We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Save Saved
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Majestic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a gorgeous property. Beautiful views and a private beach. Breakfast each morning with the hummingbirds and dinner watching the fog roll in over the ocean. Very romantic. Service was excellent and the staff was amazing. A hidden secret garden paradise.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you have trouble walking as there are many stairways
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We indeed believe that the hotel is "close to paradise" as in your own words. We hope to see you back with us soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    121
    49
    44
    19
See reviews for
75
398
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Probably best view from a room i have ever had. I stayed in room 9 a junior suite which had a private jacuzzi. Room was spacious and balcony was unreal! Services were great and the restauraunt was decent. The setting though is the real deal. What a view!!! MY only complaint is watch out for the spider webs and freaky looking spiders...yes I know it is the tropics!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to know that you has sucha great time with in your Junior suite. !! It is indeed a treat to watch the sunset for your Jacuzzi on your private terrace !!. We do hope to see you back with us soon, Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great honeymoon destination. Most amazing view. We had a master suite. First stop in Costa Rica. Wear water shoes in ocean. Very rocky but beautiful. No sand. Got a free foot massage while relaxing in beach bed! Food was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Friends thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your master suite and its private swimming pool but also all the other great things that the hotel has to offer. We hope to see soon back with us. Best regards . manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Villa Caletas is an Awesome place! We went there on our Honeymoon and would recommend this place for anyone. The view is an Amazing unfortunately we did not get to see the sunset but I heard it was Amazing. Overall a great place to stay has all the amenities a person could ask for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Friends thank you very much for your nice words, we hope to see you back with us soon and enjoy the famous sunset with a cocktail at Villa Caletas Amphitheater. Best regards manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We decided to stay at Villa Caletas for four nights on our honeymoon and what a MISTAKE! We used tripadvisor to base our hotel selections on since this was the first time traveling in Costa Rica for 11 days. Out of the four hotels we stayed at during our trip, by far we least enjoyed Villas Caletas for many reasons.

First of all, we came from a four night stay at the Nayara Hotel Spa and Gardens which is an AMAZING resort with beautiful views of the Arenal Volcano. We paid a private transportation service to take us to Villa Caletas which is a three in a half hour drive. We arrived in our musty, unromantic, small room and the hotel staff graciously greeted us with a plate of fruit which they put on the counter. We decided to explore the hotel for about 10 minutes and when we returned there were hundreds of tiny black ants covering our tabletop and fruit. We immediately called the front desk to have someone spray our room and we waited, and waited and nobody came. In the meantime I walked to the concierge desk to see if they could help us. The lady working there responded, "What do you want me to do about it." I asked for Raid bug spray and she reached in the cabinet door and preceded to hand me Raid. My husband sprayed the doorways, etc while we patiently waited. About 30 minutes later I called the front desk for the second time and finally 15 minutes later a nice man came and sprayed, swept and mopped the floor in the area where the ants were.

Well we were a little irritated, but thought we need to give this place a chance. We wish we only stayed a night to see the sunset and moved on!

ROOM
Besides the ants, which they had to spray twice for during a four night stay, the room had nothing to offer. It was unromantic, small, dreary, musty, and dark. The bathroom was basic and cramped, barely enough from for two people. Unfortunately we stayed in a standard deluxe room due to the deal we booked through a travel agency so we cannot speak for the other rooms, but we would not recommend our room unless you want to kill the moment permanently or you are staying with your brother.

TOURS
The hotel overcharges you for the tours they offer. We booked the first tour through the hotel and learned we were ripped off $40 compared to what everyone else paid for the same trip. The following day we took a taxi to Jaco and booked our tours through the tour guides in Jaco to save money.

FOOD/DRINKS
For being rated a 5 star hotel, we were very disappointed that breakfast was not included. Out of the 4 hotels we stayed at, Villa Caletas was the only one without this service. We only ate at the Amphitheatre restaurant twice because it is terribly overpriced ($65 for a chicken sandwich, pasta dish, and one cocktail), but we enjoyed the food. The nachos are very greasy and the chicken tasted like frozen strips they heated up, but the actual dinner plates were good. Drinks on the other hand are very overpriced and horrible. We tried probably 5-6 different drinks and we were disappointed each time. We finally went to Jaco and bought our own liquor and mix like the other hotel guests recommended.

VIEW/PRIVATE BEACH
The view is beautiful and worth a short visit to see the sun set one evening. We took the hotels private path down to the ocean to enjoy their private beach area. The walk is a little dangerous, but fun. We recommend you take the free shuttle service they offer unless you are a very active person. The beach area is beautiful to take pictures of, but not very swimmable. We saw a little cement island that they probably put in the water to lay on, but it was on shore so is was not useful. The entire beach is very rocky with a few small sand areas.

POOL
Nice, but very cold. We met several people at the pool and not one person went in the water besides my husband. I tried, but the water was unbearable for me. There was barely any sun around the pool chairs either. The man we befriended at the pool every morning suggested they put solar panels up so people can enjoy the water. When we brought the cold pool issue up to management, they shunned us and told us the water temperature was right.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
The front desk personnel were horrible and gave us attitude. When I complained about the ants the second time in person, the man was unsympathetic, rude and told me every room has ants. What really put me over the edge was when we were checking out of our hotel and signing for our bill, I explained to the man that we were overcharged the day before at the Amphitheatre because the man made the wrong cocktail drink and charged us anyways. He did not believe me, was extremely rude and argued with me until my husband said to just forget it. The servers were good for the most part, but spoke little English so it was difficult to communicate concerns or requests.
Do NOT expect to be pampered or treated like a special guest in their hotel. When at the pool there was no one to be found to make us drinks on several occasions. We were told only 9 rooms were full when we stayed so you would expect a little more effort and personalized attention. When we expressed our dissatisfaction to several tour guides one day while zip lining, they let us know that Villas Caletas is not what is used to be. We were unsure what they meant exactly, but they named off several people that they knew who were employed there that we encountered.
I expressed my concerns in the survey we filled out upon check out and on several occasions after eating at the restaurant and ordering drinks so hopefully the hotel management makes some changes for the future guests.
After our stay, the travel agency sent us a review to see how our experience was at Villas Caletas. I expressed my dissatisfaction and concerns as well as pleasures during our stay. Unfortunately, the management responded with excuse after excuse as well as again horrible customer service. They said we should have filled out satisfaction reviews after food which we did. They said the water temperature was checked which is fine, but wouldn’t you raise the temperature if several guests are complaining. They said they offered to move our room….yes they did after several complaints and two ant sprayings. They offered for us to stay again with them I believe with a discount.

EVEN IF THEY PAID US, WE WOULD NEVER AGAIN FREQUENT THEIR VENUE AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear friends, thank you for your review. Ants, ants, ants, there are indeed ants everywhere in Costa Rica. We believed that we did everything that was possible so you had a great time with us. It turns out it was not enough. We hope you will change your mind and visit us again. We wish you and your husband the best in life. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived here as our 3rd stop in CR. We were pleasantly surprised at the hotel. The hotel really feels as if you are in old world Cuba or something. It feels as if there is tons of history, though I dont really know when it was built. It feels like it has been there for a century at least. The rooms are small but nice and the views are amazing. The rooms range drastically in price. There was a suite available for $1600 a night however ours was $400 so I am assuming the $1600 a night room, probably not so small. The rooms reminded me of a South Beach condo, kind of old Miami or Havana or something. Very cool place. The drive into the resort is awesome as well. Also, the restaurant on site was great. Just dont get the ribeye. The steak was a bit weird, stick with seafood. CR is especially good at Tuna, just at that point we were kind of sick of tuna so we ventured to a CR ribeye..lol.. not such a good idea. All other food, great tho. Delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your review. The hotel has indeed character !! As you mentioned you will find history everywhere. Even if all our room are modern and equipped with Plasma tv set and wi-fi you will always have some piece of art that was gathered from trips around the world. Best regards. manager@villacaletas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Found this nice hotel by surprise on the internet. I always prefer small and cozy place & this hotel surely hits my appetite for my very first trip to Costa Rica. From research, reservation, booking, arriving, servicing, activities planning, viewing then checking-out everything was superb & the hospitality just touched my heart. Every moment of it! We still can't get enough of Costa Rica Me & my friend still thinking about your hospitality & all the great staffs & great services you guys provided. We had a wonderful staying & couldn't wait to go back again soon.
Everything was so lovely & as we planned accordingly so we truly appreciated all your arrangements & help to make our trip possible. Special thanks to Dora, Laura, Rodriguez, Randall & many other wonderful staffs. I will wish to see you guys soon again. Have a wonderful year & please continue to strive your best service to all the travelers, cause you do make everyone feel like home. Have an wonderful article to share with you by Nobel Prize winner this year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear friends, thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us. Be sure that we will share your review with all our staff !! Feeling like being at home is what we want every guest to experience. We hope to see you soon back with us.
Have a great day, manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.