We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding I attended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Wedding I attended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful Resort!...Best View, Best Place, beautiful Infinity Pools one Hotel the Other at the Villa Zephyr. The best sunset view from anphitheater. Nice people that work at Villa Caletas. kind of pricey but happy for what we got!....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your review. Weddings are indeed magical at Villa Caletas and Zephyr Palace !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    154
    62
    48
    21
See reviews for
115
517
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our love of this resort, being another Groupon purchaser & not sure about whether it would turn out to be a deal or not. Oh what a deal! From the friendly welcome onward, we were impressed & so happy with our "risk": the Groupon was the reason we even considered Costa Rica, as there are no nonstop flights from Mpls. & we always try to get those when we travel. We arrived after dark, & were so happy to find our spacious, beautiful, cool suite waiting for us. Lovely beds :-) Upon awakening to our Jr. Suite's view of the jungle & ocean, we could only smile from ear to ear & hurry to explore the rest of this paradise. As we hiked up to the restaurant, we encountered enchanting fountains, pools, & the prettiest route I've ever taken in any resort, including Hawaii & Tahiti. Plants & flowers & birds, oh my! Once at the restaurant, we were seated at the top edge of the amphitheater with a view that is the best of any I've seen - including mountain villas in St. John! The pix can't do this place justice - the views are spectacular! We found the food to be very good, & knew to expect higher prices; they weren't out of line with other resorts with this type of location/service. There's a large tree with orange fruit just before the restaurant entrance that was full of toucans every am, with a few even later in the day. They turned out to be the only toucans we saw in 12 days (we stayed 3 nights then went on to Manuel Antonio, Arenal volcano, & Poas). The lovely concierge showed us where to look (steps up to her office). A pizote (coatamundi) climbed up to peek at us one night in the huge hot tub on the balcony! We enjoyed the aerial tram tour in the canopy nearby, & weren't charged any more by having the concierge book it than if I had done it directly. A quick ride - definitely worth it! We were treated to a troop of "capuchinos" (white-faced monkeys) crossing above us on the tram. The fun, bumpy ride down to their private beach was a gorgeous tour in & of itself, & we spent several afternoons playing on their unique beach. While not a sandy swimming beach, it's interesting & exciting to walk farther & farther out on the flat black volcanic rock as the tide recedes, with giant waves breaking out at its end. Got caught in a sudden downpour which was one of our most memorable times, as we were on a sunbed under a palapa, drinks in hand (good beach bar/rest.), cozy & blissed out together. Only competition was my time in the amazing infinity pool, edges dripping with tropical vegetation & flowers...sigh. The thing you need to know is that you will have to climb a lot of stairs to get from your room (perched on the mountainside) to the rest of the resort. Our legs look great now! Also, follow their informed directions: I didn't, stepped on a stinging ant at night on the balcony, & spent agonizing couple of days recovering. They sent a medic upon our distress call who examined my foot (nothing showed for 2 days!) & gave me tylenol & ice, & assurance that I would be OK - thank you VC!!! After 12 days in 5 other top-notch resorts, we both agreed that our stay at Villa Caletas was the best. The staff are great, gorgeous property, met nice fellow travelers, wildlife, beautiful Victorian-Greco/Roman architecture, and winner of BEST VIEW!
My romantic Tarzan & Jane fantasies came alive! Can't wait to return, probably trying its next door sister property, the Zephyr.

Room Tip: Superior Jr, suites & above guarantee ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends thank you very much for such a nice review. We are happy to know that you were able to embrace the whole experience of being in Costa Rica and staying at Villa Caletas.
We hope to see you soon at Zephyr Palace !! Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The views of the Scarlet Macaws from the balconies brought us to the Villa Caletas. As we birded our way across Costa Rica we found the elegant surroundings and luxuries found here to be enchanting. Views are beautiful and the meals delicious. I enjoyed the sunset activities at the amphitheater. But the best moments were at the outdoor spa with an aromatherapy message after days of hiking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you noticed that Toucans, Scarlet Macaws and many others can be seen on a daily basis at Villa Caletas. We hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Fl
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Most beautiful resort. The views are spectacular. The service is top notch. Everyone who works at the Villa Caletas are so kind and helpful. Our only complaint is that breakfast is a bit pricey. They also should have some evening entertainment such as a music combo that would increase business at their bar and give guests something to do at night. Being so isolated at the top of the mountain leaves guests very little choice for ewvening activities. Loved the overall experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The junior suites deluxe are magnificent. Room 817 wa the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review, We want everyone that works at Villa Caletas to deeply love what they are doing so our guests can experience a true and sincere dedication to service. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you have negative comments towards this place, well, you probably have problems everywhere you travel. My wife and I just returned from a great week at Villa Caletas. Had a Superior Junior Suite overlooking the Pacific Ocean with complete privacy. I would however recommend renting a car to travel around for other dinner options just up the road in Jaco. Villa Caletas was everything we were hoping and more. You can't get over the Toucans flying around as well as the beautiful Macaws that fly around all day. The beach isn't your ordinary beach but is completely private and secluded. Never had any problems with anyone at the resort. If we needed something, it was taken care of in a timely manner. Costa Rica is a beautiful place rain or shine. Do some exploring, check out some waterfalls. It's all very close, just don't be afraid to be adventurous. Let yourself go, don't sweat the small stuff and you will be in for a great vacation. As for us, we have traveled to many great places and islands. Costa Rica is right up there with the best of them and Villa Caletas comes recommended highly from us. We will return with our kids next year. Plan a day in Manual Antonio, it is a beatiful place with nice beaches.

Room Tip: Privacy is the key with the Superior Junior Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your kind words. Yes our Junior Suite Superior overlooking the Pacific ocean are one of a kind, the magic of a mountain and beach resort !! We hope to see you back with us soon.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a 5-night stay with Villa Caletas via a groupon deal for the off-season, so we were able to get quite a good price. There's been a number of complaints about Groupon's travel deals not living up to what they had promised, but I'm pleased to say that Villa Caletas did not fall into that category.

Located about 5 minutes outside of Jaco by car, Villa Caletas is an eco-friendly resort carved out of a mountain with fantastic views and decor. Essentially, everything you see on the website is an accurate representation, if not an under-sell. The rooms have fantastic climate control, are well maintained, and come equipped with high quality furniture. Due to Villa Caleta's location you are going to see a good amount of wildlife (toucans, hawks, lizards, coatimundis, and occasionally monkeys) though nothing dangerous. The spiders are prevalent outside, but never invaded the rooms and kept to themselves. We had a view of the mountains from our porch in our junior suite, along with a jacuzzi outside.

The service was excellent. We arrived much earlier than we had expected to, but the staff were able to accommodate us almost immediately. Room service was very responsive, and maintenance was able to fix a small issue with our TV with ease. The servers at the restaurants and bars were very friendly and accommodating, and the concierge gave us great recommendations in terms of restaurants and bars in Jaco and excursions. One thing that really stood out to us was that when my girlfriend got a severe ear infection and she needed to see a doctor, the concierge was able to find one to come in from town immediately. The doctor showed up at the door in less than 30 minutes.

Unfortunately, there are a couple of valid criticisms. The food is really off-value for the money paid. When you keep in mind there is cheap, delicious seafood all around you, as well as good quality beef, it's a bit annoying to have to pay 14 bucks minimum for in some cases sub-TGIFridays level food -- some of the food lived up to it's value, but these were rare cases. We avoided the more expensive entrees because essentially, you are looking at close ~$40 per entree, and when the food doesn't impress you before that point, it's unlikely to do so. The bars were considerably better value; the bartenders knew their stuff, and the wine selection was great.

While it's somewhat expected that a resort would want you to spend most of your money there, it's disappointing when the value isn't coming through. You can get to town by having the concierge book you a car, but this is going to cost you $40 round trip for what is a 5 minute or less drive. It's hard to get a taxi (which are very affordable and safe) if you aren't in town, and it's nearly impossible to walk to Jaco from the resort, so this leaves you with little option. The excursions are also generally a little more pricey than some of the same ones you can find in town.

This isn't enough to stop me from recommending it; considering we booked our room for 50% off, it was a wonderful experience at a luxury resort, and by and large we were treated like royalty. Further, Costa Rica lacks a culinary identity somewhat, so the food issue is somewhat par for the course.

Final word: if you have some extra money, Villa Caletas is a great option for Jaco

Room Tip: The Junior suite is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you had such a great time with us and that you felt that you were treated like royalty. This is the way we want our guest to experience the hotel !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our suite has a jacuzzi on the deck and a whirlpool tub. The main bedroom is huge and well appointed, and the suite includes a parlor. The bathing room is separate from the one containing the toilet - a huge plus. Service has been fantastic. The wi-fi router in our room was acting up, and a technician came within five minutes to replace it. There is a private beach, and each set of eight rooms has a pool. It is set in a really striking location, simply beautiful. This is what a vacation should be.

Room Tip: Carefully review the options - there are several to suit most budgets. I recommend the junior suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends thank you so much for your comments. We all share your point : "This is what a vacation should be !! " Best regards manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.5 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.