We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, spectacular services, but the beach could be better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, spectacular services, but the beach could be better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I actually had the good fortune of meeting one of the owners during my stay and was absolutely delighted by his friendliness and light hearted attitude.

He explained that the beach was actually washed away by a hurricane many years ago and was slowly comin back naturally. During High Tides the beach was spectacular.

Tons of wildlife on the grounds, great service and just a generally positive ambiance. I will certainly revisit for many years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you very very much for your review. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    127
    52
    45
    19
See reviews for
84
436
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was truly amazing. Villa Caletas was our final stop in Costa Rica. After spending time in larger more congested resorts, it was refreshing to have a quiet moment in a place so serene that words cannot describe. The property is beautiful and very well kept. The service and staff were exceptional. We stayed in a Villa with an ocean view. Just breathtaking! Sunsets in the evening in the amphitheater overlooking the Pacific is not to be missed. It was all just perfect. Every detail attended to. Even the music throughout the property was amazing. I would love to have a playlist to remind me of this wonderful experience. If you have health concerns you may want to make mention of that because the property is well spread out and there are a lot of stairs depending on where you stay. I got a good workout every day going up and down stairs but I enjoyed that too.
My only regret, I did not stay here longer

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very very much for your review. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we do hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I visited for a friend's wedding. Upon arrival to the airport the couple had arranged for shuttle services to the resort and sent us detailed information about who was expected on each shuttle and what times to expect to leave. We were able to find the shuttle driver easily enough, but he seemed to have very little idea as to whom and how many people he was picking up. Through our own initiative we were able to locate everyone on the shuttle (although many of us were strangers to each other) and leave together.

The trip to the resort from the hotel takes about an hour. The resort itself is located in a jungle overlooking the beach. It takes at least 20 minutes to get to the grounds from the turn off from the street. Unless you want to spend all of your time at the resort (and trust me, you won't) you'll have to factor that in to every single trip you take off the property. More of an annoyance than anything.

On check in, our room was clean and relatively well-maintained despite the clearly older structure and fixtures. The view was tremendous and gave us the impression that we were the only people there! We overlooked a valley and the ocean. There were no structures or pathways in our view, we never saw a single person out the window and had no worry that anyone could see in. The bathroom had a nice open, giant shower which is huge for me. We did have a few issues with those tiny tropical ants that seem to get into anywhere we've stayed in the tropics, we had a resident gecko - which I loved because I hate bugs. We saw very few bugs in the room - I'm thanking the gecko for his voracious appetite. We also spent time in several of the suites / villas and were impressed with the grounds and conditions of all the rooms we were in.

The grounds were reasonably well kept. There is a species of spider endemic to the area that spans a few inches, is creepy looking and spins webs prolifically. The resort is in the jungle, so fine, as long as they stay out of my room, which they did. For the first few days it seemed that they managed to destroy or move any spiders spinning webs across the pathways. On the fourth day we did notice a spider in a web at eye / head level that I almost walked into across one of the main stairways that stayed there at least 24 hours.

The pool area and amphitheater are very attractive, but don't expect to be served drinks or food correctly or in a timely manner or with any semblance of courtesy. Every time I asked for anything (in Spanish or English) the waiter would look very confused and wander off. I routinely waited 30-40 minutes for a beverage (even bottled beer located in a cooler standing behind the guy at the kiosk who took orders) and several times received the wrong drink. The food service was terrible. The poolside / amphitheater menus are mundane and uninteresting and the food is average, at best, if it ever comes. On the day of the wedding I waiting over an hour for french fries I ordered and only got them after I walked up for the third time and told them I need to get cleaned and dressed for the wedding - if you can't bring my food immediately, then just cancel the order because I need to leave.

The exception to the abysmal food and service was their upscale restaurant where we received decent service and decent food for a premium price. (As opposed to the premium price we paid for terrible service and edible at best food we received elsewhere at the resort).

The only acceptable (and actually quite good) service we received was at the activities desk where tours and activities were scheduled easily and accurately including transportation off the property. No fuss, no muss. The staff there was friendly and welcoming. If only that could spread across the resort it wouldn't be such a disappointment.

FIVE STARS - LAUGHABLE. Aside from location, this s a THREE STAR HOTEL AT BEST - ON A GOOD DAY. We undoubtedly will never return and discourage anyone from visiting. IF YOU'RE GOING TO PAY FIVE STAR PRICES, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE and perhaps get what you pay form.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you very very much for your review. We have paid close attention to your comments. We hope you will change your mind and hopefully visit us again. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we visited with friends for an evening. They have a gorgeous Greek amphitheater facing the ocean where guests can delight in magnificent sunsets whilst listening to classical music playing softly. The waiters are courteous and efficient even to the point of providing small tables for those who wish to enjoy their dinner along with the view. Just wow!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friends thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta Lake, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spending time on the private beach was the best time my husband and I had on our 12 day honeymoon in Costa Rica. We felt like celebrities. we had our own cabana,could order drinks and food (both were fantastic) plus we saw all sorts of wild life. we saw 2 Macaw's, tons of crabs, sting rays, jelly fish, wahoos, coatis, and other unknown fish - all without actually getting in the water. It is rocky so there is no laying in the sand, but there are beach chairs. Plus we found lots of amazing shells in the rocks. The restaurant was great service, and our breakfast's were so delicious. The room was out of the world breathtaking. Pictures do not do it justice. We had room 35 that was best views with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean. Our dinner was slightly disappointing. for our 1 week "anniversary" we made reservations at Mirador - the fine dinning restaurant. we showed up for our reservation on to find out that Mirador decided not to open up on Saturday like they usually do. We received no explanation, just that our reservation has been moved to the usual dinning area. we were bummed because it was going to be our first fancy dinner as husband and wife and i had made reservations like 2 weeks prior. anyways the other restaurant was good, but for the price the presentation was lacking and the taste was not spectacular. for amazing food and presentation try graffiti wine bar, and for great food in more laid back atmosphere try Taco Bar. Overall, great experience and perfect for a honeymoon - worth the price

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us and were able to see so much wild life around you. We are sorry that you could not enjoy the Mirador Restaurant has you have planned. We are working harder on comunication to avoid these situation in the future. We hope to see you soon back with us.. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate lunch at the Anfiteatro restaurant and really loved it. We had gone on one of the crocodile tours on the nearby Rio Tarcoles and wanted to go somewhere afterward that had nice views. The beautiful outdoor restaurant at Villa Caletas did not disappoint. The view across the water was absolutely breathtaking. It's an elegant little spot, and the service was really warm and friendly. We had a tilapia and shrimp ceviche that was served with crispy plantain chips that was so good. Also had a nice fresh salad that was perfect for a hot day. The restaurant has a beautifully columned amphitheater - lots of good photo opportunities here; it would be a perfect spot for a wedding. Prices were high, but we expected that given the setting and thought it was definitely worth it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend thank you very much for your review. We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy the view from the Amphitheater !!. best reagards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Was a VERY unique and wonderful experience. This would not be for everyone (more later). The property is absolutely gorgeous and lush with plants, trees, and flowers. The infinity pool is stunning. The whole property is quiet, relaxing, and has a zen like quality to it. Everything is in stone and looks like its from another time. The days seem to go on forever and we loved it. The beach...OMG. You're taken there on this shuttle which is really more like a jungle safari, when you get there you are greeted by a lady with towels and she is also your waitress. They have cabanas and the volcanic rock beach was SO much fun for exploring. It was breath taking. Would recommend this to any adventure loving couple who wants breathtaking views, relaxation, and a doesn't mind physical activity. This was one place we felt sad to leave, and thats rare for us because we travel everywhere.

Things we loved the most:
1. The BEACH OMG- we felt like celebrities on our own private beach
2. The relaxation- time doesnt seem to exist here
3. The food- fresh and delicious, and the water was just fine
4. The scenery- amazing
5. The friendliness of the staff- the entire staff!

This trip made us fall in love with Costa RIca to the point we are thinking of purchasing a vacation home there, but Villa Caletas may not be for everyone...

Things to consider
1. If you know absolutely NO spanish, you may have some difficulty
2. You cant take your shoes off at the beach, its volcanic rock, very sharp, probably not very safe for children
3. To get to the villas it is MANY stairs. We were in 28 and had about 5 flights to climb. We're both 29 and in great shape but we busted a mild sweat by the time we reached the top.
4. The service is not 4 stars. It is probably at 3 stars. If you are American you would not be impressed with the designation of a 4 star hotel because the service is a little slow and unorganized (the pool service took FOREVER and I had to keep asking for my drinks, plus they kept running out of towels).
5.If you are overweight or not in great shape or have a disability, this place may be a challenge for you as you have to climb hills and stairs to get anywhere (although I didn't ask but of course they can probably accommodate you)...just saying this is a VERY physical vacation spot- which we personally loved.

Room Tip: Unless you dont mind a walk, ask for a villa closer to the reception area. Or just stay in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are very glad to know that you had such a great time with us. We are also very happy to know that you loved Costa Rica so much that you are thinking in geeting a home down here, We hope you will be visiting us while you will be looking for it !!. Have a great day. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.