We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Villa Caletas in October 2013. The duration of our stay was 4 nights. We have stayed in a great number of different types of hotels, but the experience we had in Villa Caletas has exceeded our expectations 5 times. We stayed in villa # 11. The location of the hotel is more than amazing. All the outlets of the hotel are overlooking the ocean and the rainforest. The sunset there is one of the most beautoful things we have seen in our lives. The infinity pool is something outstanding. The service of all the employees was excellent- they were very helpful, kind, and were addressing us personally by name. We got everything what we requested. Room service was extremely fast with the order. We will strongly recommend the food in the amphitheater restaurant! The cleanliness of the rooms we will rate 9 out of 10! And last but not least- if you are looking for an increadible romantic vacation, I would honestly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We are so happy to know that you had such a great time with us. It seems that you were able to embrace every part that the hotel has to offer and have the perfect romantic vacation you were looking for. We hope to see you back with us. Have a great day, Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    151
    60
    47
    21
See reviews for
112
510
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I must say that the pictures are far better than the hotel. Yes, it is a sustainable tourism hotel. Yes, the animals and arachnids are everywhere but no, it is not as great as advertised.

The hotel grounds are a literally two restaurants, infinity pool and gym area. The hotel will be quick to point out their "friends of the forest walk". No one has been on that path in months. The grass has not been bent or are there any signs of human presence. Those who wish to go on it, must be prepared to wear jeans and hiking boots. Green poison dart frogs, red tiger snakes and a puma was noted.

There is a manual with over 20 pages of rules and regulations of the hotel and the service is tepidly slow. Thank you for bringing a working mini fridge after three days of notes and phone calls.

Note! If you have no car, you will need to either fork $20 one way for taxi or eat at the hotel. My calculation for "normal" breakfast, lunch and dinner you will spend $400 on a couple. Mojitos are $16 each. Imperial beer $8. You will be CHARGED a fee for staying at the hotel even if you do not buy anything. $13 per day regardless what you paid when you booked it.

There are Giant Golden Orb spiders on the grounds and poison dart frogs everywhere. Judging by the size of the web no spiders were removed in months (as opposed to the statements of the hotel that they are removed).

This is a hotel for those who wish to look at a sunset or lounge by the pool. It is not for those suffering from arachnophobia.

And no, there is no ice tea waiting when you get to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear friend, thank you for your review even though it is very similar to the one posted just before yours.We assume that both of you know each other very well as you speak of the same very points, come from the same country and live in the same town. I will not copy and paste my answers to the last review and let you read it as you will find the answers to your comments.
Have a great day. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was very exited to stay at this property. Unfortunately, its not was I was expecting. The hotel's policy is ridiculous. They would charge you for everything..... If you bring your own food - they will charge a penalty. If you bring you bottle wine - they will charge you a fee. Also if you are terrified of bugs - DO NOT STAY THERE. the spiders are everywhere. I calculated 18 spiders near my room. I am not scared of bugs but I didn't feel comfortable. I understand that its a green hotel and they don't spray their property. But why they don't take them off. Every time you lift you head you will see a huge spider. It was so disgusting to stay at the hotel that I had to leave the property all the time. Thankfully I only stated there couple days and I was counting down hours.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for your review. To answer your concern, i will underline that the hotel is not a "All Included" resort, therefore guests have to pay for what they eat or drink at the restaurant. If a guests want to bring his own wine to our restaurant he is very welcome but will have (like in any restaurant around the world) to pay a small corkage fee. Guests are free to eat and drink what ever they want in their room. I may be wrong but i believe that is kind of a world standard.
Concerning the hotel and the jungle around us, we strive to be green as much as we can and as proof of that dedication we just received our fourth leaf (out of five possible) from the Costa Rican Governmental "CST" organization for sustainable tourism.
We do not believe that saving our planet is"Disgusting" but Mandatory !!.
Have a great day. Best regards. manager@villacaletas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a truly romantic hotel. The view from our villa was wonderful - we woke up to scarlet macaws having breakfast every morning. In fact, the best animals we saw on our visit to Costa Rica were on the hotel grounds: macaws, toucans, and even a monkey. At night, some of the frogs would hang out on our bedroom window. We rented a car to get into Jaco and do some other nearby sightseeing and that gave us the best of both worlds: the romance of Villa Caletas but also some flexibility to see the country. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you for your very nice review. As in your words, Villa Caletas offers the best of both world :one of the best place to see animals in the middle of the jungle, while being in one of the most romantic place in Costa Rica !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

From the drive up the mountain to get to this place to seeing the view from our room, this place was awesome from top to bottom. Staff was very friendly and took good care of us. The view from our room was nothing short of spectacular. We had a junior suite. The views from the restaurant were also very awesome and the food at the restaurant was decent as well. We both went to the spa on our last day there but neither of us have ever been to get a massage before so we couldn't really say whether it was good or bad or even if it was a good value. It was relaxing for both of us so I guess we got what we asked for. This place is not like a cleared out space for a resort. The resort is built in to the jungle so you feel like you are really far away and in a very natural environment. During our stay we saw toucans flying around and there is even a little area labeled as "frog crossing". They are poison dart frogs though so I had to resist the urge to catch them. We were able to make it to Manuel Antonio within an hour or so, the Adventure Park canopy tour within another hour in the other direction and you could go into Jaco for food with a 15-20 minute drive. If we ever go back, I would absolutely stay here again. One thing to note is that there are some pretty big spiders all over the place, but they all just chill in their webs...they aren't running around attacking people or anything. Some people can't handle even being near them though.

Room Tip: We walked around the place to see where all the other rooms were. We stayed in a room right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear friends, thank you so much for such a nice review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to see so many inhabitants from the jungle right from the hotel. We do hope that indeed you will come back to experience the magic of Costa Rica once again !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. Everything was superb. The hotel is literally on a tip of a mountain. On your way up that mountain to get to the hotel you will begin to see the different bird species, the toucans, macaw, etc. You'll also begin to see the white face monkeys.

As soon as you arrive to the reception they greet you with a cold towel and some homemade ice tea. The hotel employees are very professional and attentive. Then, they show you around the hotel grounds and escort you to your room in a little golf cart. Your rooms are isolated and all rooms have an incredible view from all angles.

The pool and jacuzzi are the highlight of the hotel. The restaurant is also wonderful to sit and eat. The view is endless. Breakfast is the best time to truly appreciate it. The sound of all the different birds species is priceless. At times you will literally see clouds coming towards you. However, I will worn you, the restaurant is expensive. BTW, the food is not that great. Your paying for the view.

In conclusion, it is a beautiful hotel to just getaway and disconnect. You'll see most of Costa Ricas wildlife simply walking the hotel grounds. Nevertheless, my advice is to buy a couple of wine bottles in duty free the hotel will charge you $15 to uncork it but it's better than paying $10 per glass of cheap wine.

Also, whenever you can just go into the town to eat, do so. The food is very good and much, much cheaper than the hotel. One of their main dish in the "casado", which I highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us and that every moment spent with us will stay as a great souvenir in your mind. We hope to see back soon with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and stayed here for our honeymoon and we loved how we were secluded. Our view was amazing especially during sunrise and at night I could lay in bedand watch the lightning. We had some issues with bugs in the bed, i understand this is a rain forest so I ignored the matter. I loved having geckos in our room to eat the other bugs and listened to their chirps. It was truly amazing waking up to wild life right outside the door. This hotel does however have thieves. And while it was my own mistake for not remembering to lock my wallet in the safe, thus i will not point fingers, thats no exscuse for dishonesty.

We went on te explorer waterfall tour, amazing! Our guide Wil, was friendly nd showed us the towns near by and places. He is friendly, a good translator, and helped us when my husband had a nasty allergic reaction to the local food.

We also befriended a stray cat whom we fed. This sweet gray and white cat could not have been friendlier. We fed him with some food we bought on a grocery run in Jaco.

Our overall stay was wonderful and I would recommend this hotel to couples wanting a serene escape from reality. Just be mindful of your belongings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nevertheless we are very worry about that problem you are talking about. I went to speak with our front desk and none of them was aware about it. Would you be kind enough to contact me and explain to me in details what might have happened so we can open an internal inquiry.
We strive to give the best service and that of course include the well being and safety of all our guests. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.