We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a regular place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a regular place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I came here with my wife for a weekend getaway. None of us knew the place and we thought that we'll be getting to a nice hotel. Much to our surprise, the rooms are incredibly far away from the beach and they are certainly smaller than what you might figure from the photos.
On our first night we went to Carabelas Restaurant (just because it was closer to our room) and found an "Italian buffet". People in Italy are surely dying every time somebody uses their name and food so lightly. You can't call a collection of tasteless cheeses and hard bread "Italian". We expected that the on stage chef would be our salvation by making a pasta for us, however that was not a choice and we had to eat what he had already cooked. I can't not tell you how ripped off I felt when we paid $50 for the worst meal ever.
So, if you are thinking of coming to Punta Leona, think again!! There are a thousand better places in Costa Rica than this one.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    213
    91
    41
    53
See reviews for
191
166
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Punta Leaona offers so much to do on the grounds that a family or couple could have a blast without ever leaving. However, there is much to do and see within the area. The kids especially enjoyed disco night. A daily schedule is offered of sporting activities. The grounds are beautiful with trails for hiking. It is much like a large park. The pool and the beach are clean. The rooms are lovely and clean. We stayed in the Nicaragua section where the rooms have a private entrance. It was very quiet at night. Our air conditioner was making a crazy noise, and a call to the reception desk was all it took to have it fixed right away. The reception and restaurant staff spoke English, but to talk with room and grounds staff you will need to brush up on your Spanish. Everyone was kind and helpful. A shuttle is available to take you from your room to other areas if you are not able to walk. Our room had a fridge and a coffee maker. A little grocery store is in walking distance, too. We were very impressed and would definitely stay again. Also, the food at the restaurant is delicious. I enjoyed getting up in the mornings and sitting on the little bench outside our room to watch the birds.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the Nicaragua section for its seclusion and quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our family vacation at Punta Leona and it was one of the best vacations that we have ever had. The Playa Blanca was absolutely beautiful, surrounded with forest Scarlet Macaws were flying all around and the staff are all kind and friendly and made us feel as if we were at home. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and we even had a full kitchen and living-room to visit in and a balcony overlooking Playa Mantas. I would definitely recommend it, there are many nearby activities and tours to do as well!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice, relaxing location tuck away from the hustle and bustle! Room is ok, but food is lack of variety!
Wildlife is a bonus! May was their low season and it showed! Pools are not up to standard, lack of activities! We took the all inclusive and it was not all that good! Very limited liquor/wine!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and the relaxing atmosphere that you can find here. We will let our management know about your comments in regards to the food and activities since our goal is to improve every day. We hope you gave us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved it here! We went on a nature tour and saw a bunch of interesting animals and plants. The tour guide Alex was extremely knowledgable and very helpful. Do remember to bring bug repellent. I forgot one day and discovered mosquitos love me. Most things were within walking distance and I saw so many different types of lizards, birds, plants, and insects every time I walked somewhere. The animals that stood out the most to me were the macaws, white faced monkeys, toucans, iguanas, and Jesus lizards.
The food was absolutely wonderful. They switched the food up everyday at Carabelas so you weren't stuck eating the same thing. A lot of Costa Ricans come here as well, which I really enjoyed because it felt like you were actually in Costa Rica. I stayed at another resort, but it was so catered towards tourists I felt like I was missing out on the actual Costa Rican experience. Not everyone speaks English, but most the people I encountered spoke enough to help. They were very friendly, and if I couldn't communicate I would pull up google translate on my phone and didn't have a problem. The resort is open air, which is the architectural style of Costa Rica. I personally enjoyed it, but this style is not common in America. I recommend to keep this in mind when visiting anywhere in Costa Rica from America. Overall, I had a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, we love to hear all the positive feedback and all the recommendations for future customers. We are very fortunate to have Alex as our Tour guide, he loves his job and has a lot of knowledge about nature. We are glad that you like our food and were happy about our customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Punta Leona is an amazing hotel for those that want to truely experience Costa Rica for what it really is. Here you are surrounded by nature that will never cease to amaze you. The employees here will go out of their way to make sure that your stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and to include you in activities. It is not for those that wish to stay in their rooms for most of the stay, but the rooms are clean, cool, and pleasant. The food here at the buffet is also off the charts wonderful! The beach is very close, not crowded, and very clean. The tour guide Alex here is amazing and can answer any possible nature question you could think of and enjoys what he does. Even reception was extremely helpful and caring. If you want to experience Costa Rica for its beauty and hospitality, Punta Leona is the hotel for you. I loved my stay here!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your outstanding review! It keeps us motivated to be better every day and we are glad to know that our customers enjoy our property and the services that we offer. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a place full with nature and our Playa Blanca beach is one of the most beautiful Beaches in Costa Rica. We will let Alex and our front desk department know about your comments so they can feel that their hard work is appreciated .We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We rented an apartment in the large Punta Leona property and were sorely disappointed. Playa Blanca is the only draw and it's possible to find individual rentals to access this beach. We'll choose that option next time we decide to travel for this area.
Punta Leona used to be a lovely place (as many people recall from decades back), but the hotel and properties seem to have stuck in a time warp.

Probably the most frustrating thing was to arrive and realize that we had no beach towels in our room. Since we were staying an an apartment on the property, we would have had to drive 10 minutes back to the reception, wait in line, and get some towels.

PROs
- Playa Blanca - it's a lovely beach. It can be busy, but it's nice.
- Playa Blanca
- Pools - there are different little pools in some buildings. We opted to use the small pool in our apartment building once and went to the main hotel pool once. Both of these are okay.
- Memories - My husband enjoyed going to Punta Leona 30 years ago as a teenager, so for him, it's someone fun to be back.

CONs
- Value for money: Horrible. We once stayed in a lovely private apartment in Punta Leona that is maintained by private owners for the exact same price. We'll opt for that choice next time, or head to Herradura.
- Time warp - The hotel company seems quite pleased to keep their basic investment in the prime property. There is a new hotel call "Arenas" within Punta Leona that has apparently begun to attract PL club members who are tired of how poor the property is maintained.
- No customer service. We called in advance to try to resolve an issue with our booking and were asked to hang up and call a separate number 3 times.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 27, 2015
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share the review of the hotel. Please accept my apologies if the service was not what you expected and that affected your experience with us. We are taken steps to ensure that situations like the one you had when you called to resolve an issue will not be repeated. We thank you and your husband loyalty to Hotel & Club Punta Leona and we recognize that we have some áreas that we need to improve. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a more perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.