We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Villa Caletas is an amazing hotel. I booked 4 nights and stayed 6. It is nestled on top of a hill that over looks the Pacific Ocean. My room was like an infinity pool with a view that never quit. Windows from the floor to the ceiling and a balcony to sit on to see the view where parrots landed each morning. The staff is always there to serve and help and the food at all the restaurants was so delicious. One of my favorite events was to sit in the Amphitheatre near the end of the day and be served a cool beverage to watch the sunset. The Private Beach was set with lounging beds and you could take excursions from there as well. I would recommend this Distinctive Hotel to anyone to experience Costa Rica at it`s best.

Room Tip: I would choose a Villa room to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. We are so glad you could enjoyed all the aspects the hotel as to offer from wonderful views, magical sunset to bird watching. All in just one place as you said. we hope you will visit us again soon.! Have a great day, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    123
    51
    45
    19
See reviews for
79
415
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, british columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The first thing that blows your mind is the infinity pool, best place to watch and take photo's of sunset, everyone else comes and sits in the Amphitheater. Junior suite was huge with giant outdoor deck with private jacuzzi. The hotel is very extravagant. They do have a private beach with a bar, hammocks, covered lounging areas, massage, but you do have to get in a truck for about 15minutes to get to the beach. The entire hotel and property is covered with huge orb spiders that are not poisons but none the less, you don't want to walk into the web. The men at the reception are very cold and formal, could definitely learn to be more friendly and welcoming like the rest of the staff in the hotel. If you want to go into Jaco it will cost you 40$ return. They do have a tour to Tortuga Island in a speed boat, up to 6 people. We got it by ourselves, very romantic, snorkelling was out of this world, seen thousands of colourful fish and schools of rays on ride over and captain is amazing.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Friends thank you very much for your nice words, We are happy to know that not only you enjoyed your Junior suite but all the surrounding and your Trip to Tortuga island with our Captain on the hotel's private boat !!.. We do hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a junior suite in this hotel which gave us a a beautiful big room with a private jacuzzi (indoor whirlpool and outdoor jacuzzi), a very patio and astonishing views. The restaurant served good food during breakfast, lunch and dinner. The prices for the food are reasonable, the price for wine is relatively expensive (like in most 4-5 star hotels in Costa Rica.
The hotel also offers a trail (45 minutes, steep!) to their private beach. However, a shuttle to the beach is also available.

The men at the reception are very formal. They could learn from the other staff in the hotel which is more welcoming and friendly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I noticed that most people find the normal rooms small however this is definitely not the case for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are happy to know that you loved your Junior suite superior. As you stated, they offer plenty of room, jacuzzi and a wonderful view.
we hope you visit us again soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nYc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is our first time visiting Costa Rica (what a beautiful country, but that's another review!). We could've chosen a number of other resorts, but we're glad we picked Villa Caletas.

We came in September, which is the off season, thus there was hardly any other guests. The 2 times we went to the pool we were completely by ourselves.

The Anfiteatro has a beautiful view of the ocean. The night that we went there we witnessed a lightning show. The food was nothing to write home about, but definitely not dissapointing.

The private beach is very relaxing. Just let it be known there's no sandy beach, but it's still a tranquil place to be. You need to take their truck down to the beach (or you could walk, if you like walking the trails). There's nothing like spending quiet time on a private beach, very peaceful.

We'd get a taxi when we wanted to go to Jaco. It cost us either $20 or $25 one way, I can;t remember. Then we'd arrange a time and meeting place to be picked up and taken back to the hotel. Definitely experience Jaco. Plenty of good restaurants, and you can surf and all that. You can also go to the supermarket and pick up supplies while you're down there.

To view the sunset from either the Anfiteatro or the pool was another great experience.

We also booked an excursion to Arenal volcano through Villa Caletas. The day we went a big eartquake happened. Thank God it happened way north from us.

Oh, the room. It was absolutely beautiful. Everything was in place and clean. The a/c works, and yes, there's wifi. I had to figure it out my self, but you just have to connect to your room (If you're in room 101, connect to "habitacion 101"). If you try to connect to "Villa Caletas" (or something like that), you wouldn't connect.

All in all, Villa Caletas is very unique. You're in Costa Rica, with rain forest around you. You're surrounded by nature (so yes, you'll see ants and the likes. Or a Toucan hanging around a tree on the driveway, or a huge spider on the way to the concierge). It was a unique experience, and defintiely would come again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words, we glad to know that you enjoyed the whole experience that the hotel has to offer. Lightning over the sea at night can really be impressive and almost steal the show to sunset from time to time !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a gorgeous property. Beautiful views and a private beach. Breakfast each morning with the hummingbirds and dinner watching the fog roll in over the ocean. Very romantic. Service was excellent and the staff was amazing. A hidden secret garden paradise.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you have trouble walking as there are many stairways
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We indeed believe that the hotel is "close to paradise" as in your own words. We hope to see you back with us soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Probably best view from a room i have ever had. I stayed in room 9 a junior suite which had a private jacuzzi. Room was spacious and balcony was unreal! Services were great and the restauraunt was decent. The setting though is the real deal. What a view!!! MY only complaint is watch out for the spider webs and freaky looking spiders...yes I know it is the tropics!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to know that you has sucha great time with in your Junior suite. !! It is indeed a treat to watch the sunset for your Jacuzzi on your private terrace !!. We do hope to see you back with us soon, Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great honeymoon destination. Most amazing view. We had a master suite. First stop in Costa Rica. Wear water shoes in ocean. Very rocky but beautiful. No sand. Got a free foot massage while relaxing in beach bed! Food was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Friends thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your master suite and its private swimming pool but also all the other great things that the hotel has to offer. We hope to see soon back with us. Best regards . manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.