We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5-star place at a 3-star price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A 5-star place at a 3-star price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place has fantastic views. Starting with the infinity pool and the magnificent sunset accompanied by classical music, and continuing with beautiful flora everywhere! Every corner of this sprawling small hotel is touched with a loving hand and attention to details.

The room designs seem to be quite different from one another. No two rooms may be alike (we only saw our room and our friends’ and the catalog) but they are simply amazing. Worth upgrading since the price is still relatively reasonable for such a fabulous place. Our upgraded room had a lovely terrace with a warm jaccuzzi, a huge bathroom, a very large bedroom with a seating area—all beautifully furnished and fitted.

Villa Caletas has a private beach (requires driving or taking their shuttle) and it is nothing short of a scene from a movie, except that we were the stars. Upholstered canopied lounges and a private buffet where they make you seafood cervice or some exotic conconction of a drink made our day at the beach memorable.

The only thing this place needs improvement is the gym. The antiquated equipment was creaky, peeling paint, lacking basic technology. Every gym I know has replaced its equipment at least 8 times since this one had seen any change. Since our USA gyms sell their equipment cheaply each time they upgrade, it was baffling to me that Villa Caletas’s management has disregarded this part of their business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Friends thank you very much for your review.We are very happy to know that you had sucha great time with us. We have paid attention to your comments over our Gym, and i am happy to announce you that we have changed the Gym from place ( it is now under the Amphitheater and boast the same amazing view of the Gulf ), We have changed the old machines and we hope you will enjoy it during your next stay with us !!. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    127
    52
    45
    19
See reviews for
83
436
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

From the twisting drive up to the secluded hotel, everything was spectacular.
The hotel staff exceed every expectation, the amenities are great, the sunsets at the amphitheater and booking tours with the concierge. We couldn't be happier with our travels to Costa Rica and will be going back for our next warm weather trip

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you soon back with us !.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went there just for a drink and the sunset, and it was definitely worth it! Beautiful view of the sunset. Great service. Very upscale. Nice hotel to explore and get lost around. We didn't stay there overnight, but I am sure it's high quality hotel given the service we received in the bar that evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your kind words. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had an ocean view room, and the view was just about worth the price of admission. The grounds are impeccably manicured, and everywhere you look, it seems like it can be a postcard. The daily gatherings for the sunset outside the restaurant are a huge hit. One of the best things was how well trained the staff is. From the groundskeepers to the managers, we didn't pass a single person without them greeting us warmly. The biggest downside is that the beach is not much of a beach if you want to go into the water - the ocean floor is all rock and is very slippery without water shoes. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Friend thank you very much for your review. It is true that our beach is pebble even thoug some part of it are sandy ! It is surely very private and perfect to sip a cocktail while listening to the ocean. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us and we hope to see you back with us soon !. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful Resort!...Best View, Best Place, beautiful Infinity Pools one Hotel the Other at the Villa Zephyr. The best sunset view from anphitheater. Nice people that work at Villa Caletas. kind of pricey but happy for what we got!....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your review. Weddings are indeed magical at Villa Caletas and Zephyr Palace !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our love of this resort, being another Groupon purchaser & not sure about whether it would turn out to be a deal or not. Oh what a deal! From the friendly welcome onward, we were impressed & so happy with our "risk": the Groupon was the reason we even considered Costa Rica, as there are no nonstop flights from Mpls. & we always try to get those when we travel. We arrived after dark, & were so happy to find our spacious, beautiful, cool suite waiting for us. Lovely beds :-) Upon awakening to our Jr. Suite's view of the jungle & ocean, we could only smile from ear to ear & hurry to explore the rest of this paradise. As we hiked up to the restaurant, we encountered enchanting fountains, pools, & the prettiest route I've ever taken in any resort, including Hawaii & Tahiti. Plants & flowers & birds, oh my! Once at the restaurant, we were seated at the top edge of the amphitheater with a view that is the best of any I've seen - including mountain villas in St. John! The pix can't do this place justice - the views are spectacular! We found the food to be very good, & knew to expect higher prices; they weren't out of line with other resorts with this type of location/service. There's a large tree with orange fruit just before the restaurant entrance that was full of toucans every am, with a few even later in the day. They turned out to be the only toucans we saw in 12 days (we stayed 3 nights then went on to Manuel Antonio, Arenal volcano, & Poas). The lovely concierge showed us where to look (steps up to her office). A pizote (coatamundi) climbed up to peek at us one night in the huge hot tub on the balcony! We enjoyed the aerial tram tour in the canopy nearby, & weren't charged any more by having the concierge book it than if I had done it directly. A quick ride - definitely worth it! We were treated to a troop of "capuchinos" (white-faced monkeys) crossing above us on the tram. The fun, bumpy ride down to their private beach was a gorgeous tour in & of itself, & we spent several afternoons playing on their unique beach. While not a sandy swimming beach, it's interesting & exciting to walk farther & farther out on the flat black volcanic rock as the tide recedes, with giant waves breaking out at its end. Got caught in a sudden downpour which was one of our most memorable times, as we were on a sunbed under a palapa, drinks in hand (good beach bar/rest.), cozy & blissed out together. Only competition was my time in the amazing infinity pool, edges dripping with tropical vegetation & flowers...sigh. The thing you need to know is that you will have to climb a lot of stairs to get from your room (perched on the mountainside) to the rest of the resort. Our legs look great now! Also, follow their informed directions: I didn't, stepped on a stinging ant at night on the balcony, & spent agonizing couple of days recovering. They sent a medic upon our distress call who examined my foot (nothing showed for 2 days!) & gave me tylenol & ice, & assurance that I would be OK - thank you VC!!! After 12 days in 5 other top-notch resorts, we both agreed that our stay at Villa Caletas was the best. The staff are great, gorgeous property, met nice fellow travelers, wildlife, beautiful Victorian-Greco/Roman architecture, and winner of BEST VIEW!
My romantic Tarzan & Jane fantasies came alive! Can't wait to return, probably trying its next door sister property, the Zephyr.

Room Tip: Superior Jr, suites & above guarantee ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends thank you very much for such a nice review. We are happy to know that you were able to embrace the whole experience of being in Costa Rica and staying at Villa Caletas.
We hope to see you soon at Zephyr Palace !! Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The views of the Scarlet Macaws from the balconies brought us to the Villa Caletas. As we birded our way across Costa Rica we found the elegant surroundings and luxuries found here to be enchanting. Views are beautiful and the meals delicious. I enjoyed the sunset activities at the amphitheater. But the best moments were at the outdoor spa with an aromatherapy message after days of hiking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you noticed that Toucans, Scarlet Macaws and many others can be seen on a daily basis at Villa Caletas. We hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.