We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing view!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Stockbridge, Georgia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“What an amazing view!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we visited with friends for an evening. They have a gorgeous Greek amphitheater facing the ocean where guests can delight in magnificent sunsets whilst listening to classical music playing softly. The waiters are courteous and efficient even to the point of providing small tables for those who wish to enjoy their dinner along with the view. Just wow!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friends thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    127
    52
    45
    19
See reviews for
84
437
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shasta Lake, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spending time on the private beach was the best time my husband and I had on our 12 day honeymoon in Costa Rica. We felt like celebrities. we had our own cabana,could order drinks and food (both were fantastic) plus we saw all sorts of wild life. we saw 2 Macaw's, tons of crabs, sting rays, jelly fish, wahoos, coatis, and other unknown fish - all without actually getting in the water. It is rocky so there is no laying in the sand, but there are beach chairs. Plus we found lots of amazing shells in the rocks. The restaurant was great service, and our breakfast's were so delicious. The room was out of the world breathtaking. Pictures do not do it justice. We had room 35 that was best views with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean. Our dinner was slightly disappointing. for our 1 week "anniversary" we made reservations at Mirador - the fine dinning restaurant. we showed up for our reservation on to find out that Mirador decided not to open up on Saturday like they usually do. We received no explanation, just that our reservation has been moved to the usual dinning area. we were bummed because it was going to be our first fancy dinner as husband and wife and i had made reservations like 2 weeks prior. anyways the other restaurant was good, but for the price the presentation was lacking and the taste was not spectacular. for amazing food and presentation try graffiti wine bar, and for great food in more laid back atmosphere try Taco Bar. Overall, great experience and perfect for a honeymoon - worth the price

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us and were able to see so much wild life around you. We are sorry that you could not enjoy the Mirador Restaurant has you have planned. We are working harder on comunication to avoid these situation in the future. We hope to see you soon back with us.. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate lunch at the Anfiteatro restaurant and really loved it. We had gone on one of the crocodile tours on the nearby Rio Tarcoles and wanted to go somewhere afterward that had nice views. The beautiful outdoor restaurant at Villa Caletas did not disappoint. The view across the water was absolutely breathtaking. It's an elegant little spot, and the service was really warm and friendly. We had a tilapia and shrimp ceviche that was served with crispy plantain chips that was so good. Also had a nice fresh salad that was perfect for a hot day. The restaurant has a beautifully columned amphitheater - lots of good photo opportunities here; it would be a perfect spot for a wedding. Prices were high, but we expected that given the setting and thought it was definitely worth it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend thank you very much for your review. We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy the view from the Amphitheater !!. best reagards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Was a VERY unique and wonderful experience. This would not be for everyone (more later). The property is absolutely gorgeous and lush with plants, trees, and flowers. The infinity pool is stunning. The whole property is quiet, relaxing, and has a zen like quality to it. Everything is in stone and looks like its from another time. The days seem to go on forever and we loved it. The beach...OMG. You're taken there on this shuttle which is really more like a jungle safari, when you get there you are greeted by a lady with towels and she is also your waitress. They have cabanas and the volcanic rock beach was SO much fun for exploring. It was breath taking. Would recommend this to any adventure loving couple who wants breathtaking views, relaxation, and a doesn't mind physical activity. This was one place we felt sad to leave, and thats rare for us because we travel everywhere.

Things we loved the most:
1. The BEACH OMG- we felt like celebrities on our own private beach
2. The relaxation- time doesnt seem to exist here
3. The food- fresh and delicious, and the water was just fine
4. The scenery- amazing
5. The friendliness of the staff- the entire staff!

This trip made us fall in love with Costa RIca to the point we are thinking of purchasing a vacation home there, but Villa Caletas may not be for everyone...

Things to consider
1. If you know absolutely NO spanish, you may have some difficulty
2. You cant take your shoes off at the beach, its volcanic rock, very sharp, probably not very safe for children
3. To get to the villas it is MANY stairs. We were in 28 and had about 5 flights to climb. We're both 29 and in great shape but we busted a mild sweat by the time we reached the top.
4. The service is not 4 stars. It is probably at 3 stars. If you are American you would not be impressed with the designation of a 4 star hotel because the service is a little slow and unorganized (the pool service took FOREVER and I had to keep asking for my drinks, plus they kept running out of towels).
5.If you are overweight or not in great shape or have a disability, this place may be a challenge for you as you have to climb hills and stairs to get anywhere (although I didn't ask but of course they can probably accommodate you)...just saying this is a VERY physical vacation spot- which we personally loved.

Room Tip: Unless you dont mind a walk, ask for a villa closer to the reception area. Or just stay in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are very glad to know that you had such a great time with us. We are also very happy to know that you loved Costa Rica so much that you are thinking in geeting a home down here, We hope you will be visiting us while you will be looking for it !!. Have a great day. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stumbled upon this gem thanks to a Groupon Travel Deal and were continually amazed with each passing day. This is an authentic environment with Toucans, Monkeys, Hawks, Parrots and Lizards en masse in the surrounding jungles of the property and sometimes on your balcony. It's a nature lover's paradise and the staff is utterly contented to assist your whims, be those a massage in their spa or custom ordering off their room service menu.

They are famous for their sunset view, which ranks as a top 3 I've ever personally watched (although the overly dramatic Yanni music could be muted for an equally stunning experience). The beach is only really available by tram, which is free and runs frequently throughout the day, but it seems to have a last call a bit too early. However, their beach consists of a cliff overlooking shallow slick rocks, so not traditional but if you go there for the beach then you're just being stingy about not wanting to shell out for Tortuga Island or another trip to a "real" beach. Take in Manuel Antonio Park if you get a chance, it's a bit of a drive, but the concierge will arrange everything and you won't be disappointed. This is a truly romantic spot, so live it up and enjoy the indulgence.

Room Tip: Get to the sunset show early to make sure you have a prime spot and charge your camera when in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. The hotel is deeply involved in Sustainable Tourism and we strive on a daily basis to respect the Nature surrounding the hotel. This explain why you were able to see that much Toucans, Monkeys, Hawks, Parrots and Lizards in the property. We realy try to leave in harmony with the tropical forest and all its inhabitants !!
We hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights from Mach 04 - 07/2013. Our suite #83 has an ocean view, big terrace and hot tub - beautifully decorated. The services were excellent, drinks were pricey but food bills were reasonable. We enjoyed breakfasts at the Amphitheater restaurant. Also the use golf carts for transporting guests from one site to another was efficient.

Zephyr Palace was uniquely designed - it's really one of a kind and its pool has a fascistic view. Overall we had a wonderful time staying in Villa Caletas.

One thing for consideration is that if you have mobility issue, this hotel could be a challenge, as some rooms are not easily accessible by car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had sucha great time with us and that you enjoyed your Junior Suite Superior. It is true that they boast from an incedible view from the terrace !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel and the amazing views and service!
The food ia delicious, the staff is very friendly and it is a very luxurious experience that i fully recommend.
Also it is close to Jaco so you can drive there and have a nice meal there too.
As for the beach it is not walking distance unfortunately but the pools make up for it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are gald to know that you were able to enjoy the hotel as you planned to. We hope you come back soon to enjoy a fresh cocktail in the infinty pool while watching the sunset !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.