We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel at the top of a cliif with wonderful views and was our favorite part of the trip.
Room: Our room was the best part of the hotel. After receiving a great value on Groupon we were able to afford the junior suite which is off in a separate building. Our room had a private terrace and jacuzzi as well as a private pool for the building. My favorite moments were enjoying breakfast or a drink on the terrace watching the macaws and toucans. Wifi and Cable were also great in the room and made the trip effortless in terms of doing research during the trip.
Food/Drink: Were definitely overpriced and only so so based on what we had. Breakfast was the best value but since our room had a refrigerator i was just as happy going to supermarket in Herradura picking up snacks and relying on those.
Beach: Was not worth the trek pool is a much better deal for sunbathing and relaxing
On grounds jungle trail: was very steep make sure to grab walking stick or wear hiking boots
Overall i would recommend Villa caletas for the views alone. Head into Jaco for dinner the food there was excellent.

Room Tip: Junior Suites were beautiful. We took a peek at some of the other rooms and they were much smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Friends , thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us and that you enjoyed your Junior Suite Superior. They really boast a great view,
and as you said Macaws and Toucans are your closets neighbors ! Best regards
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    146
    60
    47
    21
See reviews for
107
497
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We truly enjoy coming here for cocktails and watching the sunset from the amphitheater that offers the most breathtaking views of colors, lightening on the horizon and a serene place to let your mind relax. Great place to entertain out of town guests during sunset.

Personally, we preferred staying at the hotel back when it was small and less built-up however, the amphitheater is still lovely and the location is the only part of Jaco that we enjoy visiting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the sunset from the amphitheater. We do hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel at the top of a cliif with wonderful views. The service was excellent.
The rooms were good but a bit small.
Restaurant is good but expensive. Beef dishes should be avoided.
Make sure you are there for sunset as the vew is fantastic

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sto Domingo, CR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently returned from our 10th stay at Villa Caletas (3 Zephyr + 7 VC ) and thought it was about time to add our review. To make a long story short, we first discovered VC back in early 2005. Recent university grads at the time, cash was tight, but this being our first trip together, we wanted to treat ourselves to a something special. As such we decided to stay 1 night in the Standard Deluxe room. We were not disappointed. The place is stunning. The views are gorgeous, the ambience is warm and welcoming, and the hotel is well-appointed with unique art and design. It instantly became special for us, so when we decided to get married 3 years later; we both knew this was it. But I'll digress for now and give you my view of the good/bad/should know:


GOOD:

- VIEWS: some of the best I've seen in the world (and I've lived on 6 continents so I've been to a few inspiring places)

- ROOMS: We've stayed in the STD Deluxe, Villa, Jr. Suite, Sr. Suite Superior, Oriental, Egypto & Africana rooms .The more you spend the fancier the rooms get, but I'd gladly stay any of them again. All are well equipped, comfortable and most have great views.

- SERVICE: In all my stays I never experienced anything but top notch service. The staff in each department are well trained, ready to accommodate, helpful and genuinely very friendly.

- FOOD (*most of it: see below): The food is quite good, but not mind blowing. My main issue is the inconsistency in the offering: some dishes are excellent and some are mediocre at best.

- HOTEL: It's surrounded by nature, it's spacious, amenities such as the amphitheater and pools have been well thought out, there's lots of unique art, all the rooms are different and it just has a luxurious feel to it.

- VALUE: VC is not the cheapest place in the world, but compared to similar class hotels in CR I believe it offers good value. The rooms seem well priced and they don't try to gouge you too much on food/drink. Example: local beer is under $5, lunch plate $10-15 and dinner $15-30.


BAD:

- PATRONAGE: this one of those 'little things' that bugs me. As mentioned, we've now stayed there on 10 occasions including a wedding at the Zephyr Palace, but every time we arrive we get the 'first time here' speech. I'm not expecting the red carpet, but as loyal customer it would be nice to at least get a "we're happy to have you back with us" as a means of acknowledging our patronage. Keeping guest records in a computer should be pretty easy.

- DINNER MENU: while I have had some amazing dinners there, I've had too many so-so dinners. it's usually the 'protein' dishes which are the let down. The formula goes like this: under-seasoned protein + cup of plain rice + steamed veggies which creates a very bland and boring meal. I've learned to order the pastas or risottos at dinner which are much better.

- STAFFING: the pool areas (in both CV and ZP) where we spend most of our time tend to be understaffed. There have been a number of times where I was ready to order food/drinks but saw no one for 30-60+ minutes. More so in the low season.


CONSIDERATIONS
Things to keepin mind:

- ISOLATION: the location is outstanding, but it's also isolated. This means you're either at the mercy of the hotel's facilities or need to drive to Jaco for more options which is about 15 minutes away (taxi $10-15/way).

- BEACH: the Caleta's beach is rocky and not good for swimming. It's not a beach hotel. If you're looking for the best of both worlds, rent a car, go to the closeby beaches for the day and enjoy the pools/sunset in the afternoons at VC.

- BUGS: yes there are bugs outside but 1) this is Costa Rica and there are bugs period 2) the hotel is on a jungle mountain top. I've had no issues with bugs in general or in my room there.

- STEPS: the rooms are scattered over a hilly property. As they say, some rooms are 'a number of steps away'. Personally I prefer it this way as the separation creates privacy. However I can understand that some people would certainly not like to be in the furthest rooms.

- VACATION TYPE: VC is not a spot to for partying (besides special events) and it's not great for kids (I think they'd get bored quickly). It's great place for couples or mature families. It's meant for relaxing, romance, and an appreciation for its surroundings.

- SPECIAL EVENTS: they host a lot of special events, weddings mostly which means they tend to close off certain areas.

- FACILITIES: it's a boutique hotel with about 45 rooms. There's a small gym, a nice spa, a communal hot tub, 3 small pools by Hotel standards: one limited to the Jr. Suite Superiors, one at the Zephyr and one for VC (though some of the rooms have private pools). A bar at the beach that serves drinks and a bit of food , a bar at the VC pool, and 2 restaurants (one's often closed in the low season). Plus the amphitheatre which is great for sunsets. Tour desk, small gift shop.

- WEATHER: Late December to April is best weather wise. May to Nov is a gamble. For example when we arrived on Nov 14th, a couple we spoke to said it rained every afternoon while they were there, but we didn't get any rain for our 4 days. Personally I like the low season as we've been lucky with the weather and it's nicer when there are fewer people around.

For the personal reasons above and all it has to offer, VC is our favorite hotel in CR. Often people ask me "Manuel Antonio or VC" since MA also offers many high-end hill top hotels. If you're looking for diversity MA is tough to beat as there are many more options closeby including better beaches and a great (but touristy) natural park. However, I've been to a number of the high end MA-hotels, and if you're talking strictly hotel, I prefer VC. It's hard to explain but it just seems to have a better 'feel' to it. In the end, if you have time try both. But we know you'll love VC as have the many friends and family we've recommended it to.

We'd like to thank everyone at Villa Caletas for treating us so well and providing such great memories. You haven't seen the last of us,

Nic & Ana Gremion

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
"Woow..!! Dear Nic & Ana, thank very much you for your review. As stated in your tittle it is indeed comprehensive and i believe that you have "catched" the true values of the hotel and of all our staff. It is also a nice reminder for us that there is always room for improvement and that we must work harder on a daily bases so we can give our guests the service they deserve. Be sure that we will share it with all our staff and that every department will receive criticism gracefully, thanking you for your honesty. Have a great day. Best regards
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

By far the best place in CR to stay. They have a spectacular view overall. Very happy to stay here. Staff were really hospitable and caring. Rooms were really different and stylish w/ lots of details. I dont mind to come back here again. -C & C

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. Have a great day.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place has fantastic views. Starting with the infinity pool and the magnificent sunset accompanied by classical music, and continuing with beautiful flora everywhere! Every corner of this sprawling small hotel is touched with a loving hand and attention to details.

The room designs seem to be quite different from one another. No two rooms may be alike (we only saw our room and our friends’ and the catalog) but they are simply amazing. Worth upgrading since the price is still relatively reasonable for such a fabulous place. Our upgraded room had a lovely terrace with a warm jaccuzzi, a huge bathroom, a very large bedroom with a seating area—all beautifully furnished and fitted.

Villa Caletas has a private beach (requires driving or taking their shuttle) and it is nothing short of a scene from a movie, except that we were the stars. Upholstered canopied lounges and a private buffet where they make you seafood cervice or some exotic conconction of a drink made our day at the beach memorable.

The only thing this place needs improvement is the gym. The antiquated equipment was creaky, peeling paint, lacking basic technology. Every gym I know has replaced its equipment at least 8 times since this one had seen any change. Since our USA gyms sell their equipment cheaply each time they upgrade, it was baffling to me that Villa Caletas’s management has disregarded this part of their business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Friends thank you very much for your review.We are very happy to know that you had sucha great time with us. We have paid attention to your comments over our Gym, and i am happy to announce you that we have changed the Gym from place ( it is now under the Amphitheater and boast the same amazing view of the Gulf ), We have changed the old machines and we hope you will enjoy it during your next stay with us !!. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

From the twisting drive up to the secluded hotel, everything was spectacular.
The hotel staff exceed every expectation, the amenities are great, the sunsets at the amphitheater and booking tours with the concierge. We couldn't be happier with our travels to Costa Rica and will be going back for our next warm weather trip

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you soon back with us !.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.