We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

From the drive up the mountain to get to this place to seeing the view from our room, this place was awesome from top to bottom. Staff was very friendly and took good care of us. The view from our room was nothing short of spectacular. We had a junior suite. The views from the restaurant were also very awesome and the food at the restaurant was decent as well. We both went to the spa on our last day there but neither of us have ever been to get a massage before so we couldn't really say whether it was good or bad or even if it was a good value. It was relaxing for both of us so I guess we got what we asked for. This place is not like a cleared out space for a resort. The resort is built in to the jungle so you feel like you are really far away and in a very natural environment. During our stay we saw toucans flying around and there is even a little area labeled as "frog crossing". They are poison dart frogs though so I had to resist the urge to catch them. We were able to make it to Manuel Antonio within an hour or so, the Adventure Park canopy tour within another hour in the other direction and you could go into Jaco for food with a 15-20 minute drive. If we ever go back, I would absolutely stay here again. One thing to note is that there are some pretty big spiders all over the place, but they all just chill in their webs...they aren't running around attacking people or anything. Some people can't handle even being near them though.

Room Tip: We walked around the place to see where all the other rooms were. We stayed in a room right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear friends, thank you so much for such a nice review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to see so many inhabitants from the jungle right from the hotel. We do hope that indeed you will come back to experience the magic of Costa Rica once again !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    127
    52
    45
    19
See reviews for
84
436
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. Everything was superb. The hotel is literally on a tip of a mountain. On your way up that mountain to get to the hotel you will begin to see the different bird species, the toucans, macaw, etc. You'll also begin to see the white face monkeys.

As soon as you arrive to the reception they greet you with a cold towel and some homemade ice tea. The hotel employees are very professional and attentive. Then, they show you around the hotel grounds and escort you to your room in a little golf cart. Your rooms are isolated and all rooms have an incredible view from all angles.

The pool and jacuzzi are the highlight of the hotel. The restaurant is also wonderful to sit and eat. The view is endless. Breakfast is the best time to truly appreciate it. The sound of all the different birds species is priceless. At times you will literally see clouds coming towards you. However, I will worn you, the restaurant is expensive. BTW, the food is not that great. Your paying for the view.

In conclusion, it is a beautiful hotel to just getaway and disconnect. You'll see most of Costa Ricas wildlife simply walking the hotel grounds. Nevertheless, my advice is to buy a couple of wine bottles in duty free the hotel will charge you $15 to uncork it but it's better than paying $10 per glass of cheap wine.

Also, whenever you can just go into the town to eat, do so. The food is very good and much, much cheaper than the hotel. One of their main dish in the "casado", which I highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us and that every moment spent with us will stay as a great souvenir in your mind. We hope to see back soon with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and stayed here for our honeymoon and we loved how we were secluded. Our view was amazing especially during sunrise and at night I could lay in bedand watch the lightning. We had some issues with bugs in the bed, i understand this is a rain forest so I ignored the matter. I loved having geckos in our room to eat the other bugs and listened to their chirps. It was truly amazing waking up to wild life right outside the door. This hotel does however have thieves. And while it was my own mistake for not remembering to lock my wallet in the safe, thus i will not point fingers, thats no exscuse for dishonesty.

We went on te explorer waterfall tour, amazing! Our guide Wil, was friendly nd showed us the towns near by and places. He is friendly, a good translator, and helped us when my husband had a nasty allergic reaction to the local food.

We also befriended a stray cat whom we fed. This sweet gray and white cat could not have been friendlier. We fed him with some food we bought on a grocery run in Jaco.

Our overall stay was wonderful and I would recommend this hotel to couples wanting a serene escape from reality. Just be mindful of your belongings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nevertheless we are very worry about that problem you are talking about. I went to speak with our front desk and none of them was aware about it. Would you be kind enough to contact me and explain to me in details what might have happened so we can open an internal inquiry.
We strive to give the best service and that of course include the well being and safety of all our guests. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wife and I were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite. Huge room with a fantastic view. Flowers and 'towel animals' greeted us each day. Private jacuzzi on the balcony was perfect after long days of hiking/walking. Infinity pool was a great temp to cool down in after a hot day. Saw monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds.

I really liked Villa Caletas. It took a while to get to, as it is up on top of a large ridge. This is good for a number of reasons. 1) Privacy. 2) Great views. 3) Privacy. This did not have a 'hotel' feel ... the 6 Junior suites are in their own building with key card access, and only 2 rooms each 'floor'. We were on top top floor and it was great. We walked around the grounds and it is very spacious with rooms spread out all over the property. If you like privacy, you'll like Villa Caletas.

The service at Villa Caletas was excellent. We had informed them ahead of time that my wife has severe shellfish and egg allergies. The staff in the restaurant proactively asked us about it when we sat down for dinner, and again at breakfast each morning, confirming that the dishes would be safe for her to eat. The concierge service was great too - we booked a day tour to Manuel Antionio and it worked out very well. I had shopped around in Jaco the day before and the price we paid through the hotel ($89/pp) was competitive with the in-town tour operators ($~80/pp) and we received lunch at a restaurant after the trip (rather than a 'boxed' lunch). Carlos our guide did a great job.

The only 'negative' about the hotel is the flipside to the privacy. It is a $20 taxi ride (each way) into Jaco, so plan your day accordingly if you don't have you're own transportation. The Breakfasts were very well prepared, the dinner was good but be prepared to pay resort prices. The "beach" is not a sandy beach where you can swim, but a nice spot to lay out, take some pictures, and have a drink or two. They have a complete beach setup wtih charis, staff, food, etc. We opted to hike down the trail and take the shuttle back up. It was a fun hike down, we took our time and spent ~1.5 hours taking pictures and looking at the plants and birds.

I highly recommend Villa Caletas and would absolutely stay there again if we return to the Jaco area. Fred and the staff did a wonderful job, they were very attentive and prompt to respond to any request. Great job, and thank you for helping make our stay memorable!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor Junior Suite .... just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your very nice words. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time during your honeymoon !! As you said our Junior Suite Superior offers a lot of privacy and spectacular views. We hope to see you back with us soon. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having traveled to many luxury resorts over the past few years, I am please to say that Villa Caletas ranks as one of our favorites. The service was above our expectation and we were treated fantastically. We had Room #16 which was a bit of a hike to the main resort area but it definitely offered the privacy that we wished for. There were many local restaurants that offered excellent meals nearby for those that wish to venture off of the resort. We had planned to use the spa during our stay but actually ended up using it a number of times due to the excellent service and the good nature of the staff. Definitely a 'recommend'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear friends, thank you very much for your nice review. We all feel very proud of being recommended by travelers like you and will continue to give the best we can so future guests can feel that special touch, the same way you did. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was the most majestic, interesting, and well run hotel right on the Pacific in the rainforest mountainside. Incredible accommodations, location, food, and staff. Truly unique grounds and architecture. Loved the junior suite with private Jacuzzi. Highly recommend it and can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Junior suite was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your very nice review !!. We strive to give the best we can to each and every guests so they can travel back with great memories !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the absolute epitome of a great Costa Rican vacation. Wow. We stayed 5 nights in a villa and had fantastic service the entire time. Breakfast was delicious (breakfast staff was always friendly and happy) drinks were amazing...activities we set-up via the concierge were seamless...the private beach service was more than we expected (Daniel was EXCELLENT)...sunset drinks and dinner in the anfiteatro restaurant was really romantic...yoga on Sat & Sun was a good hard workout...I didn't want to come home!!! We had a car and had no problems driving around to nearby beaches and towns. Everyone local was super friendly and many spoke English. I am fully bilingual/Latina but my husband is not so that part was nice. It only rained most of the day one of the days that we were there even though we came off-season in Sept. We loved the secluded feeling of Villa Caletas and it never felt crowded there at all. We went to a local surf competition and also did things like atv'ing, ziplining, horseback riding on a beach, hiking, geocaching, etc. We ate local food and loved it. Thank you for the excellent service---we would recommend this hotel to others and would come again!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Friends, Pura Vida indeed !!. Thank you for your warm review. It seems that you have enjoyed Costa Rica in the most perfect way, and we are glad to know that we were part of that experience. We hope to see you back with us soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.