We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to do on the property!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots to do on the property!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Punta Leona for a few nights in June. I was surprised by how large the place was! It was basically a gated town. It took five minutes just to drive to the lobby from the entrance gate. There were apartments and houses inside the gates as well as the hotel rooms, even a grocery store! The problem with it being so large was that everything was so far away. To help, the resort has shuttles that take you where you want to go. The problem is, you will wait at least a half hour any time you want to take one. My husband and I waited 15 minutes for the shuttle to take us and our luggage to the roommates check-in. I was tired and needed a shower so I finally just said forget it and walked. Even then, I managed to shower and get dressed before my husband arrived from the shuttle. Same situation happened when we were waiting for the shuttle to take us to the beach. It was supposed to run every 30 minutes, but after a half hour passed and no shuttle came, we decided to walk. After a long day at the beach, we didn't feel like hiking back to our room so we waited again to get picked up. We ended up waiting so long that an employee said he would call to make sure the shuttle was coming. We definitely wasted a lot of time waiting around!
The main dining area was conveniently located right across the road from our hotel room, which made that aspect easy. Breakfast was average (and included in the cost of the stay), but dinner at the buffet was pretty bad. Very few options, and what was there had been sitting for awhile. Needless to say, we only ate there one night and went out for the rest. We saw a lot of wildlife at the buffet, which did make it worthwhile. At dinner, we saw an armadillo and a coati wandering around the grounds. And at breakfast the white faced monkeys would swing by to try and steal food from the tables. It was very entertaining to watch even though they were being pests!
The room was decent, nothing fancy, a little outdated. It was pretty clean, except for a dead roach near the bed, but it is the jungle so it's to be expected from time to time.
Any issues we had were made up for by the beaches this resort has access to! Playa Blanca was absolutely gorgeous! There were macaws eating almonds in the trees and good snorkeling off the shore. There were plenty of beach chairs on the days we were there, and the beach was nowhere near crowded. The beach cafe made yummy smoothies and had pretty good food too (at a very reasonable price).
The hotel offered many daily activities, which is nice to have but we were only able to take advantage of the morning bird watching (our night walk got rained out). The bird tour was fantastic! Our guide was extremely knowledgable, and spotted so many birds. We saw Quaker parrots, a Mott Mott, toucans, humming birds, and so many more! We even spotted a sleeping baby sloth!
Overall, I would recommend the hotel because of the abundance of wildlife and the excellent beaches. The issues we had are manageable, as long as you are aware of them. I would skip dinner in the buffet, and either call to confirm a shuttle is coming, or walk everywhere, you'll probably get there faster!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach and the amazing wildlife that surrounds our resort. We are very sad though to hear that our Shuttle service and our dinner buffet did not meet your expectations. However, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    170
    74
    33
    48
See reviews for
165
132
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wonderful place to be in contact with nature enjoying the comfort of their clean, air conditioned bungalows. We stayed at a two bedrooms (one had a TV, besides the other in the living room), with 2 bathrooms (delicious warm water, plenty of towels), dinning_kitchen room, with all appliances, even a candlestick! Surrounded by tropical forest, could see and hear all kind of birds, lots of red macaws and tucanoes, visited their butterfly garden with my granddaughters, who where amazed of «the blue magic morphos» and the other smaller and colourful ones. Enjoyed both the white sand beaches and swimming pools areas, spectacular sunsets. Their staff are very helpful and take care of the environment. We treated ourselves with a tasty lunch at one of their restaurants, with a menu for all to be more than satisfied. Recommend the fruits smoothies at Playa Blanca! Got free shuttle drives to wherever we decided to go. Always is a pleasure to be at Punta Leona.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest, thanks for the great review on your stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the our 2 bedroom 2 baths Apartments. Hotel & Club Punta Leona as you mention is a resort surrounded by jungle and lots of wildlife just minutes from San Jose which make it very convenient for people to visit us. We will let our stuff know about your good comments and we hope to be able to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If I returned to this area of Costa Rica I would not hesitate to use this hotel again. Enjoyed watching the monkeys during breakfast, which was a delicious buffet. There are two beautiful private beaches. Swimming pool is huge, water temp was great (June). Lots of Macaws on property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our property as your new vacation spot. As you mention our property is an excellent place to see all kind of animals, specially monkeys during our buffet breakfast at our Carabelas Restaurant. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities offer by our hotel and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

we stayed in the Bella Leona Apt. 2 br./2 baths, kitchen, living room, dining rm. covered patio, shared pool with 3 other tenants and our own covered pool patio with propane grill. Just like renting a beach cabin. all utensils, plates, pans and kitchen utilities provided. Store close by to buy anything you need at resonable prices. Buffet meals at restaurant were $22.00 so we cooked our own, most of the time since we did go on a fishing trip and had more fun grilling them on the pit. Coolers are alowwed on the beach and beer and drinks can be bought at the store. Bar near the beach at poolside is also available for mixed and frozen drinks. Did not see any monkeys, mainly because they hang out at the restaurants stealing food and we cooked our own breakfast. Saw Toucans, Scarlet Macaws Iguanas and racoons that were incredible to see. Must rent your own golf cart or have vehicle because this place is really spred out and there is ALOT to see and do. Our apt. was very clean, good water press. and hot water! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your great review!!! We are very happy to hear that you like our resort and our Bella Leona Apartments. They are very convenient since they are equipped with all the utensils necessary to cook and big enough for bigger families. Our Resort is also perfect for nature Lovers because they will be able to see all kind of animal species and relax in one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. We hope we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Montezuma. The room was nice, the breakfast buffet was very good. The dinner is a little pricey but tasty.

There are a lot of activities which may the resort great for families and still enough excitement for the adults.

The beaches are wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest, we are very happy to read your review and to know that you had a great experience at our resort. We are a family oriented hotel and we try to offer activities to entertain children and adults. We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This was the last place that we stayed on our tour of Costa Rica and like most other guests, we loved the site, especially the beaches. Our room was clean and comfortable with plenty of towels in the bathroom and excellent air conditioning. Beatrix and Guillaume on reception couldn't have been more helpful and keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. They sorted out our tours for us and even gave us a reasonable discount, which was a bonus. The grounds staff and most restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful. We did the morning and evening tours with Alex who is very knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife, if not so much about the guests! Playa blanco has to be the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica and we enjoyed swimming there every day, followed by delicious food in the on site restaurant. Whilst the site is a very long drive from the entrance to the hotel there is a free shuttle service for those guests wanting to eat off site. Thank you to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your very kind comments, it was a pleasure to serve you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the staff and the services we provide. We hope we can serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Before I start, I will admit that we probably didnt go at the best time. The hotel failed to meet most of our expectations. I will start with the good, once you are in the water and look back at the shore you are greeted with a sight that can only be described as unreal. How the jungle meets the sandy beach is just amazing! However that's unfortunately were the good ends. The water was murky brown/Green not the turquoise/Blue you see in the pictures, the food was ok but nothing to be looking forward to and finally when we were checking out I asked for late checkout and was denied only to find out that my friend had called and was granted until 2pm!!! When I called again and asked for an explanation they said we have a group coming in at 3pm so I said in that case we will check out at 2 giving you 1 hour to clean the room a concept they failed to understand. When I asked to speak to the duty manager I was told he was in San Jose, so much for duty manager!
Luckily this experience does not take away from the amazing country that Costa Rica is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are sorry to hear that your visit was not what you expected since our goal is to please all our customers. Seawater from our beach is crystal clear most of the year but in the rainy season you might be surprised by how much the weather and climate of Costa Rica's rainforests can vary. Many times after a rain storm or constant rain, sand and stones can give a touch of murk to the ocean. Check out time is at 12:00 noon and as a courtesy of the hotel in some cases we can extend it a bit but it depends on the occupation that we have on that day because if the hotel is full or if we have groups entering we need at least 3 hours to clean the rooms properly before they check in. Thank you again for your visit and receive our apologies for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Business Hotel in Jaco
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.