We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for three nights towards the end of an organised birding tour. On paper this had looked like the best hotel we would stay at but I was very disappointed.
We were accommodated in the area called "Panama" where rooms are in modules of 4 bungalow style chalets. The rooms are a good size but the bathrooms are very small indeed with nowhere to hang or put anything, water was not hot.
My biggest disappointment was with the food which was very much inferior to any we had experienced during our stay. There was actually quite a lot of choice but much of it did not look very appetizing and unfortunately was not as hot as it should be (a health risk in my opinion)
We were busy birding and did not have much time to explore the facilities however I did walk down to the beach one day which looked lovely and clean and the pool also looked very inviting.
I would say this hotel is adequate if you need somewhere to stay in this area but perhaps research other possibilities too!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    199
    85
    37
    48
See reviews for
181
155
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent a wonderful relaxing week at this resort. Very secluded, good food, on the beach, a long way from Jaco. We went for dinner on a cliff restaurant to eat at sundown and we were the only ones in the restaurant. Very romantic. Felt like we were on the Bachelor show. Had an excellent meal while we watched the sun disappear over the ocean. Would not likely be a place to go solo, as there was no nightlife when we were there. We had a couple of rainy days, but they provided umbrellas with the room so we walked to the beach etc. in the rain. We arrived on a very busy weekend for Costa Rican Nationals (cheerleading championships). Lots of children and teenagers, but well behaved. Very few tourists otherwise. It is litterally way in the middle of the rain forest with trees and foliage (and monkeys and birds everywhere). It was a wonderful place to go to relax, or a honeymoon (not us) but we probably would not go there again. Nice memories though.

Room Tip: The rooms were separate small villa-type rooms. Ours was very quiet. All seemed equally close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our room was in a duplex building. Comfortable, clean with attractive plantings outside. Food in central dinning facility was quite good. It appears that they are expanding and might get crowded with a major expansion with multi-room buildings. Private drive from main road is long but well paved. They have a beach and pool. Somewhat isolated location.

Room Tip: Ask for handicapped room if needed. No grab rails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on this property with GCT. Our area was Honduras which was right across the road from the pool and buffet restaurant. The room was small in size but very comfortable. Thank heaven it was air conditioned because nothing else is. It was hot and humid but one has to remember where you are. What else would you expect! Obviously the outstanding feature is the rain forest. Absolutely beautiful. The grounds are immaculate. In order to get to the beach you have to take a fifteen minute walk but no big deal considering what you are walking through.
If you like birds, this is a place to consider. It is Scarlet Macaw wonderland. Just find a spot and watch the feathered friends come to you. The beach is nice and slopes off gradually and is quite calm. Take the shuttle over to the other beach as a daily option. You can rent golf carts for $45 a day and cruise the property.
Food was buffet style and was satisfactory. Fresh fruits, breads, omelets, scrambled eggs, and the usual breakfast items. Evening meals had three grilled options each evening. Desserts were very good. Iced tea, lemonade, and two types of juices were available.
If you like being in this type isolated environment, you will enjoy it very much. It is definitely in a rain forest and the flora and fauna are fascinating to look at. Overall, a lovely facility. Very different from most in a different and positive way. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there for the second time and I like it a lot. The only thing I would change is the buffet dinner, I have a 7 year old and there was not much of a choice but hot dogs. Other than that, lots to do- if your going to visit- rent a golf cart and go to Playa Blanca. It was beautiful- water is clear and tables n chairs to relax and have lunch. Good was good at the restaurant at the top. All good here! Love it.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at Punta Leona. Our room was clean and comfortably air-conditioned, and we agreed with their decision not to waste their resources on air-conditioning the bathroom. Meals are served buffet style, with plenty of healthy options, as well as a chef station for breakfast and dinner. The various pools offer options for sunbathing, sitting in the shade or really swimming. The Playa Manta is just a few steps from the larger pools, and the Playa Blanca is accessible by walking or shuttle. We enjoyed a kayak/snorkeling outing just a few minutes' drive from the resort. And a true highlight of our entire vacation was the presence of scarlet macaws, nesting throughout the property.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After years of dreaming, my boyfriend & I finally made our bucket list trip to Costa Rica and picked this resort. As our frist trip to Costa Rica, we thought all inclusive was a good introduction and we were right... we know we will return and Punta Leona was an excellent host. We booked via TripCentral.ca and our package was with Nolitours. This resort is HUGE, like others before have mentioned. The walking around isn't that bad, its a beautiful resort, lots to see.

This is not a party resort, except on weekends when locals do come in and stay for Friday & Saturday nights - this is also not soley an all-inclusive resort, there are different levels of guests... some all inclusive, some not; because of this there are two menus - all you have to do is show your wristband like with any all inclusive and the staff at the bars will give you the all inclusive drink menu - if you wish to have something not on this menu, you simply pay the bartender or server.

The resort is private, so you have many security points, but its nothing to worry about no one bothers you at all... you feel 100% safe here. Added bonus is no panhandlers on the beach because of this!

Staff at the resort were just amazing, actually amazing... everyone was very nice and polite, very helpful.

There is the option to rent golf carts at the resort, they are $45 USD per 24 hour, and they do come in handy - we rented one on our last day. The rest of the time we used the hotel shuttle, which was great.

Our room was in the Selvemar Section, Honduras and we had the standard room... good for two people but anymore I would recommend a different room category or get a second room. there is a safe, closet to hang clothes, but no luggage racks, also a small table and two chairs and dresser.

You can easily leave the resort and get around without renting a car, we did not and ventured into Jaco about 20 mins away via a taxi and made arrangements to have them pick us up at a designated time and location - worked out pefectly and only cost us $20USD one way. Very resonable. We went on some excursions, horseback riding, ziplining and took surf lessons in Jaco. All highly recommend.

There are two beaches at this resort, please do check both out! However Playa Blanca was just spectacular. We spent a few days just lounging on the beach. You can rent surf boards and boogie boards for the day, there were plenty of waves to take advantage of. At high tide many surfers appeared and it was great to watch them. Taking in a Sunset at this beach is a MUST.

Breakfast was fine, they have everything you need - and the added bonus of monkeys, they are fed bananas around 8am so the outside portion of the restaurant is full of them - they didn't not bother us at all but it was great to watch them. Lunch was great, lots of options for everyone... dinner buffet was so-so. Usually we went to the snack bar by the pools to order off that menu, if you stay all inclusive every 3 nights you get an a la carte reservation in the main dining room, and we took advantage of this.

If you want a relaxing vacation, go here! If you want a great location far from the party scenes go here! If you want to take in nature and beautiful scenery, go here! Even at the airport in San Jose, the customers clerk mentioned how he loved Punta Leona, many locals will tell you the resort is amazing, they are not wrong!

If you do not want to deal with shuttles, and lots of walking, this is not the place for you - if you want a young crowd to party with, avoid this place.

Overall we fell in love Punta Leona, and I will recommend this to anyone looking for something different. Its a great find and I hope you have the chance to enjoy it one day.

Room Tip: Honduras section was great, standard room was perfect for a couple, for a family or friends I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.