We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No value for money; No customer service; No beach towels....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No value for money; No customer service; No beach towels....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented an apartment in the large Punta Leona property and were sorely disappointed. Playa Blanca is the only draw and it's possible to find individual rentals to access this beach. We'll choose that option next time we decide to travel for this area.
Punta Leona used to be a lovely place (as many people recall from decades back), but the hotel and properties seem to have stuck in a time warp.

Probably the most frustrating thing was to arrive and realize that we had no beach towels in our room. Since we were staying an an apartment on the property, we would have had to drive 10 minutes back to the reception, wait in line, and get some towels.

PROs
- Playa Blanca - it's a lovely beach. It can be busy, but it's nice.
- Playa Blanca
- Pools - there are different little pools in some buildings. We opted to use the small pool in our apartment building once and went to the main hotel pool once. Both of these are okay.
- Memories - My husband enjoyed going to Punta Leona 30 years ago as a teenager, so for him, it's someone fun to be back.

CONs
- Value for money: Horrible. We once stayed in a lovely private apartment in Punta Leona that is maintained by private owners for the exact same price. We'll opt for that choice next time, or head to Herradura.
- Time warp - The hotel company seems quite pleased to keep their basic investment in the prime property. There is a new hotel call "Arenas" within Punta Leona that has apparently begun to attract PL club members who are tired of how poor the property is maintained.
- No customer service. We called in advance to try to resolve an issue with our booking and were asked to hang up and call a separate number 3 times.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share the review of the hotel. Please accept my apologies if the service was not what you expected and that affected your experience with us. We are taken steps to ensure that situations like the one you had when you called to resolve an issue will not be repeated. We thank you and your husband loyalty to Hotel & Club Punta Leona and we recognize that we have some áreas that we need to improve. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a more perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    207
    89
    40
    53
See reviews for
189
163
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. Our rooms were more like private little huts and were very clean.The food was pretty good and you can sometimes see these monkey things with big noses running around. This property is HUGE, you will have to take a shuttle to get to the beach from your room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about you recent stay. I appreciate all the positive comments about Hotel & Club Punta Leona and we are glad that you enjoyed the food and your accomodation. We do have a large property that offer serveral ameneties and a lot of things to do. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was situated so all you could see was jungle from the deck. The walk to the restaurants was along pathways covered with flowering bushes. Tropical birds were everywhere. There is a lot of walking but you can also use a bus that will pick you up every 30 mins and take you anywhere on the property. One dark sand beach and one white on the property. Food was great at all three restaurants. Great tours within the property and outside of it. Loads of fun. This would be a perfect hotel property if they got better beds. They were too hard and we woke up everyday stiff.

Room Tip: Choose Sevamar rooms. They are in the tropical forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you for all your positive comments about your recent stay with us. It was certainly our pleasure to host such a great trip for you. I am excited to hear that you enjoy the nature and the beach and that you had such a great time during the tours. We will take notice of your comments regarding the beds and we hope you have the oppportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort is loved by all the locals i talked to but it's not my kind of place. Although they built the resort within the nature it is very spread out. It is confusing and if your group books separately as ours did you can end up staying 500m from each other. There are shuttles but that does not help with the isolation of rooms. And it takes alot of planning and communication to stay connected as a group. Wifi is sporadic at best and very slow. I bought a sim card at the airport and even then it was very poor quality.

The beaches are nice especially playa blanca but i did not see much for rentals although i did hear that you could get surf boards and scuba gear. I did not see alot of wildlife at the resort although there were a few pairs of macaws by the pool and lots of lizards. One of the group brought their own dive gear but said there was no place to dive. Another group went snorkelling but the water was too murky to see any marine life.

Definitely use the meal plan/all inclusive as the meals/buffets are quite expensive at 25usd. Not really a great selection for the money though.

Although there were lots of excursions from the hotel it was very isolated and with only 2 shuttles a day to the main road ( the resort is 4km off the main hiway ) i felt trapped in the resort. You can hire a private shuttle to run you to the hiway for 5usd or into Jaco for 35usd but it seemed like alot of nickel and diming for every extra at the resort with little options available. Alot of amenities are listed but those do not translate into usable amenities. It was basically just pool use nothing else seemed to be used. Surfing in the area is poor with limited waves and only 10m between the waves and the beach. Jaco is better.

Most of the staff ( and most service staff i encountered in Costa Rica ) spoke basic conversational english including the front desk. By this i mean you can ask basic questions related to their job ( taxis for directions, front desk for check in) but outside of that they know only limited english. You can get by with only english but to really enjoy your trip to Costa Rica you need a basic understanding of spanish. Your trip will improve dramatically with basic spanish. With out basic spanish your trip is going to be frustrating and fairly limited and be prepared to over pay and miss out on travel opportunities. The front desk at the resort seemed poorly trained but no worse than other countries like Thailand but no better either.

Taxi drivers in Costa Rica are really bad with limited english and no clue where they are going and how to get there. Getting to the airport or San Jose vise versa can be quite expensive 100 to 120usd. Transportation is quite poor and expensive through out Costa Rica.

I would skip staying at the resort unless you have a reason to be there. Not worth the money or the energy to get there.

To be honest the resort needs to hire a consultant and make some changes. It could be a nice resort with some work.

Room Tip: get the meal plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback and we apologize if the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is a great place not just for families but for any customer that enjoy nature. We do have a big property and there are a lot of accomodation options, shuttle service and we also offer the option of reting golf carts to move from one place to the other within the property. We have 2 beautiful beaches where guest can relax and enjoy the surrodings, a butterfly garden and free hiking tours so there are a lot of reasons why our customers visit us. Our goal is to improve every day so we will be reviewing all areas that you mention needs improvement so they can be corrected. We hope you give us the opportunity to seve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First off the resort has 2 beaches the nicest being the Playa Blanca Beach. The resort is geared more for families and if you don't speak Spanish be prepared to get angry looks and poor customer service. I have traveled to many different places and this by far was the worst customer service I have EVER received! The only place to purchase supplies/food on the resort is the supermarket and it was very expensive, like 8$ for a bag of chips. I understand that being the only store on the resort they can jack the prices up but this was ridiculous. They do not have a gym or any healthy food so pack it if you decide to go here. The manager was very arrogant when I talked to him about the problems I was having with communicating with the staff or even trying to book tours to see different areas was a disaster. The resort is somewhat off the beaten path as well and you need a taxi to see the other areas and it gets pricy considering the drivers don't like driving onto the resort because of it being so far and the guards giving them a hard time. Overall I loved Costa Rica and will go back but will most certainly not stay here!!! Please check out Crocs Resort as a better alternative!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We strive to give an excellent service and please our customers. We will share your review with our team memebers in order to avoid situations like this in the future. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you mentioned in this riview and we hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some not really good reviews(people were complaining about rooms) I decided to book it anyway, because I am a photographer, and I love nature, and I wanted to see scarlett maccaws and take video about them. So, I decided I would tolerate the room. To my surprise, the room was adequate ,clean, very nice property, well taken care of, there are shuttles to take you anywhere if you do not want to walk, 2 very nice beaches, good restaurants, adequate breakfast with some options,nice swimming pool in the shade near breakfast area.
I got up at 6 a.m ,went to pool area near the beach(where most of maccaws are) and saw about 20 every morning, amazing birds, really enjoyed watching them.
Also, there is huge tree with the nest where you can see them too. A lot of other birds on the property too.
There is nice supermarket on the beach.
We stayed 3 days and moved to Marriott in Jaco to see Marina, and after 3 days over there I told my husband: guess what - I miss my PUNTA LEONA. There is something magical about that place.

Room Tip: Book superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your well deserved vacation. We also thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience with us, your comments motivate us to keep doing our job every day with greater enthusiasm. We're glad that you are a nature lover and that you found in Hotel Punta Leona the variety of wildlife that you were looking for. We are happy that you liked our facilities and services also and above all that you were able to form your own opinion about the hotel. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a huge resort that covers a large area. Consequently, it is not the place for people with mobility issues. Even though shuttles were provided, it was still a long way to get to the beach. That said, it was more than adequate for our purposes while on a birding/photography tour. Scarlet macaws flying overhead, nesting macaws and toucans, and views of numerous other birds suited our purposes. We also had great fun watching the capuchin monkeys near our rooms. The rooms were rather small but the air conditioning was very much appreciated. The food was excellent - a variety of choices at the buffet and very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for letting us know your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a large property and even with the inside shutle service, there still some walking involve when going to Playa Blanca Beach. Our hotel is the ideal place for nature lovers, families and people that enjoy the beach and love to take hiking and bird watching tours but it is more challenging for people with mobility issues as you mention. We hope you can visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.