We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dream honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Words can't describe how wonderful our time was at Villa Caletas. We were there during the rainy season in August, but you could nearly bet on the rain starting at the same time every day (2pm). When we were driving up the road to the grounds for the first time, it felt magical--it was very misty after a rain, a rainbow was visible, and you could see the breathtaking view of the ocean below. I was hesitant to book during the rainy season but I'm glad we did. It felt that much more enchanted, and there were no crowds anywhere. We were still able to do outdoor activities in the morning and early afternoon each day. A few evenings, we were blessed with spectacular sunsets as the rain subsided. The pool was lovely (and definitely free), never crowded.

The staff were genuinely friendly and wanted us to have the best experience possible. We stayed in a junior suite with an ocean view and each morning as the sun was rising, I felt like I couldn't get out of bed fast enough to sit on the balcony to see what beautiful wildlife we could watch. Our first morning, we were visited by toucans, macaws, and my eyes were drawn to exotic spiders that were stationary in webs going down the cliffs. We were in their territory, and I am so appreciative of how Villa Caletas respects that-so many resorts would scrape away anything that would be unpleasant to some, but it made it that much more authentic to us.

The location was wonderful-we were able to make day trips to Manuel Antonio National Park, and to Uvita to enjoy whale watching (which we saw amazing amounts of whales!).

In short, our stay here was like something out of a dream and we cannot wait to be able to return. Just magical.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for you warm words. We are so pleased to know that you had such a great time with us. We hope you will visit us again soon and share the "Magic" of Villa Caletas. Manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    151
    60
    47
    21
See reviews for
112
510
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited Costa Rica last year for our anniversary and booked Villa Caletas. This hotel is charming, romantic and very stylish! The staff was great and the accommodations were clean -- we had a suite with a jacuzzin on the balcony. Here's a tip: The villas are spread out and you cannot drive directly to your villa. Parking is minimal and you'll have to walk to your villa which includes a few small hills. The entrance from the main street is very narrow and dark (at night). Be careful if you're driving, but once you make your way up the hill - the view is AMAZING! I would definitely stay here again and next time I want to swim in that infinity pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice review. we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we definitively will be waiting for you for your next visit !. Manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just visited Villa Caletas last week for three nights. We have come to realize that this hotel was rated highly not because of its greatness, but because of the lack of nicer options in the Jaco area. Jaco is a very popular surf town, so there are a lot of hotels that accommodate surfers and not necessarily people looking for a relaxing vacation. This is not a hotel that we would return to.

Pros:
--The views (particularly the Zephyr Palace, the pool, and the restaurant) are fantastic. The hotel is located at the top of a mountain, so it overlooks the gulf of nicoya wonderfully
--The pool area is great. There is a good feeling of privacy and the infinity pool offers great views of the gulf.
--The food is very good. There are plenty of options for all meals and the presentation and taste of the food compliment each other well.
--The grounds are very European in feel. One of the owners is from Southern France, so he has designed the property to resemble that.
--Every room is very private and you really feel like you are the only room on the property.
--The people at the spa were very friendly, the service was great, and the spa prices we reasonable.

Cons
--The rooms have mostly outdated furniture and musty smells. Some of that has to do with the humidity that comes from Central America weather, but other resorts in Costa Rica have figured out how to solve this problem. For the amount you are paying for this room, it really doesn't do it justice.
--The service was fine, but not anything we found elsewhere in Costa Rica. It gave us a feel of being on any island in the Caribbean. I know that this country prides itself on being very friendly and accommodating, and we didn't find that here at this hotel.
--We came during the slow season, and I'm not sure how private this hotel would feel during the busy season, especially around the pool and trying to get down to the beach. The van that takes people down to beach fits 12 people at most and takes 40 min per round trip. Not very conducive to help lots of people get to and from the beach.

Overall, there weren't a lots of pros and cons to this property, just a lot of average stuff that didn't reflect the prices we were paying. Nice, but just average.

One other note, it costs $20 each way and takes about 20 min to get to the town of Jaco from the hotel. Something to factor into your stay as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear friend, thank you very much for your review, we are glad to know that you loved the hotel grounds, the swimming pool, our beach, the restaurant and the food. We feel sorry that you did not like you room. We try hard to please all of our guest and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Have a great day. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The setting is very beautiful and the views are spectacular. Very nice for relaxation and peace. However, the rooms are nothing out of the ordinary (I stayed at a "deluxe" room). The shower does not really correspond to a 4 star hotel. It seems that it was bought at a bad hardware store in the 80's. In addition, for a "deluxe" room you would expect a king size bed and not the queen size that made us feel very cramped. The restaurant also has spectacular views, but the food is not really that good and it is overpriced.

The service is very good and the employees really work hard to make feel welcomed, but after a couple of days you get a little bored because there is nothing much to do at the hotel.

So, this hotel is worth it if you can get one of the special offers, that includes breakfast and two nights for the price of one, but paying full price is a little too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you very much for tour review. We have paid closse attention to your comments and will check out what could have gone wrong with the shower head in your room. I would like to underline that even though it is true that Villa Caletas is known to be a very romantic and secluded hotel, our Concierge offers a wide range of activities around the hotel, most of them 15 mins away from our gates. We do hope that you will visit us again !. Have a great day. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Let's get it straight: the location of this place is fantastic. But does that mean it's a great hotel? Far from it. You pay for your room but nothing, and I mean nothing, is included. Fair enough if they told you about it. But they don't. They name breakfast. Ok, you pay extra for it. But, they go so far as to charge you for the swimming pool! This is the only place I have ever been to where you are -as a guest- charged extra to use the hotel facilities. I had to pay 70 dollars extra to use the pool. Furthermore, management is lousy. We had no hot water in our room and asked for that to be fixed. Well... We ended up having no water whatsover -hot or cold. I understand technical problems arise. But for 3 hours in the morning nobody offered a solution. How did management handle it? By doing and saying nothing, except charging extra for the pool! I have worked in this business for over 10 years. This hotel has a lot to learn. And it's manager, a Frenchman by the name of Frederic, even more so.
My advice is: go and have dinner there, or a massage, or enjoy the pool, but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear writer, (as i refuse to say Friends to reviewers like that ). Your very wierd story of being charge $ 70.00 for the use of the swimming pool is very nice but obviously and thanksfuly nobody will beleive it. Villa Caletas has a world known infinity pool looking over the Pacific Ocean, that is true, the use of the swimming pool, lounge chair, Jacuzzi and the View are free for all our guests. We still glitter and we truly hope that we give gold to all of our guests !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Truly romantic hotel with the best views in the area. The hotel reminds me of an Italian retreat that has been swallowed by the jungle. The infinity pool is gorgeous and appears to meet the sky. Great service, they make you feel special. Highly recommend for romance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm words. It is allways great to know that all our efforts have as a result the fact that our guests feel special. We do hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We wanted to spend our 40th Wedding Anniversary at a memorable place, where we could relax and enjoy good service and food. Villa Caletas was that and much, much more. Our own suite was exptremely private, which we had never had before. Beautiful view, wild birds, hot tub, and very speical towel animals on our bed every night made by our room service.

The food was excellent, the beach, pool and spa soothing, the people always helpful and kind. We recommend this as the place to go for peace and relaxation. Thank you Villa Caletas!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite - it was fabulous for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your words, We so happy to know that we participated in your dream wedding Anniversary. Moments like are for ever and we are proud to be part of them.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.