We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad experience in a nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Caletas to your Saves list
Villa Caletas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
New York City
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A bad experience in a nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Beware, if you want a luxury room in this hotel. It's a beautiful place, built on the theme of a 19th century banana plantation. It sits on the top of a mountain, surrounded by forests, toucans and fruit trees. The views are spectacular, of the ocean and the forest slopes.

However, we stayed in one of the most expensive rooms, with a bedroom the size of a studio apartment, a huge terrace overlooking the sea and the forest and an outdoor hot tub. The problem is that the buidling in which these rooms are located is a sound vibration chamber. You can hear every door closing, every conversation in the hallways, despite the fact that the rooms are on three different floors The stairways do not have doors and everything is lined with stone so sound bounces off every surface. Obviously, the room doors are not sound-sealed, which would solve the problem.

There were two couples on the floor above us who left their doors open and had loud conversations between the rooms for two nights in a row. We had to call the management several times on each of the nights we stayed there to stop the noise. The couples were a part of a wedding party from the States who had come down here for the weekend. Apparently, this is a common destination hotel for affairs, as it is one of the nicest in the area.

Let me add that the service is excellent, the food is suprisingly good for a small Central American country, and the amenities are very good. But we were out of the room most of the time exploring the region, and the major time we were in the room was for rest and sleep. For the money we were spending, and the problems we had, this was a terribe experience.

We were in room 85, in a building with 6-8 of these super luxury rooms. Be sure to check if there are any affairs at the hotel when you will be staying there, as the management apparently doesn't care about the noise their wealthier clients will make as long as they pay the freight for all the rooms they will pay for during the festivities.

Room Tip: Do not take a luxury room in the building containing Room 85.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review, i am pleased to know that you enjoyed your room. As you said its spacious and the view is so great !! We feel sorry about the noise you experienced during your stay, as we all agreed it is very hard to tell guests that are going to get married not to make noise the day before and the same day of the wedding.
I am very sorry about that situation, but still hope to see you again with us. Best regards
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    137
    56
    46
    20
See reviews for
92
473
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I will try to keep this short and sweet:

Boyfriend and I stayed, one week Jan5-12 2012

THE GOOD:

Suite 16 - Master suite villa with private pool and panoramic views. The villa was to die for, most beautiful and peaceful place I have ever had to pleasure to stay. We asked for the best pool and views and WE GOT IT. Just as a warning if you get this suite, it was a 300 stair hike, in and out of your villa. Well worth the walk though. If you are active and enjoy a good work out, it would be no issue. I apperiated it forcing me to work out on my vacation, cause otherwise i would not have! Room was spectacular, beautiful, elegant, private and romantic. One seperate bathroom was was a huge jacuzzi garden tub with all glass windows to share an intimate bath at sunset.

Jacob was a bell boy that helped up most the time we were there. We liked him very much, like most everyone there, very friendly, respectful, polite and curtious. (make sure you tip them well!! He put my boyfriend's 75lb bag over his head and carried them up and down those 300 stairs apon check-in and check-out.)

The food was good. But not spectacular. however the views from their restuarant made it a 5 star

The hotel pool was beautiful with priceless views, a special place around the corner to watch the sunset. there was also a special place for yoga with amazing views in a very quiet place.

We did not visit the spa on property, however they have another spa in Jaco (same company but much lower prices) Neither one of us was entirely thrilled with the massage, but might have been our own faults for not choosing a massage style we know and like, such as a sweedish or deep tissue.

The private beach was amazing. we spent all day exploring and having fun with each other. We did not discover the private beach till halfway through the trip. wish we had known how great it was before!

THE BAD:

You had to have ice delieverd to you. So if your are someone like us who have to start the day with our iced coffee. You might be waiting 10-30 minutes to get ice.

WORST:

On our second or third night there. We had a $200 "personal" item go missing from our room, along with its charger where both were next to the bed. We called about it that next morning, they didnt seem to care, try and get to the bottom of it. Make any kind of compensation, nothing.. I was very disappointed to be stolen from, and then on top of that not have any effort put into fixing the situation

OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS A PERFECT PLACE AND EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: Master Suite was incredible. But I am sure that ALL of them are spectacular. Also look into the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you had such a great time with us. I am worried about the last words of your review. We have a very stong
policy over protecting our clients and their belonging. I must say that no one came to me to repport your incident, and i wish you could contact me by mail so you dont feel that we do not care, and try to find a solution. As you said in your review , we strive to give the best service we can and we do hope to see you again with us.
Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I just came from a vacation to Costa Rica and stayed here the nights of Wednesday, Jan. 11 and Thursday, Jan. 12. Didn't get a chance to pick room. We received a room without a view and a twin bed, walked barefoot on my floor and feet were black, service at the front desk was horrible. It took forever to check in and out and they didn't appear to know what they were doing. When you complained about something to the front desk, they laughed. Bellboys were much more helpful and polite. These are the people who should have been at the front desk where first impressions are made. The place had great views from common areas and from some rooms, but was not happy with my room. They put a friend of mine in a room downstairs from the lobby in some dungeon that looked out on the back of someone else's room. The singles were put in rooms without views. The service at the restaurant was horrid. They walked away from any request and didn't appear back for a long time later without bringing what you wanted. They messed up on some orders, putting charges on the wrong receipts and then walked away for a long time before fixing. The amphitheater is beautiful where you can see sunsets, but it is very steep and dangerous. The hotel has tons of bugs everywhere because they keep everything open - very unsanitary as bugs got in food, drink, rooms, etc. (lizards, moths, etc. in hallways). I did not enjoy my stay and would not rate this hotel very high.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Friend , thank you for your comments. I am very sad to see that you did not have a great time with us. As i was reading your comments it seems that you might have come with a large "travel group" and in this case they are the one that tell us how they want the rooming to be done. Nevertheless i have paid attention to your comments over our reception and restaurant service and will speak with them to find out what did happend. On a last note, it is sure that the view are great when being in the rain forest at 1000 feet over the pacific ocean , but you might espect to see insects living around.
Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

OVERALL: outstanding views. great food and service. grounds beautiful.
LOCATION is secluded-not far from Jaco (10-15 minutes-10 from Los Suenos) just a little nail biting down the hotel's road and down a windey steep road to Jaco at night..but doable. we heard $20 each way for a taxi.
As soon as you pull into the looong "driveway" (well marked) you see its something special.
ROOM: stayed in villa 12-quite a long trek of 133 steep stairs from reception-and a little confusing at first-but not terrible. getting the luggage down/up is a bit rough lol we were told we had a view of the ocean-and this was partially true from the bedroom...you could see a bit of it from the balcony-but unfortuneatly had to look over white tin rooves to see it. fantastic gorge views though.I'm pretty sure villa 11 would have a great view! at night you could see a town lit up that was very pretty. I would say it was about 375sq ft.- little sitting room and small bedroom (bed could have been a little more comfortable and bigger), ample closet storage, big new clean bathroom, nice size balcony (but glass doors must be kept closed after 6pm due to bugs). mini fridge, safe.coffee maker and britt coffee (yum) red decor-in the morning with the sun coming through the curtains it looked like a bordello lol...but nice. had a small lizard in the room-common in this climate-it was actually cute. big iguana eating right outside the balcony. saw a tucan. they eat from a tree on the way to the villas.
FOOD: great-lots of choices, many tropical drinks, expensive but no worse than other nice places-and you can really dress to the 9's or go totally relaxed in the "casual" restaurant/bar for dinner (hate to say casual because its so pretty) -called Anfiteatro 7am-10pm.(if you dress up-just put your shoes on once you get there-I think you'd fall on your head in stilettos on the rough surface/steep stairs lol.) Mirador open 6pm-10pm -fancier. had no problems getting a table.
the Caletas PRIVATE BEACH is not walkable from the rooms i.m.o.-if you take your car down-make sure you have good clearance and suspension...it was quite rough, but beautiful once you get there-definitely a nice spot to spend an afternoon. or big golf cart shuttles run from 9am-330pm. I believe it is open from 6am-6pm.
SUNSETS: are as gorgeous as everyone says-make sure you are there by 5:15pm to get your seat and drink because it sets quickly. many hotel employees there to get you seated/served quickly
POOL: as nice as pics.7AM-7pm and there is a nice above ground hot tub you can use after dinner til 10pm-(we stayed til 11pm oops-no one cared) secluded-away from the pool-make sure you have the flashlight app on your phone to figure out how to use it.
CONCIERGE: very nice and helpful-everyone spoke English enough to get by easily. gift shop had cute stuff..mostly costa rican items, a few villa caletas specific. had a good spa special running-free 30 minute massage with wrap or scrub treatments..prices for spa reasonable.about $80 50mins for their basic. 10AM-7PM
check out noon- check in 2pm note: exchange rate for colones/US dollars better here than airport or other hotels in the area (501-got 460 at the airport and 485 in Arenal)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Words just can not describe the overall feeling of watching the sunset here - the good Lord and nature at it's best! The property itself is a master work of art. Perhaps a little overpriced, but worth it for a special day.........

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We snagged this opportunity to visit this hotel thanks through Groupon. We were absolutely blown away by the hotel and everything it had to offer. The private balcony views of the the jungle below descending to the beautiful bay below. They have a great amphitheater restaurant to watch the sunset from. There are so many nooks to separate yourself from the hustle and bustle of the hotel. The private beach is not very amazing, but it is private, secluded and very comfortable. The entire staff is quick to say hello and help you with any need. I can not recommend this place enough. I wish I had stayed longer. Next time.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite Superiors are tucked away in a separate building looking out over the back side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Nice lunch, lovely view, but the entire coast has many great views.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear friend, thank you for your comment. We are glad to know that 15 mins away from the Jaco , people can feel like being far from everything !! That's the magic of Villa Caletas, 1200 feet over the Pacific ocean and in the Rain Forest.. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Caletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.