We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay here, but we were here for a wedding! Out of this world! Spectacular views! Obviously pricy rates for the rooms but look at the architecture and well kept the entire place is!!! It's worth it unfortunately I had no $$$ to stay for one night, we called and it was to late all rooms booked!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for your nice word over the hotel as a destination wedding resort. We are lucky to have such a view and setting, and it is always a pleasure to share it with our guests.
We hope you will visit and stay with us soon. Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    142
    60
    47
    20
See reviews for
102
488
22
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is rather expensive, but for the extra money you enjoy a very beautiful setting; a lovely infinity pool (nice cool temp!); experience a unique sunset and best of all...it's very peaceful. The staff is very accommodating but you have to be looking for quiet here...not much happening after dinner. It would have been nice if they had some live entertainment!!
It's 1.5 km up hill off the main road but one day we hiked the road for a challenging workout. I must also mention that there was a very well equipped open aired gym with a fabulous view! The rocky beach is over the hill and down the other side; worth checking out at low tide but not for swimming.
We enjoyed our stay here; it was a special treat but you don't need to stay more than 2 nights. Thank goodness because that's all we could afford!

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing a bathroom with the other couple you are travelling with, opt for a ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you for your kind words !. As you stated our Junior Suites are one of a kind and so are the views from the terraces !.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sycamore,il
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me start by saying this hotel has Great views and one of the most beautiful pools in the world, This hotel is all about relaxing and great views. My wife and I like this hotel and who would not ?. We are more active on vacation then relaxing so with that be said it was a little more laid back then we perfer. but if you perfer relaxing and tranquillty this is the best you will get in Costa Rica. This place is unique and beatiful, The rooms are very nice and private you feel like your staying in a mansion not a hotel. sunset at this hotel is quite frankly AWESOME !! and it is a big deal at this hotel. This hotel is 4.5 star and the views and pool is a 5.0 star.

Room Tip: You should try to get a room that faces the ocean to take advantage of the stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us and we hope to see you soon back with us. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the villa Caletas in early February for a site visit for my wedding next year. My fiancé and I loved the beauty of the resort and the helpfulness of the entire Villa Caletas team. I only gave four stars because it is very expensive and I was expecting a little bit more hospitality since we are spending a lot of money there for our wedding../we did get nickled and dimed throughout our stay. We stayed in a Junior suite that was very close to the concierge house so we were in walking distance to everything. It was so beautiful and had an indoor and outdoor jacuzzi and hammock overlooking the jungle. We walked up and used the infinity pool at the Zephyr palace, truly magnificent. Some people complained about bugs, you are in the rain forest so it's to be expected. We saw some interesting looking creatures around the grounds and did see a couple of cockroaches in the room. This could very EASILY be remedied by putting a metal sweeper on the door as there was a good inch to inch and a half gap between the door and the ground. For anyone thinking of getting married here, the event coordinator is wonderful. I was a little hesitant about not using a wedding planner but that went away after meeting with Pilar. Pilar is very organized, responsive and great to work with; she gave us lots of tips and ideas for our wedding and was very accommodating. My fiancé and I are both very excited to return next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are so happy to know that you had such a great time with us. We will be waiting for you, your friends and family for this very special day that we will share with all of you. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was very happy to learn that I had to attend a meeting in this property. However, although they have a stunning view and nice pool, the place in extremelly overpriced. The room where I stayed while it was large (too large), it was poorly distributed. For instance, the living room and the bath tub were large but the toilet area was tiny and very uncomfortable. The whole property is over-decorated to the point that in some places it looks tacky. Why are there so many lion heads all over the place? What is up with the Egyptian symbols? And the greek columns? Please define a theme and stick with it. The internet wifi was very erratic and when you are on business this is a problem. It was difficult to visit the beach early in the morning or for the sunset because the hotel bus makes trips between 9 am and 3 pm, the hike to the beach takes about 1 hour downhill, uphill is VERY steep and hard work. The food was very good but I think it was too expensive. The restaurant staff was very accommodating and kind. I believe that the price is a good reason to look elsewhere, especially if you want to be close to the beach. Fortunately the country offers many options.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Friend, Thank you for your review. We do know that Villa Caletas is a special place. You will not find anything close to our decoration anywhere in the world. We do know too, that some people might not enjoyed it !!. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the view, the food and your room. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful experience, private, quite and well serviced. Everything was perfect and relaxing for some very tired travelers. Suites are perfect for accommodating a tag along son. Everyone was comfortable and private. Private infinity pool was completely over the top. See you next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review!. We do hope to see you next year so you can enjoyed Costa Rica again with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in Los Suenos but made the short drive to the restaurant on a friend's recommendation! Wow! I can't believe they don't film a movie here. Just incredible. But I can't stop at the just the scenery, the food and service were fantastic as well. Great wine list! Truly nothing negative to say except I wish I had stayed at the hotel. Next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for your kind words, we hope you will come back soon and enjoy the Hotel too !!, Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.