We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an upgrade!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We love the area, the lush vegetation, the bird life, the walks among the huge trees, the loud sounds of the Mackaws & parakeets, the snorkeling in Playa Blanca BUT, it's time the rooms have an upgrade! Our room needs paint, the shower head was so blocked we had to remove it, the pillows are lumpy & hard, time for new ones, the service area between the 4 rooms in each block is a complete eye sore, rusted water heaters, falling gutters, etc & what I could not understand is why are there only paper cups!??? Really???? This is not a * or ** hotel, much less with the price charged, so why the paper cups??? In the rooms & in the restaurant!!!??? I think it's time to review a few things!

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    218
    91
    42
    53
See reviews for
196
170
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just got back last night from Punta Leona it was amazing . There was eight of us in total we all loved it. The resort is large but once you get familiar with everything really not so bad nice to walk. We had my parents so we rented a couple of golf carts which is avaiable on the grounds it was very convenient. The beaches are stunning. The resort is very well kept and so much to do you really dont have to leave ever, they even have a supermarket. The people are very helpful and friendly. The food was amazing especially the restaurant on playa blanca. Gerson was our waitor everyday super nice guy. Eric was a customer service rep and took the time to walk us around the resort and show us were everything was, seriously awesome people. Our only complaint is one week was too short so we will go back next year to punta leona for two weeks.:)))

Room Tip: selvamar pretty close to everything good locatiom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel & Club Punta Leona has a long history in Costa Rica. I and my wife stayed there for the first time about 30 years ago. The resort you find there today still have some aspects of our first visit but has grown into a full size resort with both cabins and hotel.
Website
--------------
They have a complete modern website where you will get all information you need. This includes booking and paying.

Booking
----------------
Booking can be done from a number of online booking sites. There are enough sites offering the resort for you to be able to make a price comparison and possibly even catch a discount or two! It seems like the only way to pay for the all-inclusive option is to book directly on their own site. The booking sites I have seen have not been able to offer all-inclusive. We went with only breakfast included and when asking for upgrading to all-inclusive, the price was $35/pp per day. The price difference when booking and Punta Leona’s own site is only $20/day for each room when I write this review, so check this out. You can book small cabins (2 double beds) or hotel. The hotel is located more at the center of the resort while the cabins are further away from the beaches in most cases.

Payment
-------------
Depending on the sites where you book. Most sites will let you book and pre pay your stay with credit cards.


Location
--------------
Punta Leona is located on Costa Rica’s west coast, on highway 34 (costanera) south of the famous bridge (and river) Tarcoles where you can do some croq spotting. Just pass the bridge going south and you’ll find the signs with Punta Leona (the town/village) and going south, the entrance to The Hotel & Club on your right side just along the road.


Front Desk
--------------
You’ll get directions when entering their area from the main road. You’ll be stopped by punta Leona employees leaving the main road and they will both check that you have a reservation and give you driving instructions on how to get to the main reception.


Breakfast
----------------
There are at the time of writing this review 2 restaurants. Both serves breakfast (and lunch/dinner) but the one beside the pool area serves more fast food like food and the one located by the cabins, traditional food. The breakfast was buffet style and had an ok selection of food with good quality. Good selections of beverages, cold and warm food as well as coffee. Waiters doing a good job. The only problem (and for many fun time) was that some days a bunch of monkeys complete ran the place over. It was like a movie where the monkeys start a war and wins. The restaurant had nets around the different entrances by the roof but nothing that stopped monkeys from getting it and climbing all over the place. They also stole food from plates if you left it unsupervised (plates and food was promptly disposed of and new food was served).

Packages - Tours
---------------
The main reception can help you with tours and similar.


Hotel and Rooms
---------------------------
The hotel is located close to a Pops (ice cream) and the onsite church. Some 5 minutes walking distance from the main reception (and 10 minutes form the pools and one of the two beaches).
The cabins were further away and adds some 5-10 minutes more to your walking time. Parking space for cars could be found all over the place as was free everywhere.
Cabins quite nice. A/C, 2 double beds, tv with cable, nice bathroom. Coffee maker and coffee in the room (new coffee added each day).

Wifi
-----------------
Was ok in most places. It worked where you thought it would. Restaurant, meeting areas, around the pools and in our house as well as the surrounding area. A bit slow but that’s wifi for you.

Pantry - Store
------------
The resort has a general store. High prices so if you plan and buying a lot of things and have a car, leave the resort and turn left on the main road and you’ll find a big local general store on your right side after about 1 minutes driving.

In Room
-----------------
Tv with cable, safe, 2 double beds, coffee maker, phone (free local/international calls. Please check the rules for the free calls)

Safe
-------------
with digital code you set. A bit small, will not take laptops but small purses, papers, wallets, passports, cameras.

Price Level
------------------
Ok price level. We paid around $90 for a cabin/night with breakfast. I’ve seen prices around $115/night with all inclusive.

Beaches
________
You have access to two beaches. One just beside the pool area, the northern one on maps (Playa Mantas) and Playa Blanca (the southern one on maps). You’ll need a car of use the resort bus (every 30 minutes) to get there. I’ve seen people walk but it is quite a distance and steep hills combined with the heat makes walking a bad idea for most people.

Playa Mantas has more or less nothing on the beach itself but as the main buildings of the resorts is just 1-2 minutes from the beach, you can go back there for toilets, chairs and such. Playa Blanca has lounge chairs along the beach and a huge number of cement tables and chairs by the entrance of the beach and in some other places along the beach. Here you’ll find changing rooms, showers, toilets, a bar/restaurant area and a big parking (free)
The beaches as well as the resort was one of the cleanest places I’ve seen in Costa Rica! Waste bins (for eco-recycling) would be found all over the place and people used them.

Overall Thoughts
-----------------------
I would absolutely use them again (we’ll go there on our next trip to Costa Rica). Highly recommended. Just mentioning this, a lot of people visiting from places less warm will find the change of temperature and humidity when going from the cabin in or out somewhat drastic. I’ve heard a lot of tourist complaining about the humidity (water drops on doors and door handles, clothes having problems drying inside the cabins). This is normal and the warmer you allow you cabin to get, the lesser the problem.

Room Tip: Hotel is located more at the center of the resort, cabins further out from the center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn Bridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second trip to Punta Leona in Costa Rica. We love it!! Lots of animals, great beaches, nice staff, clean rooms, wifi free, great food and great weather. After reading reviews, i get frustrated. People need to stop complaining about stupid things. Yes wifi is slow. You dont travel to another country to play on the internet! I don't know why people are complaining about the buffet. Its delicious! It never claims to be "italian" oriental" or"mexican". Its just an international buffet. Yes its hot!!! Its near the equator! Water IS free and is available at each bar or out of your tap. Who cares about pools when theres an OCEAN! Theres GREAT snorkling Playa Blanca! I ID'd 30+ fish. Theres a store on site wherre you can get little things you my need. No they dont stock your fridge like they do at 5 star hotels. But you can fill your water bottles up at the buffet for later. The Salvimar rooms are not big but if you are on vacation, youare only in your room to sleep. I find the beds and pillows comfortable. Ac works great! There are 3 restaurants on site. Alex makes it perfect if you like birds or mammals or lizards. He will go out of his way to make your visit amazing. He took us to see the sloth at Playa Blanca on his free time! Most employees speak ok english. But their main language is Spanish! I live in Canada and our second language is French. I learnt french from grade 1-9 and don't speak it. So i dont expect them to speak their second language fully. For those of you who have not been to Costa Rica, i highly recommend you stay here! I know I will be back!

Room Tip: I recommend the salvamar rooms. Near the bus stop and buffet. Make sure you do all inclusive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

I came here with my wife for a weekend getaway. None of us knew the place and we thought that we'll be getting to a nice hotel. Much to our surprise, the rooms are incredibly far away from the beach and they are certainly smaller than what you might figure from the photos.
On our first night we went to Carabelas Restaurant (just because it was closer to our room) and found an "Italian buffet". People in Italy are surely dying every time somebody uses their name and food so lightly. You can't call a collection of tasteless cheeses and hard bread "Italian". We expected that the on stage chef would be our salvation by making a pasta for us, however that was not a choice and we had to eat what he had already cooked. I can't not tell you how ripped off I felt when we paid $50 for the worst meal ever.
So, if you are thinking of coming to Punta Leona, think again!! There are a thousand better places in Costa Rica than this one.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your room and the Italian buffet we had on that day . Our property, offers different types of accommodations from our standard and superior rooms that are not luxurious but they are comfortable and clean to our condominiums and suites for people that wish to have a bigger type of room. However, I do apologize that our standard rooms did not suit your taste. In regards to our Italian buffet thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will look into it so we can improve it. We always appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Punta Leaona offers so much to do on the grounds that a family or couple could have a blast without ever leaving. However, there is much to do and see within the area. The kids especially enjoyed disco night. A daily schedule is offered of sporting activities. The grounds are beautiful with trails for hiking. It is much like a large park. The pool and the beach are clean. The rooms are lovely and clean. We stayed in the Nicaragua section where the rooms have a private entrance. It was very quiet at night. Our air conditioner was making a crazy noise, and a call to the reception desk was all it took to have it fixed right away. The reception and restaurant staff spoke English, but to talk with room and grounds staff you will need to brush up on your Spanish. Everyone was kind and helpful. A shuttle is available to take you from your room to other areas if you are not able to walk. Our room had a fridge and a coffee maker. A little grocery store is in walking distance, too. We were very impressed and would definitely stay again. Also, the food at the restaurant is delicious. I enjoyed getting up in the mornings and sitting on the little bench outside our room to watch the birds.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the Nicaragua section for its seclusion and quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your excellent comments. We are delight to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! This is what we strive to do every day. As you mention our hotel offers entrainment for both families and couples, and it s a great place for nature lovers that like to do outdoors activities as hiking, bird watching, enjoy the pools or the beach. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of the shuttle service to go from one place to the other within our resort.. Thank again, we certainly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

We had our family vacation at Punta Leona and it was one of the best vacations that we have ever had. The Playa Blanca was absolutely beautiful, surrounded with forest Scarlet Macaws were flying all around and the staff are all kind and friendly and made us feel as if we were at home. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and we even had a full kitchen and living-room to visit in and a balcony overlooking Playa Mantas. I would definitely recommend it, there are many nearby activities and tours to do as well!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We are very glad to hear that you had a great vacation. Playa Blanca is definitely a beautiful Beach surrounded by lots of nature and a great place to relax and enjoy. We appreciate the kind words that you had for our staff and for recommending us with our future guests. Comments likes yours motivate us to continue growing and working hard to provide the best service possible. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
4.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.