We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were referred here by our travel agent booking our honeymoon as our second stop on our visit to Costa Rica. This hotel seemed to not care that we were honeymooners and that was a little disappointing to us. The villas are very nice, but not amazing. The view from our villa was beautiful though! We didn't have toiletries replenished, but did have turndown service and were left cute towel animals each day. We did watch the view of the sunset from the amphitheater one night which was beautiful, but were not honored the "happy hour" prices for our drinks. We requested wake up calls every day of our stay as we had booked excursions and never received the calls. Fortunately, we had set back up alarms on our cell phones! Our service at the onsite restaurant as awful and we were pretty much ignored and found it impossible to get things like milk for coffee or more hot water for tea. Fortunately, we only ate there once and spent more time exploring local restaurants and attractions. Upon check out, we were being charged for minibar items we didn't consume, but the person checking us out did remove those items from our bill. We also suggest that they add more times for the shuttle to their private beach. It's not very conducive for those who do other activities like we did during the day and then had no way of going to their beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you liked your Villa and the view. As per the pictures you have uploaded i can see that your room was decorated with the special touches we like to give to newly married couples. We are sorry to know you felt it was not enough.
Concerning the other point you mentioned, i would like to point out that we do have an happy hour daily but not all our menu is included in it. We are paying close attention to your comments over the breakfast, the wake up call and will check out what might have happened.
We do hope to see you again with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    127
    52
    45
    19
See reviews for
84
437
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Villa Caletas in mid-December. The place is not bad, as everyone says the views are amazing. That's about it and , i would say, the views are spoiled by a stupid anphitheater they built in order to enjoy the sunset, what these pseudo-greek-roman columns do is just spoil the views. The worst about this place is the decoration, it is just not in line with the nature that characterize Costa Rica. Who wants to go to Costa Rica and feel in France-Greece? Not me. Other negative points for me were:

- there isn't really a beach, you can see the sea but to swim is not very nice, the sea it also didn't look clean while we were there.

- the breakfast was not included (!) and this is not a business hotel, but the VC management probably missed that. Why would someone on holiday in the middle of nowhere (because that is where the VC is located) have breakfast not in the hotel? You simply have no choice! In general, I felt pushed to order something whenever I was either at the beach, pool side, or the famous anphitheater. I simply didn't feel free to go around the hotel premises without someone popping up to offer me to order something.

- this hotel belongs to the "small distinctive" hotel chains in Costa Rica. Now, I went to other hotels that belong to this association and yes, they are small boutique hotels. This one is not small, and it simply is not in harmony with the landscape. Beside, they like to say they are environmentally friendly as they recycle etc, but then they offer wines that come from Italy and France. I simply don't get it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear friend, thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your room and the view at Villa Caletas. It is true that Villa Caletas is something special and in a certain way it is a matter of taste. Some will see a Magical place on the top of the mountain, some other like it seems to be your case ( with all our respect) may think that Costa Rica has to been just "Green".
We do sale wines from Italy, France as well as from may other countries around the world since Costa Rica does not produce local wine due to the lack of grapes in the country. On a final note we hope that you will come back to our beautiful country and enjoyed the "Pura Vida" again.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My son and his girlfriend and I recently spent 2 weeks at the Los Suenos Resort which is only a 15 minute drive from the Villa Caletas. It was recommended to us that this was a must on our to-do list. We visited the restaurant for lunch on December 23 and were not disappointed. The scenery was breathtaking, the food was excellent and reasonably priced in comparison to anywhere else we had eaten (Los Suenos, Tamarindo, Jaco, etc), and the service was good. I cannot comment on the resort itself as we only experienced the restaurant but the grounds were beautifully maintained and very clean. The drive up to the Resort off the Highway was an experience in itself and well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review, we are glad to know that you enjoyed not only the view but your lunch with us. Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas period 2012.

Highlights
Great views over the coastline, sunset every evening is truly amazing and local wildlife you can see is great from birds of prey, iguanas to hummingbirds and toucans.

Hotel is clean and well looked after and all of the staff are very pleasant

What you need to know

Staff level of English is very poor - given 90% of business comes from English speaking guests the management need to address.

Our package included breakfast however, when you ask for a latte this is apparently extra, we then found out that if you ask for any of the smoothies these are also extra ! On our last day I asked for pancakes and guess what this was also extra!! What they don't tell you is that you have a $15 limit per person on the menu after which they charge for everything - carving out the drinks mentioned above which are extra regardless. Basically there is no need for this and simply upsets the guests for the sake of a few "Colones"

Actual quality of food by western standards is average nothing bad but nothing great either

Spa staff are very nice and mean well but again you get a very average service

As a UK traveller maybe it is a common American thing but in our bathroom they put a jacuzzi unit - we are not talking a nice bath with jacuzzi but a garden centre unit which not only was out of place but complete waste of space given you need to set it up for an hour before and get interrupted every day for half an our by a guy coming to industrial clean - maybe it is a matter of taste.

Which kind of summarises Villa Caletas - it is a good 4 star hotel - they try hard, mean well but ultimately fall short.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had a great time with us. We have paid close attention to your comments over the "included breakfast" and will find a solution so guests don't get confused with what is or not included. We work on a daily basis with our staff to give them the best "English" we can are will work harder.
We hope that you will visit us again and find by yourself these improvement.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place has a stunning view overlooking the Pacific Ocean with their very pricey cocktails going on sale for $5 USD for the sunset. The hotel is beautiful and the scenery is amazing. It is totally worth the cab ride from Jaco and the overpriced drinks to see this view.

The food was very good, but also very expensive, and the service was just good, for the the prices I would expect more.

My recommendation is to go for the sunset and cocktails and go somewhere else for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had a great time with us and enjoyed your dinner at the Amphitheater. I just would like to underline that our drinks and our food prices are at the same level than other restaurants you will find around us ( for example at the Los sueños Resort and Marina). You can actually check them at our web site where you will find menus and prices of our restaurants and bar.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Pros - great view, decent service, wildlife around u (we saw a few iguanas, monkeys, sloths & birds).

Cons - remote location (10 km from Jaco, on the top of a hill), overly priced food & drinks, private beach is not really a beach (rocky) & requires a 15 min ride down the hill.

So we stayed there from Dec 12 - 15, booked our stay through hotels.com. BEWARE hotels.com bookers - we were given a 2 single-bed room with the worst possible view (looking at a couple of trees and a wall), and the front desk would not apologize or change our room. So they ended up pulling the 2 beds together to make a king sized bed! They wanted $75 a night for an upgrade to a good room with a decent view, which I wish I had known in the first place.

We were in shock that night looking at their food menu - USD $16 for a chick quesadilla! Overly priced, but tasty though.

I am giving them three staffs only because of the wildlife and staff (/excluding the front desk). Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you loved the view and the Wilde life around the hotel. After reading your comments it seems that you are blaming us more than everything for a reservation that you did with a third party online agency and for not giving you a free upgrade that you believe you were intalted to. When reserving with online agency, guests should pay closer attention to what they are doing, as the hotel cannot be held responsible for everything. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed on December 5 and 6. A nice property but it appears they are letting it go. Although the rooms were clean, the outside of the building is in need cleansing. The property is showing its age. Even the shrubs are growing into the sidewalk area's.
We also stayed at The Parador down near Manuel Antonio was more than expected, spic and span clean, overly friendly staff, tremendous experience. I expected more from Villa Caletas.
Lastly I made an error in leaving a jacket after check out. The hotel found it and said DHL wanted over $100 to send it to the US. Regular mail would cost over $50. How can this be true? This is still not resolved. The cost of the lightweight jacket new was less than $100. Very dissappointed with their service. They were going to charge me to send it back but I can't even get them to this this after trading numerous emails. I urge you to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Friends , thank you for your review . We are glad to know that you enjoyed your room. Talking about what you will see around you at Villa Caletas is a bit about " the Style" of the hotel. One might call it "let go", others will see "The Magic touch of Caletas".
Concerning your Jacket, it is true that DHL is asking 74 000 Colones ($150.00) to send it from Costa Rica to the USA Illinois, the package weight is 1.3 kg, about 30 cm long / 20 large and 10 cm high.
You can actually check the price by yourself at DHL web page, they offer an option to check prices worldwide. The regular post service from Costa Rica is asking for $ 99.00 with insurance. We are waiting for your answer. We can also keep it at the hotel and wait for somebody that could pick it up for your during a trip to Costa Rica if you believe the cost of the freight is not worth the Jacket.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.