We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views in every direction!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Save Saved
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views in every direction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel with incredible views all around. We stayed in a villa near Zephyr Palace, so we were a bit tucked away and had to call the cart to pick us up to go back to the main hotel when it was raining. The staff was very attentive and friendly, and some even knew us by name when picking us up. Not only did we see toucans and scarlet macaws in the morning from our room, but one afternoon we even spotted whales in the ocean below us. I just wish the weather cooperated - we were unable to take in one of their incredible sunset views!

My only complaint is about the food- if you are without a car, then you are limited to eat at the hotel or take a $40 round trip taxi into town. The food at the hotel is great, but I just wish there were some more "local" options. It's mainly French/American food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear friends, thank you very much for your very nice review, We are glad to know that you could enjoyed all the views the hotel has to offer. From the restaurant to the pool and your room, there always something amazing to look at, being the Jungle, the wild life, the Pacific ocean, the sunset. We hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    121
    50
    44
    19
See reviews for
78
407
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you want the perfect Romantic Getaway, you must go to this Hotel... It has one of the most amazing views in Costa Rica and the hotel is just perfect! Different, lovely, unforgettable experience and much more... The staff is very friendly and the Hotel is spectacular! If your looking for something different, this is it... I will definitely go back for at least 2 nights, because 1 night is not enough. Also, the food is great with a spectacular view, and if someday I am heading to Manuel Antonio for example, I will definitely make a stop over to have breakfast, lunch or dinner if it's not possible for somehow to sleep over. I work in Tourism in Costa Rica and this has been my favorite hotel in the country so far!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear friend, thank you for your warm review. We are happy to know that you consider us as one of the best Romantic Getaway is the country !!. We do hope to see you back soon with us.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Villa Caletas is a great romantic getaway on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica! Our villa featured a jetted tub over looking our deck and the beautiful view of the rain Forrest. Beyond that was a spectacular ocean view! While having coffee on our deck in the morning we ordered a room service breakfast and watched the Toucans sitting above us in a tree. Right red Macaws flew above the canopy one afternoon as well! The restaraunt on site had wonderful service, and great sea food. The property also has an infinity pool, outdoor theatre, private beach, and a spa. We enjoyed a couples massage immediately after arriving! the staff is always there to meet your needs,but we also felt our privacy was a top priority. Near by is the cute town of Jaco with fun shopping and restaraunts. We also went on a crocodile boat tour, and a ranger led rain forrest hike. Didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Villa Caletas has private villas with oversized king beds or hotel rooms with canopy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. We are very to know that you had such a great time with us. As in your words " the staff is always there to meet your needs,but privacy is a top priority ". That is exactly the experience we want our guests to have !! We hope you will visit us soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a strange trip to Cost Rica this time. Due to some issues, we were not able to finish our trip. More about that later.

This is a great hotel. We stayed in the Zephyr Palace and had room logistics issues. Randall one of the top bellman I have ever met was able to move us without any hassles and our short stay was terrific. Everything was great, service, room, food, pool, everything.

Then when we had to leave due to a surprize, Frederic the manager did his best to accomadate us.

I cannot tell you how well we were treated.

This is a must stay property in Costa Rica

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your words. We will be waiting for you on your trip to Costa Rica !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review as I lay awake in this odd and uncomfortable hotel room. We were going to originally stay 3 nights but are leaving in the morning for the following reasons.
1) the rooms are damp, I understand, we live in costa Rica! There are things you can do to fix this.
2) terrible beds. And cheap bedding! 5 star by no means.
3) small rooms and bathroom as well they are poorly decorated
4) it's a little out of the way..I understand the view is great but it's still very out of the way
5) poor sleep. Both nights these big nut things fell on the roof, scary!
6) restaurant was alright.. Service was great but the food is hotel quality not restaurant quality.
7) this is the main reason I wanted to leave.. Prostitution, during dinner a couple men showed up with 2 women who clearly were working girls. Dressed so provocative it was disgusting. As a 5 star like they advertise this along brings down the hotel to a all time low.
8) spiders every where! Yes I know what kind they are and they are not super poisonous but they are disgusting and yes they can bite! The golden orb spiders were everywhere and left us feeling uncomfortable every time we looked up. I get saving the world and everything, but this is crazy
9) sad beach smelled gross.

The hotel itself is very run down. Needs a good clean the gardens are very over grown. They advertise a beach, but I would not be advertising a beach that looked like that.
I would not stay at this hotel again we have stayed at many actual 5 star resorts and this is far from any of them. I would give this hotel a 3.5 star mainly for the view and service that's it.
Won't be back and won't recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear friend, Thank you for your review. We obviously feel sad that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to find out if everything is fine with our guests during their stay and it seems we were not able to catch your discomfort. I really would have been happy to share your views if you have reach out and try to find solutions. On a last note and speaking of spiders, as you know the hotel is very involved in sustainable Tourism and part of the CST program. We actually just received our Fourth 's Leaf (out of five possible) and are working hard so the hotel can run in perfect harmony with natural surroundings. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The villas are spacious. Breathtaking vistas. Watching the sunset while swimming in the infinity pool was surreal. The service is prompt and staff
very personable yet professional. The food prices are a bit high. A lot of stairs and steep and slippery alleys (when it is raining/wet) can be tricky for some people. Overall, it is a gorgeous hotel. I'd definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you so much for your kind words, We are very happy to know that you had sucha great time with us. We hope to see you back soon with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

my daughter got married here in august,she got married in the terrace room, it was perfect, the registrar was brilliant and really made the ceremony special, we had an off the cuff lunch as we were booked in for dinner later that night,the food was perfect as was the service.
we had a pre booked dinner that evening and i would defy you to eat better food anywhere in the world, it was just perfect from start to finish.
in summery, the staff were brilliant the wine was great and the food exceptional.
i would recommend this hotel to any one

Room Tip: room 10 is one of the bridal suites, its gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm words. We do try to give the best we can in any occasion and make magical moment stay for ever in everybody's mind. All our staff is proud to know that your Wedding ceremony was a success and that all your family went back home full of great memories to share ! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;