We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good as before” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so good as before”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I went there with some friends choosing the all inclusive system, the snacks were very poor, the included drinks are very bad quality, the disco that was supposed to be fun, was so boring that my friends did not stayed more than 5 mins.
In the good side they have several activities at the pool, the food (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner) are ok.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    166
    74
    33
    47
See reviews for
163
130
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful beaches, wonderful people, colorful birds and butterflies. A wonderful experience. The grounds are well kept. The mini bus is available to take you anywhere you need to go on the resort. There is a small convenience store with most anything you night need on vacation. The 2 separate beaches offer two completely different beach going experiences.

We thought the food here was the best we had during our 2 weeks in Costa Rica. Much more flavor and variety than we saw in most resorts. The jungle setting of the Carabelas restaurant added to the experience. Monkeys frequented the pool area just outside the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cuba portion of Selvamar. It really feels like you are staying in the jungle. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest, we appreciate your positive comments and we are glad to know that your experience with us was enjoyable. We aim to please all our customers so they can have a relaxing vacation surrounded by the natural beauty offered by our resort. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Punta Leona is a huge property fulfilled with beautiful green areas, cool wildlife and really good amenities. The main beach Playa Blanca, is gorgeous!!

The buffet-style meals part of the all-inclusive where really tasty.

We stayed in a "Selvamar Superior Room" with a cute balcony and a garden view. It was a nice and comfortable room with an excellent (free) WIFI signal. I have to say, I didn't love the bathroom, felt a little bit small ... with very little storage to put your personal stuff.

In overall, I will totally recommend this place for anybody who is traveling near the Jaco area, specially if you have kids.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the nature, the beauty of our white sand beach and all the amenities that our resort have to offer. We appreciate your recommendations for other customers to visit us, it was a pleasure to serve you and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were sceptical after reading previous reviews but were pleasantly surprised. Stayed in Jamaica 853 clean and near to restaurant. Beaches were good and minibus to Blanca beach was good. Free bird watching, night walks with guide Alex and tour of butterfly house. We went to see crocodiles and birds on river which was good

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time of sharing your comments about your experience at our Hotel. We are glad that you decide to visit us and were able to form you own opinion about our resort. Your review motivates us to do our best efforts to continue providing our guests with memorable experiences. We are glad to know that you enjoyed Alex’s services and we will let him know that his services were appreciated. We all look forward to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Please do not go!! Because once in There's no escapeing from the ss-camp guards who watch your every move . The hotel does its best to keep you in and spend money on its disgusting tasteless food which is overpriced !! The camp is outdated , the staff are very unfreindly ! The rooms and dated and damp. They even charge you to get the front gate after 4.30 pm. They do there best to keep you in !!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, first let me thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your vacations.We are very sorry that we failed to please you during your stay with us and we would like you to contact us directly and give us more details about your stay, so we can know what went so wrong for your to write such a negative review. Our goal is to provide a friendly, personalized service and ensure that our customers enjoy a safe and relaxed atmosphere, is never our intention to make our guests feel pressure to consume in our installations and keep them in our facilities against their wishes. Instead we try to make all customers feel safe and relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My husband and I got married in October, 2013 at the Punta Leona Hotel and Club. We brought 20+ people with us and hung out a few days together prior to the ceremony on Saturday. We loved everything from the food, activities, presentation, and how the pulled together our wedding. Everything was done so professionally that it just made our special day wonderful. We plan on booking another trip for next summer with them!
The hotels and food was just wonderful, one of our go-to vacation places now.

Lindsay&Eric

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing Hotel & Club Punta Leona for your wedding. We were absolutely delighted to have you and your guests stay with us! It was a pleasure to serve you and give you the best service possible. We will love to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

If you are looking for a resort that emphasizes the location and atmosphere of Costa Rica but doesn't fall into the cookie-cutter model of mega hotels that you can find anywhere, then Punta Leona is for you. The housekeeping is very good at making sure your room stays clean (I am not a fan of sand that gets tracked in so easily).
For the three weeks that I stayed at Punta Leona, I almost ate exclusively at the buffet (Carabelas); I can't remember a meal I did not enjoy. The food is quite good and Carabelas is set in the middle of the jungle with a very open layout. You can even expect to see lots of monkeys around the buffet at breakfast. Though the food is superb, if you were looking for an upscale dining experience with large plates and small portions, you won't find it here.
The beaches are excellent. Playa Blanca and Playa Mandas are both beautiful and are completely open 24/7 and there are very little restrictions on what you can do. If you love wild life, you should definitely check out the night walk and the bird watch; you won't regret it. The staff was very friendly to our group during our whole trip.
The resort is also very spread out. Walking was fine for me, but I can understand how others might find some trips long.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Guest, we are happy to know that you chose us to had a long stay and that you enjoyed our facilities, the beach and the attention of our staff. Indeed we are not a luxury hotel but we strive to satisfy our customers and provide a friendly atmosphere so they can enjoy the beauty of the place. We are pleased to hear that despite having eaten throughout your stay mostly from our buffet, you found variety in the food and liked the atmosphere of our Carabelas Restaurant from where you can see different species particularly monkeys. The property is very extensive but is ideal for those who like hiking, but for those who do not, we offer our Shuttle service and also have the option to rent golf carts if they wish to have their own mobility within the complex. I hope we can serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.