We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past It's Prime” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Casino Amapola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel & Casino Amapola to your Saves list
Hotel & Casino Amapola
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   200 meters east of la municipalidad de Garabito | Playa de Jaco, Jaco 61110, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Past It's Prime”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ended up at this hotel when our first choice had an issue and we had to move.

We arrived mid afternoon after a long bus trip from the Sarapiqui and were very tired. Our first room had a lot of mildew and the toilet did not work. The second room is much better but the shower head needs to be replaced. Both rooms smell musty...probably nothing that can be done about this with all the humidity.

We decided to have lunch at the hotel restaurant since my daughter and I were starved. We were the only people in the restaurant and yet, the waiter was so unattentive, I had to get my own water. After he finally took the order and delivered the food, we did not see him again until we stood up to leave. Then of course he was there with the check. I told him that he were my employee, I would fire him. Inspite of the language barrier, he clearly understood.

In the evening, we decided to go swimming since it was so hot. The pool is clearly in need of repair. The ladder is not attached properly. There were hundreds of missing tiles in the pool bottom and sides.

The upside of the stay was the waiter at breakfast this morning. He was very attentive and a very kind elderly gentleman. Kudos to him.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
23
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't say I didn't warn you. This place was the horrible but we had no choice because all the nice places had no vacancies. The room smelled of urine and very musty. There was no wash cloths and towels in the rooms and was given crappy pool towels. Breakfast was pretty good but I would never go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We decided to stay in Jaco a little bit longer than we had planed, because it is a great place.
A friend of my husband recomended him Hotel Amapola.
It is a great place to stay, food is excelent and massages are great, the bedrooms are confortable, and the showers are excelent, they have a pool which is good for adults and children :)
I expect to go back soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

for 2 years we have been indulging the 'freedom' which is more like abuse of the Amapola open air disco to play live music on Saturday nights, I just tried to bear with it like a good neighbor, but last night was the last straw, horribly loud music until after 3a.m. One of the most abusive 'rights' to deny peace to everyone in a 10 block radius. The pizza sucks, the service in the restaurant is horrible and the casino is a fake rip off. Don't even bother, plus they have all kinds of wild parrots caged for someones amusement,,,,,rated below 0

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

i didn[t stay in the hotel but i went to eat at the restaurant. The pizza it[s far away from an italian pizza....There are better pizzeria in tamarindo or La fortuna or Monteverde too...i was the only in the restaurant and the owners wasn[t very friendly....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights here for a conference. I was told this was a 4 star hotel/resort. NOT. Pro. Most of staff worked hard and were friendly. Food OK. Cons. Hot water in the shower was lacked strength. A/c in room leaked into the closet. Could not get WIFI outside of the reception area. Bar on inside of shower door falling off. In general, the room needed attention. Heard this from other guests as well. Several had to move because A/C didn't work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable but the water pressure in our second floor room was often too low to take a shower, depending upon the time of day. Not good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor and one with good water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel & Casino Amapola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Casino Amapola

Address: 200 meters east of la municipalidad de Garabito | Playa de Jaco, Jaco 61110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Casino Amapola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel & Casino Amapola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Amapola
Amapola Hotel Jaco
Hotel & Casino Amapola Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Casino Amapola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.