We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay if you have to stay in Jaco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Casino Amapola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Casino Amapola to your Saves list
Hotel & Casino Amapola
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   200 meters east of la municipalidad de Garabito | Playa de Jaco, Jaco 04023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay if you have to stay in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent December and January backpacking Costa Rica. We decided on Jaco for New Years Eve. We had an amazing experience. Todd Oborne was amazing. He gave us great advice and even set us up with a zip lining tour in Arenal. We even arrived to Jaco a bit earlier than our reservations and Amapola was able to get us into our room despite our early check-in. We were very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
19
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We spent about 6 nights at Amapola in March/11 and noticed several improvements since we were last there in 2008. Most notably, the water pressure has improved considerably and the supply of hot water is more than adequate. As well, a large generator has been installed, and this eliminated any impact from a fairly long power outage that affected the rest of Jaco. Amapola seems to get most of its business on the weekends, which means that from Monday-Thursday it feels like a private estate. If you are looking for a party atmosphere this might not be appealing, but we really enjoyed the luxury of lounging by a large swimming pool in beautiful and quiet surroundings , either alone or with a small handful of people. The decor is still in need of updating, but our accommodation was well kept by the cleaning staff, and the grounds are constantly being tended. Even the outside of the buildings are constantly being scrubbed and hosed down. Amapola is close to the highway, but within walking distance of the beach and downtown Jaco.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Amapola between Christmas and New Years, along with two other couples. It was a very enjoyable stay. Service was good, the rooms were very clean and nicely furnished with a small balcony - we all had a rooms overlooking the pool., Although the hotel is a little removed from the main strip, it is therefore nice and quiet, and it is only a short walk to the restaraunts and shops. The hotel grounds are very pretty with lots of recreational areas, including a large pool and exercise area. The car park area is secure (important in Jaco)

Many younger families staying here - an ideal location for them - but it is quiet in the evening. We returned to the hotel after dinner and enjoyed an evening drink beside the pool before .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We booked 2 nights here as part of our honeymonn as it looked nice online. When we arrived we were given the key to our room. When we got to the room as soon as we opened the door there was a dead cockroach with a large trail of ants. There was also a dead cockroach in the bathroom. We immediately asked for another room which we were given. However about 6 hours later we saw 2 gentlemen checking in and they were given the key to the first room we had been given. I was shocked and disgusted when i saw them open the door only to see the dead cockroach still lying there. the housekeeper was passing the room at the same time and thought this was very funny. So if the attitude of the housekeeper was like this its no wonder the place was so dirty.
We cancelled our second night as the room was dirty. the curtains were filthy and looked like they had never been changed. the towels were grey and the floor was very dirty in the bathroom.

We had payed for breakfast but when they brought it to us i couldnt eat it. the eggs looked like they were cooked for hours as they were dry and shrivelled up. The toast was hard and cold and the staff were not too happy when we asked for a fresh piece.

We cancelled our last night and made it clear to the receptionist why we were cancelling but they made no apologies for the service. I would not reccommend anyone staying here. We travelled around for 3 weeks and this was the dirtiest place we stayed

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour. Looked nice on the website and on arival. Room in block 6. Once white towells were grey and stained. One of the bed sheets had a large stain on it. No matress covers. Drawer fell out (only 1 support).The shower had very low water presure and ran hot and cold. The manager was rude and didn't seem to be worried when complaint made. We were locked out of the room on the last day with no towells supplied when we got in. The sink waste was broken and leaked water all over shower room and bedroom. Took the tour manager and myself to shake up the staff to get it sorted.
No appologies made. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

The hotel is about 3 blocks from the beach, they offer an all inclusive option, wich I didn't take, the breakfast is very good, the rooms are cozy, the swiming pool is very nice and the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

MAY June 2006, I spent 6 weeks in Costa Rica between the city of San Jose and Jaco (Pacific coast), lodging at eight different hotels. Jaco was beautiful and was the best place I stayed and Hotel Amapola was amazing, the food was great, the rooms were comfortable, with AC, TV, Internet in the lobby, and the walk to town was close. The buffet food was excellent and prepared and served very well. While staying at Hotel Amapola, I learned that a TIME SHARE program was being offered. The price was right and I became a first time Timeshare holder, because I plan to return next year, and stay again at the hotel and to allow friends and family an opportunity to stay in Jaco too. I most definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Beautifully kept grounds
  • Disliked — No wireless internet
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Casino Amapola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Casino Amapola

Address: 200 meters east of la municipalidad de Garabito | Playa de Jaco, Jaco 04023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Casino Amapola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Casino Amapola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Amapola
Amapola Hotel Jaco
Hotel & Casino Amapola Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Casino Amapola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.