We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beaches. Quiet Resort. Awesome Staff. Wildlife Everywhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beaches. Quiet Resort. Awesome Staff. Wildlife Everywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I just came back from vacation at Punta Leona. I have stayed here many times. This is a beautiful hotel and the staff are the best. The food here is amazing. There is plenty to do here if you are into a quiet vacation on the beach/ in the jungle. There are monkeys, macaws, toucans, and all kinds of wildlife at this hotel to see. Not to mention the fact there are plenty of reasonably priced tours available from third parties. I have done several of them and never been unhappy or felt cheated. I don't go to Costa Rica without making a stop at hotel Punta Leona and I suggest you do the same. This is a very safe hotel to stay at as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    168
    74
    33
    47
See reviews for
163
131
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I have been to Costa Rica several times, and found Punta Leona to be a very relaxing and authentic resort. You have the conveniences (great food, security, services) of a full-service establishment, but not so much the flash. Very easy to get there from San Jose, as well. (And if you're driving yourself or traveling with a flexible driver, you should stop at Fiesta del Maiz on the way and have yourself some pan de maiz and chorreados. Google it. Trust me, it's worth the stop.)

The spread out and simple nature of the accommodations and facilities at Punta Leona brings you into community with your surroundings, as opposed to making you feel like you are imposing upon them. Our older daughter is still talking about the time the monkey came right up to our breakfast area and snatched a banana! We also saw a lot of birds and got up close and personal with my favorite tico animals, pizotes (coatimundi).

The staff is genuine and kind, and unfailingly polite. The meals far exceeded expectations, with a wide array of healthy and delicious options at every meal, both kid and adult-friendly, and the large pool is perfect for children. There is even a (very nice) onsite playscape, and a medic, just in case (we had no cause to use, but it was comforting to know that was available). Given that the kids tend to congregate in the shallower pool, this left the other pools for grownups who want to relax. Bar service was speedy and polite. The beaches are clean and calm, and are never crowded. None of that running around at 5:00 a.m. to reserve "the best" beach or pool chairs like at some resorts, either. There was plenty of room. We loved the restaurant above Playa Blanca, and went to both beaches several times. Given the ages of our children (1 and 3), we did not do any excursions, but those in our party who did enjoyed them very much.

Yes, things are more relaxed here, as in Costa Rica generally. This means that sometimes a transportation delay might occur or the power might go out for an hour or so (this happened only once during our stay - apparently it is common in the area). Put up your heels, open an Imperial, and chill while you watch your kids happily scamper about the grounds. If you are not cool with that, then perhaps you would feel more comfortable on a mega-cruise ship or at a Sandals with the rest of the Ugly Americans.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costarica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

from june 7 thru 11th, 2009 50 plus, family members and friends decided to spend 4
days in Punta Leona, 90% of the group are us. citizens, they traveled form minn., iowa,
new york, california, nebraska. this was a pre-wedding party for my daughter and her
fiancee. we had different types of rooms, some had small children and such. every
day in Punta Leona was wonderful. the rooms, although not luxurious were clean and
well kept, cleaning service was punctual every day. most of the group even experienced the canopy tour (zip line) and all was very enjoyeable. the personnel at
restaurants, tours, reception., bar and disco were excellent. the pools vere very clean and the beaches were gorgeous. ALL OF US WANT TO RETURN TO PUNTA LEONA.
one more positive observation; very honest........ i left a package w gifts in our room and
they sent it to san jose offices promptly!!!! THANKYOU PUNTA LEONA.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Time and time again, Punta Leona is amazing.

Punta Leona has so much to offer, pools, restaurants, a store, amazing beaches, wildlife, and so much more.

While there make sure you go on the zip line canopy tour.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is a great property that is very convenient to San Jose. I have stayed on three occassions and has been the ideal getaway for me and my friends. Easy to get to from San Jose and centrally located to attractions in the North and South parts of Costa Rica, perfect for day tripping from the property. Not to mention that the property has its own attractions with pristine beaches and fun canopy tours. The nearest town Jaco lies ten minutes to the south with even more attractions including restaurants and surfing which I kept busy with.

The rooms are thoughtfully build with the environmental impact in mind and the sustainable atmosphere is embraced throughout the resort property. The prices are competitive and you will find values for all budgets. I have recommended the property to families and friends for weddings.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I saw too many negative reviews here that seemed unfair and childish so I decided I had to take the time to put in my own 2 cents to tell it like it is.

I stayed at Punta Leona Resort with my wife recently and was very pleasantly surprised. We chose this hotel because it was recommended to us by a local 'Tico' friend who told us Punta Leona has the prettiest beaches close to San Jose and I must say he was right. Overall we were very happy with the recommendation as the rooms were clean, the grounds were well-kept and the food was good.

The lush resort grounds are amazing as they're quite a distance away from the main highway and they're kept in a very wild state so there is tons of wildlife everywhere. While we were there we saw some turtles swimming in the shorebreak in Playa Blanca, a bunch of little white faced monkeys, coati, raccoons, tons of iguanas, and we even spotted a few red macaws flying overhead.

The resort has a variety of room options so make sure you do your research so you get what you want. The different room types are spread out throughout the property so you have to either take a short walk to/from your room to the beach/pool/restaurant area or you can take one of the shuttles that pass by every half hour.

Punta Leona is a convenient spot to explore the Pacific Coast from as it's close to Carara National Park (worth checking out the trails), Jaco (sleazy and dirty surf town with a bunch of good food options), Playa Hermosa (quaint surf village) and Manuel Antonio National Park (beautiful beaches inside the park) but you should definitely plan on renting a car if you want to be able to make the most of your vacation.

What else can I say? The resort has a zip line, a night walk through some trails, snorkeling gear rental, surfboard rental, 3-4 pools and WIFI access all over the place which was a huge bonus for me. The one thing I didn't like so much was that there were some overly friendly raccoons that did not think twice about rummaging through my backpack looking for something to eat. I guess that's what happens when you have people feeding the wildlife when they should know better.

Anyway, Punta Leona is definitely not one of those cookie cutter over-the-top-gaudy-binge-eating-drink-yourself-silly resorts so if that's what you're looking for you should look elsewhere. If you're looking for a quiet family-oriented resort that's close to San Jose where you can really relax on a pristine tropical beach then this is a GREAT choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is by far one of the best vacations ever.
The Beach was amazing, beautifull ocean view, excellent service, perfect location, the wild life is just incredible and the Canope you need to try it.
We are comming back in 2 months so imagine how great it was.

Thank you Hotel Punta Leona for one of our best trips keep doing that excellent work.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.