We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful Stay at Villa Caletas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful Stay at Villa Caletas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you have negative comments towards this place, well, you probably have problems everywhere you travel. My wife and I just returned from a great week at Villa Caletas. Had a Superior Junior Suite overlooking the Pacific Ocean with complete privacy. I would however recommend renting a car to travel around for other dinner options just up the road in Jaco. Villa Caletas was everything we were hoping and more. You can't get over the Toucans flying around as well as the beautiful Macaws that fly around all day. The beach isn't your ordinary beach but is completely private and secluded. Never had any problems with anyone at the resort. If we needed something, it was taken care of in a timely manner. Costa Rica is a beautiful place rain or shine. Do some exploring, check out some waterfalls. It's all very close, just don't be afraid to be adventurous. Let yourself go, don't sweat the small stuff and you will be in for a great vacation. As for us, we have traveled to many great places and islands. Costa Rica is right up there with the best of them and Villa Caletas comes recommended highly from us. We will return with our kids next year. Plan a day in Manual Antonio, it is a beatiful place with nice beaches.

Room Tip: Privacy is the key with the Superior Junior Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your kind words. Yes our Junior Suite Superior overlooking the Pacific ocean are one of a kind, the magic of a mountain and beach resort !! We hope to see you back with us soon.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    127
    52
    45
    19
See reviews for
84
436
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a 5-night stay with Villa Caletas via a groupon deal for the off-season, so we were able to get quite a good price. There's been a number of complaints about Groupon's travel deals not living up to what they had promised, but I'm pleased to say that Villa Caletas did not fall into that category.

Located about 5 minutes outside of Jaco by car, Villa Caletas is an eco-friendly resort carved out of a mountain with fantastic views and decor. Essentially, everything you see on the website is an accurate representation, if not an under-sell. The rooms have fantastic climate control, are well maintained, and come equipped with high quality furniture. Due to Villa Caleta's location you are going to see a good amount of wildlife (toucans, hawks, lizards, coatimundis, and occasionally monkeys) though nothing dangerous. The spiders are prevalent outside, but never invaded the rooms and kept to themselves. We had a view of the mountains from our porch in our junior suite, along with a jacuzzi outside.

The service was excellent. We arrived much earlier than we had expected to, but the staff were able to accommodate us almost immediately. Room service was very responsive, and maintenance was able to fix a small issue with our TV with ease. The servers at the restaurants and bars were very friendly and accommodating, and the concierge gave us great recommendations in terms of restaurants and bars in Jaco and excursions. One thing that really stood out to us was that when my girlfriend got a severe ear infection and she needed to see a doctor, the concierge was able to find one to come in from town immediately. The doctor showed up at the door in less than 30 minutes.

Unfortunately, there are a couple of valid criticisms. The food is really off-value for the money paid. When you keep in mind there is cheap, delicious seafood all around you, as well as good quality beef, it's a bit annoying to have to pay 14 bucks minimum for in some cases sub-TGIFridays level food -- some of the food lived up to it's value, but these were rare cases. We avoided the more expensive entrees because essentially, you are looking at close ~$40 per entree, and when the food doesn't impress you before that point, it's unlikely to do so. The bars were considerably better value; the bartenders knew their stuff, and the wine selection was great.

While it's somewhat expected that a resort would want you to spend most of your money there, it's disappointing when the value isn't coming through. You can get to town by having the concierge book you a car, but this is going to cost you $40 round trip for what is a 5 minute or less drive. It's hard to get a taxi (which are very affordable and safe) if you aren't in town, and it's nearly impossible to walk to Jaco from the resort, so this leaves you with little option. The excursions are also generally a little more pricey than some of the same ones you can find in town.

This isn't enough to stop me from recommending it; considering we booked our room for 50% off, it was a wonderful experience at a luxury resort, and by and large we were treated like royalty. Further, Costa Rica lacks a culinary identity somewhat, so the food issue is somewhat par for the course.

Final word: if you have some extra money, Villa Caletas is a great option for Jaco

Room Tip: The Junior suite is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you had such a great time with us and that you felt that you were treated like royalty. This is the way we want our guest to experience the hotel !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our suite has a jacuzzi on the deck and a whirlpool tub. The main bedroom is huge and well appointed, and the suite includes a parlor. The bathing room is separate from the one containing the toilet - a huge plus. Service has been fantastic. The wi-fi router in our room was acting up, and a technician came within five minutes to replace it. There is a private beach, and each set of eight rooms has a pool. It is set in a really striking location, simply beautiful. This is what a vacation should be.

Room Tip: Carefully review the options - there are several to suit most budgets. I recommend the junior suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Friends thank you so much for your comments. We all share your point : "This is what a vacation should be !! " Best regards manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we stayed at this wonderful hotel. We have no complaints at all. Service was exceptional as soon as we parked. The staff helped with our luggage in the parking lot and then proceeded to give us a warm towlet to wipe our hands with and a complimentary fruit drink served in a champagne glass. The pool was wonderful as also was the complimentary breakfast the next morning that was made for a king. Room was totally luxury. the view was Incredible.We will go back. PURA VIDA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Friends thank you so much for your comments, we really try to give our guests the perfect experience from the very first step into the hotel until the moment they have to go. We truly believe that we are memory makers and we want everyone to take a piece of the Hotel back with them in their minds. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We came up from Los Suenos to watch a sunset. It's a sketchy ride up to the top of the mountain where the restaurant and hotel are. The restaurant has a small amphitheater built into the side of the hill, and the view was awesome. Ended up staying for food, it was pricey but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Friends thank you very much for your comments. Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were there during rainy season, so it did rain every afternoon, but didn't hamper our visit. It was beautiful and sunny every morning and would start to rain around 1:00 pm every afternoon, for a short period of time. Then the rain would stop and it would be overcast the rest of the day. The views from everywhere at the resort were breath taking. We enjoyed watching the macaws and toucans from our balcony in the afternoons. We left a juice box on the balcony while we went back in the room and ended up with a visitor. A coati smelled the juice box and took it within minutes. We heard from a fellow traveler that the coati visited them every day to finish off their breakfast tray. That night we also saw a raccoon in the restaurant. Ah, the adventures of enjoying the open air!

We went into Jaco for breakfast instead of eating at the hotel so we could walk around town. We also visited Pura Vida Gardens and Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio. The drive to the drive to the gardens was up to the top of a mountain on a dirt road, so be prepared. There was one large waterfall, but its a ways down the hill. The gardens were beautiful.

Manuel Antonio was fantastic. We used a tour guide from our parking lot, Gama, who was very knowledgeable and had a telescope to show us all of the different wildlife as we walked from the entrance of the park to the beach. We wouldn't have seen as much wildlife without him. Be prepared for the expense though, there was the tour fee and the a parking fee when you reclaim your car. Also, you pay for your own admission into the park.

Every place we went, we could use US currency while in Costa Rica, but they would give change back in Colones. Most places used a 500:1 conversion, so it was easy to figure prices. Only Villa Caletas and the places in San Jose used the market conversion rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your kind words. As you could see the green season is a great moment too in Costa Rica !!. There are a lot of activities and a new adventure is at the corner every day !! We hope to see you back to Costa Rica soon !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We traveled in Cr for 17 days- 5 different places. This would be our pick for the most beautiful place! Everything was severely gorgeous!! We saw macaws, toucans and other wildlife right outside our place! This was probably the nicest place I have ever stayed. Each place was an indivual bungalow and our balcony had spa outside!! Bed was perfect! Had the lava rock massage thought I was in heaven. The best cerviche I have ever had! People who worked there were very nice and helpful. The housekeeper was amazing- we were in our room when she came in and I'm tellling you I don't even clean as good as she did!!! This is a perfect place to stay- less then 10 min to jaco. Ohh and they have their own private beach which was amazing- we got to see monkeys, Since this was off season we were the only the people on the beach and sat on the loungers and had margaritas all day!! What an awesome day!!! Great memories would def go back!! Thanks groupon!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear friends thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time at the Hotel and we hope to see you back with us soon,
Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.