of Villa Caletas but also some flexibility to see the country. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you for your very nice review. As in your words, Villa Caletas offers the best of both world :one of the best place to see animals in the middle of the jungle, while being in one of the most romantic place in Costa Rica !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.