We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best in Jaco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Casino Amapola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Casino Amapola to your Saves list
Hotel & Casino Amapola
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   200 meters east of la municipalidad de Garabito | Playa de Jaco, Jaco 61110, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Biot, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best in Jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to this hotel at the end of our Nicaragua/Costa Rica trip in May 2013.
That was to spend good time in a good place.
The room was really nice, just besides the pools and the jacuzzi (not the best jacuzzi of the world).
The hotel is just after a curve on the main road (few minutes on foot) so it is quite and better cause the main road is really crowded.
We made massages (not so expensive cause 40$ for 2 for 1 hour) and that was goooooood.
The breakfast is continental, typical (the best) or american.
We did not diner at the hotel. I recommend the first on the right just after the curve when you go to the main street from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
25
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ended up at this hotel when our first choice had an issue and we had to move.

We arrived mid afternoon after a long bus trip from the Sarapiqui and were very tired. Our first room had a lot of mildew and the toilet did not work. The second room is much better but the shower head needs to be replaced. Both rooms smell musty...probably nothing that can be done about this with all the humidity.

We decided to have lunch at the hotel restaurant since my daughter and I were starved. We were the only people in the restaurant and yet, the waiter was so unattentive, I had to get my own water. After he finally took the order and delivered the food, we did not see him again until we stood up to leave. Then of course he was there with the check. I told him that he were my employee, I would fire him. Inspite of the language barrier, he clearly understood.

In the evening, we decided to go swimming since it was so hot. The pool is clearly in need of repair. The ladder is not attached properly. There were hundreds of missing tiles in the pool bottom and sides.

The upside of the stay was the waiter at breakfast this morning. He was very attentive and a very kind elderly gentleman. Kudos to him.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't say I didn't warn you. This place was the horrible but we had no choice because all the nice places had no vacancies. The room smelled of urine and very musty. There was no wash cloths and towels in the rooms and was given crappy pool towels. Breakfast was pretty good but I would never go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We decided to stay in Jaco a little bit longer than we had planed, because it is a great place.
A friend of my husband recomended him Hotel Amapola.
It is a great place to stay, food is excelent and massages are great, the bedrooms are confortable, and the showers are excelent, they have a pool which is good for adults and children :)
I expect to go back soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

for 2 years we have been indulging the 'freedom' which is more like abuse of the Amapola open air disco to play live music on Saturday nights, I just tried to bear with it like a good neighbor, but last night was the last straw, horribly loud music until after 3a.m. One of the most abusive 'rights' to deny peace to everyone in a 10 block radius. The pizza sucks, the service in the restaurant is horrible and the casino is a fake rip off. Don't even bother, plus they have all kinds of wild parrots caged for someones amusement,,,,,rated below 0

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

i didn[t stay in the hotel but i went to eat at the restaurant. The pizza it[s far away from an italian pizza....There are better pizzeria in tamarindo or La fortuna or Monteverde too...i was the only in the restaurant and the owners wasn[t very friendly....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights here for a conference. I was told this was a 4 star hotel/resort. NOT. Pro. Most of staff worked hard and were friendly. Food OK. Cons. Hot water in the shower was lacked strength. A/c in room leaked into the closet. Could not get WIFI outside of the reception area. Bar on inside of shower door falling off. In general, the room needed attention. Heard this from other guests as well. Several had to move because A/C didn't work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#21 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Casino Amapola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Casino Amapola

Address: 200 meters east of la municipalidad de Garabito | Playa de Jaco, Jaco 61110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#12 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Casino Amapola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is perfect por families and also for business. We have conference center, restaurant, swimming pool, tennis under roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Casino Amapola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Amapola
Amapola Hotel Jaco
Hotel & Casino Amapola Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Casino Amapola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.